Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Twin Palms Surin Beach”

Review by MelbourneAdri from Melbourne
Sep 07, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Fantastic place! Away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. Pity there are only a few shops around the area. The deluxe pool room was awesome and the decor very trendy. Great breakfasts and juices to choose from. Rooms are airconditioned and tidied every day. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Spa and wellness centre offer great teas before your massage. Although not cheap but in the end you get what you pay for. I did try a cheaper massage but not as particular and not so expert at massaging. Restaurant does not offer much variety for dinner and not cheap either. Opt for other places to eat. We headed to Patong every night after the first but transfers to Patong did add up - i found that food was cheaper, especially seafood/thai food and cocktails. All round I would probably stay there again if I had to.

“TwinPalms is nice, but not 5 Star.”

Review by nicenurseMelbourne from Melbourne
Sep 07, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

We spent 6 nights at TwinPalms in Sept, and the first impression of reception area, pool and gardens is just breathtaking. However the hotel is not on or overlooking the beach at Surin but is a 5 minute walk across a park, with a worn dirt track and no lighting at night..We were shown to our deluxe unit which was upstairs and the pathways and steep stairs are VERY dimly lit at night as are all the grounds, and since the paths and stairs are behind the buildings it is quite creepy to be walking a Read more...round after dark. The room is basic but clean with a massive king size bed and timber floors.. Minibar is extensive. Bathroom overlooks a garden atrium area which is pretty. Breakfast is buffet and more than adequate in variety. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful, though we were constantly intruded on by staff in our room who said they were there to check such things as the door lock, plumbing, electrics etc. This went on day after day, and we almost felt like we were being spied on. Not to mention that our personal items and duty free gifts were moved around the room, which seemed strange to us. Nothing went missing though, we just had to find them.
The library has 3 computers with free internet use, and if you time it right you can use this, or borrow books or dvds. The library ws closed for renovation while we were there, but when it reopened we could not see any changes. Also a notice anounced that the electricity would be out for several hours for annual maintenance, but it was only off for about half an hour. Food is expensive though consistenty nice in the pool bar and Catch Beach Club (on the beach- everyone raves about the Friday and Tuesday night seafood bbq) but along the beach a bit further we had the most amazing (and reasonably priced) meals at PLA and Taste restaurants, which are side by side. Please, please, please go to Pla, you will love it, especially if you are a romantic - go just before sunset! We made the mistake of dining next door at a place called Weaves, and it was the worst meal we had in Thailand - dont be deceived by appearances. There are not really any activities to be had at the hotel, though you can book most tours etc with outside companies. If you just want rest and relaxation, you would be hard pressed to find a better swimming pool, and I heard their spa centre was good, but 6 nights was too long for us, as we started to get a bit bored. A week at Holiday Inn Patong had spoilt us, as we had a better time there, surrounded by activity but in delightful tranquility Collapse

“A great option as long as you stay in the Residence apartments”

Review by haydensydney from Sydney
Sep 07, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I am currently spending my last night here at Twinpalms. Overall, we are very impressed with the offering in the Residence apartments - great value too (about $500AUD in low season) for a Roof top pool apartment. I won't be overly lyrical in this review, but will summarise my key points:

Pros:
- Residence apartments are very spacious and well fit out. Three levels of modern sophistication!
- Roof top pool was very welcome on the hot muggy days
- Staff are very welcoming and always wil Read more...ling to assist
- The "Catch beach club" had great views and good cocktails, this facility was a standout feature and should not be overlooked especially on sunset!
- A rewards card is provided to guests on arrival - one click per 1000 Bhat spent - get ten clicks and you get a free 6pm late checkout (much better than 50% of the nightly rate!)
- Hotel limo: for about $4 more than a taxi, you can take the hotel limo on trips to Patong - a great option
- Hotel limo tour: you can hire the hotel limo for a Phuket tour (of your own design) with driver for 500 Bhat per hour, 3 hour min. Our driver was awesome and showed us around some of the sites, and took us to some markets in Phuket town. Worth every cent.

Neutral
- Oriental spoon: it was good, but it wasn't great - I personally can't rave about the restaurant, but I do have high standards so perhaps I'm just being tough, still: I wasn't impressed by any meal I had there
- No iron or ironing board in room? This was odd, but one was provided on request
- Abundance of stairs & hotel layout - the residence apartments are at the back of the property, so if you want to go to Oriental Spoon or the beach club, its an extra haul. I wouldn't recommend this property for the mobility impaired. Hard to explain but if you come to this property you will know what I mean.

Cons:
- Residence only restaurant/lounge: breakfast on most occasions took a very long time to come out, up to 30mins after ordering! Food quality wasn't the best either i.e. the dim sums were still frozen and the pancakes were half cooked... staff were apologetic, but this was a bit of a let down as most days there was something wrong with the breakfast (were there actually chef's in the kitchen?)
- Residence host: we were't really briefed on checkin as to what these guys are there for i.e. was this our personal butler? We weren't really sure so we never bothered him - perhaps this could be a little more clearly explained for future guests to ensure that they get maximum "usage" out of this advertised benefit
- Pool restaurant/bar: every day had a overly annoying "soundtrack" of rainforest birds, lovely at first but after an hour, not very pleasant - some nice house chillout music would be more appropriate and less annoying for guests
- Catch Beach Club BBQ: food quality was OK but not impressive - good selection of desserts, but the rest of the offering was average. The wine provided with the dinner was of very average quality. One standout was the sushi bar however, and the fresh tuna sushimi was awesome

Finally - I doubt I would be impressed with this property if I had stayed in one of the "standard" rooms lining the poor area. There is absolutely no privacy from passing guests. If you want to come to this property, make sure you book a Residence apartment - it is definitely worth the extra money. Collapse

“Paradise”

Review by supergirl883 from Saskatoon, Canada
Sep 03, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed at the residential suites of the Twinpalms Phuket and there was very little to disappoint. Everything, from the private pool and sundeck to the excellent Molton Brown toiletries in the loft suite made our stay luxurious.

The things I enjoyed the most about this hotel, was the warm and accommodating staff, the rainfall shower, and the delicious breakfast buffet including the fresh juice bar.
Mmmmm..... yummy breafast buffet. The fresh breads were delicious and the variety of options Read more... changed daily.

Our 2 bedroom loft was spacious and high tech. There was surround sound, floor to ceiling windows with motorized blinds, separate temperature controls for each floor, and even an espresso machine.

I only have a few cons for this hotel. Although the residential loft was trendy and spacious, there was little sound barrier between the 2 floors. The other issue was the slow internet connection, but at least there was no additional costs. Also, because of the dim resort lighting, low furniture, and slippery flooring, it is not suitable for elderly guests with mobility issues.
Otherwise, a wonderful resort.

The difference between this hotel and some of the other 5 star resorts, is that the Twinpalms Phuket combines a trendy sophisicated urban style with a touch of traditional, unlike most other hotels which have more of a traditional feel. Collapse

“Definately take Twinpalms into consideration!”

Review by stelle-89 from Noosa, Australia
Sep 02, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. We had originally booked a deluxe pool access room, but were upgraded upon arrival (complimentary) to a grand deluxe - which I'm glad we were as the screens from the balcony added extra privacy. I'd definately recommend paying the little extra for a lagoon access. You can get directly into the little 'feeder streams' that lead to the pool, but are enough to swim in themselves.

The rooms are great with the rainwater shower and bath loo Read more...king out onto a small garden (as close to an outdoor shower as you could get without having the real thing). Great big oversided bathroom is wonderful.

Being the third resort we stayed at in our time in Thailand, we'd had some pretty good breakfast selections and unfortunately this one just did not rate. Not a wide range of options, but I suppose if this was the first place we stayed we would've been happy with it.

Room service prices weren't that bad, and the hot chips I ordered were the best I'd had in a while! Boyfriend got a club sandwich with salad and it was MASSIVE. The Oriental Spoon restaurant was also reasonably priced we felt.

We knew the hotel wasn't directly on the beach so this wasn't a problem for us - the walk to the beach is so short anyway it didn't really matter. Took about 2 minutes max. Didn't get to eat at the Catch Beach Club but had some yummy cocktails there. Ate at a couple of the restaurants along the beach - cheap, and the food was good to pretty good, but the service was average.

Anna, a little travel agent on the beach is friendly and helpful, we got the Hongs by Starlight tour for 3400baht (saved 550baht per person booking through her rather than direct).

We'd had car hire until we stayed here and I do wish we'd kept the car. Having stayed in Patong we felt Surin was a little boring for us - not much happening and we ended up getting a tuk tuk into Patong one night (400baht each way).

Transfers to the airport - try and get a metered taxi if you can get hold of one (e.g. if you get one from the airport get the drivers card!) as they are expensive booking through the hotel (1400baht one way) in one of there 'limousines' (just a normal sedan); private taxi from across the road 700baht. We got a metered taxi from airport to Patong for just 450baht but lost his card so couldn't get him on the way back.

Complimentary internet is available in the library, with a great selection of dvd's and books available to borrow (free of charge).

Overall - a beautiful resort with great sized rooms, great for a retreat. Collapse

“This place has it all - Just perfect!”

Review by Robgalati from Sydney
Aug 19, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

My girlfriend & I stayed @ Twin Palms for 5 nights in a residence suite, and were absolutely blown away by our experience. We had spent 2 months reading a plethora of reviews on many resorts to aid us in making the right decision for our precious time away. And we nailed it to perfection! We had booked another more exclusive and expensive resort for our 6th and 7th night and wished we hadn't.

Check in was smooth and classy. The staff are well drilled. Our residence suite was huge, mo Read more...dern, chic and had every luxury amenity one could wish for. The website doesn't do the room justice in our opinion. It is simple and sublime. We particularly loved the cool music on the ipod which you can purchase which always set the mood, & the sound system is first class. And the bed...!!!

Every amenity in the resort is impeccable from the gym to the mail pool and the internet service in the library on huge MAC screens. The grounds are clean and well maintained. They are a pleasure to stroll through. What really set Twinpalms apart from other resorts we have stayed at on our 5 visits to Thailand, are the staff. They are cool, happy and WANT to be there to make a difference to your stay. They all speak good english, are well dressed and are so obliging they even remembered our names after 1 day. There are no airs in this resort. Everything has a touch of class. There was a wedding set up when we arrived which looked divine by the main pool.

Every day we had a surprise. A bowl of fresh fruit one day, and a handwritten letter from our maid the next, with suggestions of things to do around town including that nights Thai kick boxing schedule. Phuket is not short of quality accommodation, but Its little things that separate one resort from another. HOSPITALITY is the key word. One that Twinpalms understands so very well. You get a free cocktail between 6 - 7pm every night, and the food at Oriental Spoon is fantastic, as is the quality and selection of the daily breakfast buffet.

The other main draw card for us in selecting TP was proximity to the beach. Do not be alarmed about crossing the road. It is a leisurely 2min level walk from the hotel lobby which takes you to beautiful Surin beach (the nicest beach on the east side of Phuket by a long way) and the star attraction - Catch club. A 5 star eatery on the beach with tunes playing all day and night. You will not want to be anywhere else. It's THE place to be. Couples, friends, families with children. It was relaxed. Surin beach was perfect for us. Away from the awful hoards of the southern beaches, and with a mature like-minded crowd relaxing over a seafood lunch by day, or sunset cocktails and dinner by night.

There are also a number of nice eateries along the beach within walking distance which makes Surin perfect. Pla restaurant and Taste were brilliant also.

Twinpalms is a very well run. There were too many instances to mention during our stay that made us feel so welcome. Including a drink on the house after we had checked out but returned hours later to meet some friends who were staying there also. Residence suite guests also have their own private lounge with unlimited spirits throughout the day.
We always make a point of changing resorts to try somewhere new, but I think we may have just been hooked for a return visit. If you can spend the extra $$$, the Residence suites are well worth the value. Don't bother looking anywhere else on Surin beach. This is your ticket right here. Collapse

“Simple chic deco, friendly staff, comfortable room”

Review by Water26 from Hong Kong
Aug 18, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Second visit, as wonderful as the first in Aug 09. The staff are friendly and helpful. At library, staff is using iPad. Friday drinks and BBQ dinner at Catch Beach Club is just fantasic. Room is simple and comfortable with spacious bathroom and oversized bed. We have spent most of our time at our Terrace, enjoying glasses whisky and evening breeze.
Recommend morning run around the Surin/ Bangtao neighbourhood. Thai massage at Spa is the best way to escape from rain.

“Warm service, Tranquil space and Welcoming smiles that beckons a”

Review by KevSG from Singapore
Aug 16, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

I returned to Twinpalms after a wonderful stay in May 2010. This recent stay was also partly due to the comlimentary nights invitation by the resort from my previous stay. I was really surprised and touched by this kind gesture by the resort. So me and my friend returned in August and it's another wonderful experience all over again. Rooms in Twinpalms are generous in size, well appointed with tasteful contemporary asian decor. Most notable is the huge vanity and bathroom area with plenty o Read more...f greenery surrounding the cosy space. Service was warm and I was greeted with smiles at every turn. The spa had one of the best ambience for relaxing massages and treatments which I took full advantage of.

Pool area is beautifully landscaped, and sunbathing there is one of the pure joys of being in such an intimate resort. The guests are mainly adults so if you want peace and quiet, this is the place to escape.

The resort is located in Surin beach which is quiet although not the most beautiful. There are quite a selection of shops and restaurants for your convenience. A taxi service is outside the resort so getting to other areas in Phuket is easy. It costs about THB400 one way to get to Patong Beach. Transfer from airport to hotel costs about THB550 on the airport limousine service and takes about 30mins.

After commenting on the plus points of the resort, I will also point out some areas in the resort that could be improved.

1) Room service menu could add more variety as the present menu seems limited. Sometimes when we do not feel like venturing out to dine, we feel compelled to leave our rooms due to the limited menu selections.

2) Wifi connection signals could be stronger. Sometimes I find the internet speed slow due to poor connectivity. IT staff is also not well versed in trouble shooting internet connectivity problems for Apple computers. But what they lack in knowledge, they make up in their enthusiasm to help as much as they can:-) I really appreciate that.

3) During the time I am staying at the resort, it is the wet season with periodical rain showers. So there is a lot of mosquitoes and sand flies hovering around the pool and lobby. When I get back to Singapore, I had a lot of sand fly bites which is quite a let down after a relaxing holiday. Perhaps the resort can do more in insect control or remind guests to apply insect spray to avoid the bites.

4) As a contemporary resort of high standards of amenities, the rooms could use an ipod dock to connect to the stereo system for music. The DVD and CD players are great in room entertainment, but since this is the age of MP3 players, an ipod dock will be a great addition!

All in all, I love the resort. I always feel recharged and pampered staying in Twinpalms. The bed is so comfortable and the high thread count sheets are pure joy to sleep in. The resort takes care to use high quality amenties such as fluffy towels and some of the most lovely scented products in the room. Turn down service with chocolates are also welcoming, as does the little decorations of Twinpalms logo on my morning cappuccino which always made my day.

I will be back! Collapse

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful place - not great value for money”

Review by CazzaLN from England
Aug 12, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

This was our last stop on a celebratory trip, having previously travelled around China. We booked this as atreat (£1400 for 5 nights) and included a private car hire transfer from the airport, and booked a delux lagoon room with direct access to the pool.

Upon arrival the car was ready and waiting - thankfully as our flight had been delayed. The staff were very polite and welcoming, and had bottles of water waiting for us. Upon arrival at the hotel we were blown away, it was just beauti Read more...ful, having been on a long trip it was a very welcome sight. The staff at the reception were very helpful, but as we arrived so late (gone midnight) the place was very quiet. We were shown to our room which was just beautiful and everything we'd hoped it would be, we had direct access into the lagoon which allows you to swim round to the main pool. The room itself was spacious, light, cool, and had all the amenities you'd expect including mosquito repellant, flip flops, and even drinks and choccies - always a plus (beware though these cost extra and they're not cheap).

In the morning we went for breakfast which was another big plus - food was cooked to order and buffet was brilliant, you couldn't have asked for more, even had champagne ready to go upon request. We then went exploring. As other reviews mention, this is not on the beach - far from it, it's a good 5 minute walk down to the beach, but the route is not very well kept, and in the evening a lot of motorcycles use the area you have to cross. Unfortunately we didn't get to use catch beach club, it looks lovely but the prices for food and drink were extortionate. We used the beds for a few hours, but the water is very choppy at the beach and we found the pool a lot more relaxing and free from being constantly asked to purchase souvenirs (although they were all very polite).

Unfortunately the room service and restaurant were equally pricey (at the time with the exchange rate - nearly £8 for a small plate of chips!) so we went for a wander and found a fantastic little place, which was very welcoming, had wonderful food and friendly staff called the Surin bay inn about a three minute walk from the hotel reception - would definitely recommend it.

Overall we found our stay very relaxing and made full use of the lovely facilities, but upon check out the cost became even more apparent. At check out, we came to pay our £1400 bill showing the booking confrimation (in £'s and Bhat) from the twinpalms own website. Unfortunately for us we were unlucky enough to be paying just as the riots kicked off in Bangkok, and sent the currency into a spiral. Unfortunately they said they could only honour the Bhat rate and not the conversion (not £'s from the printed bill) resulting in us paying over £2100 for 5 nights (one of which we arrived at midnight).

Obviously the curency issue wasn't the hotels fault, but we felt as we had booked directly with them and the price difference was so much, a slight reduction in the price should have been offered given we had written proof of what the exchange rate had been at the time of booking.

Other than the cost this is a beautiful hotel with luxurious rooms, friendly staff and a great break from the hussle and bussle of normal life, but for the money we ended up paying there is definitely better, and the location of the hotel left us a little disappointed.

I would recommend it, but pay everything in advance - in your currency, try and go full board if you can, and just be aware it's not a beach hotel. Collapse

“Lovely Resort but disappointing location”

Review by Tichy2 from Melbourne
Aug 11, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

TwinPalms is a beautiful resort BUT the location was a real letdown. To get to the beach was a hike through the hotel out to the front entrance, across the road, across a park down to the foreshore to the beach. The walk through the park is very rough underfoot and you definitely would need a torch at night - tripping over tree roots, holes in the ground etc. Surin Beach itself is a lovely beach, however, when we were there it was low season so we expected the surf to be quite rough, and it was. Read more... Not suitable for swimming there at that time of the year. The Catch Beach Club, attached to Twinpalms, is lovely but expensive. Beware. The little restaurants and bars along the foreshore are a bit hit and miss. Some are okay, some diabolical - foodwise. It really needs a good clean-up along this area. Rubbish left everywhere to just rot, plastic bags full of rubbish ripped apart by feral dogs and cats. Quite unsightly and smelly, very offputting.

For the above reasons we spent most of our time at the resort around the beautiful pools. The buffet breakfast was also very good, a nice selection. My only gripe about the restaurant, the Oriental Spoon, is that it is not air-conditioned which makes it a very hot and uncomfortable dining experience. I think management needs to address this problem. They also do not have a courtesy bus to take you into Patong. Even if they did this twice a day it would be appreciated by hotel guests. Most other resorts provide this service.

If I went back to Phuket I would probably stay at Kata or Karon beaches. Nothing much happening in Surin. If you want to do some shopping you would probably need to head in to Patong.

We had a nice time but definitely would stay somewhere else next time. (I think Koh Samui is nicer than Phuket!!) Collapse
Previous Page   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20...      Next Page