Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Twinpalms - Zen in Phuket”

Review by Rumbletum26 from Hong Kong
Jun 28, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Rooms - Lovely and spacious, even for their second lowest tier - Grand Palm Room (got at a steal from the hotel's official website under Last Minute Offers @ THB 3880 per night). Very clean and wonderful decor - modern/zen. Would say this is roomy enough for two, no need to spend more on the higher tiers if on a lower budget.
Food - Would rate this so-so, expensive and rather oily (the fried vegetables and Pad Thai very oily). The tom yam goong and green chicken curry at Oriental Spoon was Read more... delicious but too salty. Breakfast spread was good with 5 different types of fresh juices.
Service - Superb and friendly. It was a surprise birthday trip and they provided a complimentary chocolate cake on request together with a group of staff singing the song at the room door!
Spa - We tried the Sports and Surin (Aroma) massages - both pretty good.
Beach - Peaceful and serene, the private beach club was well stocked with a good menu for food/drinks.
Transport - Didn't venture out the the town area, found out it cost 700THB per way.

Overall - Wonderful experience and would definitely go again! Collapse

“Truly Amazing!!”

Review by jloPerth from Perth
Jun 27, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We found Twin Palms on Trip Advisor. Our stay at Twin Palms was amazing right from the start when we were collected at the airport in the hotel limo and offered cold towels and water on the way. We were given a private tour and check in at the room. We stayed in a Garden Pool Residence which I would recommend for privacy and space. The lagoon rooms are not very private. The service from every member of staff by far exceeded our expectations. Calling us by name, always smiling. Very warm and frie Read more...ndly. Even arriving at our room for my husbands 40th with birthday cake and singing him happy birthday!.
The restaurant is lovely and provided a yummy breakfast. Prices aren't too bad for dinner either. The Catch Beach Club is also great and do a wonderful lunch. Although if u wander down the beach a little, you will find Pla which is gorgeous at night and has a wonderful atmosphere sitting right on the sand.
There are tailors, and shops within walking distance of the resort although we found the best shopping was Patong (Juncelong and markets) which is 20 mins away by taxi (about $18) and the taxis at the front of the resort are great. So for anyone planning a romantic or relaxing trip then this resort is definately the way to go. Not really for kids, so if u are like my husband and I, this is what we wanted ( a kid free resort for peace and quiet) and we were not dissapointed. One warning though...watch out for a so called ' survey' at the airport. Don't give your details as they call u a couple of days later at the hotel telling u that you have won something. It's a scam. (same for westerners on scooters that approach u with a scratch card) Collapse

“Fab hotel, shame Surin beach was empty”

Review by misslcp from London
Jun 14, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Twinplans was a pleasant surprise. The hotel grounds are lush and very well kept. The pool was great - loved the fact there were sun loungers were situated in the shallow end of the pool. The rooms were very modern (apart from the TV!), clean and again well kept. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious, new and modern.

The breakfast was a highlight - we loved all the different types of juices, and it was a great selection.

The Catch beach club was also very swish and cool and h Read more...ad comfortable beach loungers - by far the nicest on Surin beach. But drinks and food were unbelievably expensive - £8 for a milkshake...that's expensive even for London, and more certainly crazy for Thailand prices. But it's a hotel, so that's what we expected.

You are also able to get complimentary wifi all over the hotel and the beach - something which was great when we wanted to check out tour prices/catch up with home.

I did really enjoy this hotel, and I would recommend this to other travelers who are happy to send £100 plus a night on a room. It is worth the money, but don't expect 5 star service - we found the staff very unaccomodating and unhelpful when we asked for a late check out. We were told we were only allowed an extra hour, despite the hotel barely being half full and having a very late evening flight. Most 4/5 star hotels I've stayed in around the world, would have very gladly given us the room if they weren't full. Sadly, not in the case of the Twinplams.

One thing I would watch out for - unless you want a completely secluded beach with nothing to do in the evenings but eat at your hotel, then don't go in June/July. We stayed here in June and Surin beach was dead. 75% of the beach shacks were closed up for the summer and we were told most of them wouldn't open again until late August. This meant we had to travel further afield to have a little fun in the evenings / have a dinner where we were the only couple in the restaurant!

Despite not wanting to venture there, we ended up in Patong, which was actually really good fun and we found it to be much more lively than dead Surin beach. Prices were much cheaper here too we found. If you do go to Patong make sure you walk up to the main road (30 second walk) and get a red tuk tuk - there were about 10-15 guys just waiting up there. Dont' believe the hotel who told us that there were none and night and to take a hotel taxi - the hotel were quoted us 4/5 times what we managed to bargain a tuk tuk down to. Collapse

“Subtle luxury - paradise perfect”

Review by Polly1308 from Sydney
Jun 07, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Loved loved loved it!

Twin Palms sort of takes you by surprise. As we entered the dark marble floor foyer surrounded by flowing pools it was hard to distinguish where the floor ended and the pools started, but we were promptly attended to by the check in staff whilst seated on a lounge. Once you step behind the reception desk, you are greeted by a HUGE pool that looks to go for miles. It is probably about 60 metres long and surrounded by sun lounges on the edges and on the steps of the pool a Read more...s well as a sprinkle of ones that look like day beds that were canopy covered.

We stayed in a pool access deluxe room and the word that comes instantly to mind is WOW! The room was well appointed with soft bedding, cool sheets ad a massive bathroom and dressing area. The selling point of this room is the pool access which is done via steps from the balcony area and it’s deep and cool. A lot of pools in Thailand are not deep but the pool at Twinpalms is. A well thought out design means there is a nice feeling of space in front of each room and every so often an edge that provided seating meant a few strokes, a rest as you eventually join the shallow end of the main pool.

A real bonus was the Catch Club across the road from the hotel. Here sun beds and towels are provided for hotel guests as well as a great restaurant and bar. The sun beds were covered with beautiful billowing white curtains surrounded by palm trees and groovy tunes pumping in the background. BLISS is the only word that comes to mind.

In summary subtle luxury is how I would describe Twin Palms. Staff move about the property silently, food is presented and removed, rooms impeccable and finishes all first calls. It is a lovely hotel in a nice part of Phuket about 20 mins from Patong by car. Collapse

“Great Hotel, Great Honeymoon”

Review by FloridaTraveler0417 from Florida
Jun 05, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

My husband and I stayed at TwinPalms for 9 days while on our honeymoon. Twinpalms is a very peaceful, relaxing, contemporary resort and we had a winderful stay. We stayed in a rooftop residence which was very spacious, comfortable, and the private roof top pool was beautiful. The hotel rooms and the common facilities are very clean and well kept. There is not very much to do around the hotel on Surin beach, and this resort is more suited for adults who are looking for some quiet relaxation. Beca Read more...use it was our honeymoon, the hotel provided complimentary pick up and drop off from the hotel, which was very nice. We were picked up in a nice clean, air conditioned car, and when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with welcome drinks of champagne. There was also a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us on ice in a residence when we arrived. Our guest manager, Chart, showed us around our villa, and was always there throughout our stay to provide us with anything we needed. He also gave us a tour of the resort on our first day.

We spent most of our time relaxing by our private roof top pool and the main pool. We did not spend too much time by the beach, because it was quite hot, and Surin beach, although pretty, is not the nicest. The water was rather rough, and there was a lot of trash along the beach which was disappointing to us. Directly in front of the resort, it is cleaner, but if you start walking down the beach, there is a lot of trash that has washed up on shore. However, the view of the beach is pretty, and if you want to see more beautiful beaches, you can take a day trip to some of the islands.

Basically, we think this hotel is very nice and upscale, and we loved our stay there. It is luxurious and relaxing, and we especially recommend staying in a residence, rather than a regular room if you can. Collapse

“Tranquil Oasis”

Review by OE4ME from Brisbane
May 25, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Have recently returned from Thailand where we finished our stay with 4 nights at the Twinpalms. Overall the Twinpalms is a stylish, contemporary and tranquil oasis. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe Lagoon room which gives you direct access from your balcony into the lagoon pool. We were initially a little concerned about the privacy aspect of this but it was not an issue as there is a very large main pool & then the lagoon pool is technically separate so there were not a lot of people swimming pa Read more...st your balcony. Having said that there were only 1 lot of children there on the last 2 days, but if there were a lot of children as has been mentioned in other reviews it could potentially be disturbing. The Twinpalms seems to be more designed to suit the couples market and this is the market they should focus on.

The only real complaint we had was with the room. We had requested a King bed however the room we got was a King bed made up of two King Singles joined together. This would normally not be a problem but they have two reading lamps which are on the front of the bed head meaning you can not have your pillows together in the center of the bed. There is also a controller for the lights, ac, tv etc which ends up in the middle of the top of your bed where the pillows normally go. Also as the mattresses have been moved together the bed base sticks out and you whack you leg on the bed base every time you walk past, I still have the bruises to prove it. Allegedly they did not have another Grand Deluxe Lagoon room available with a genuine King Bed, my suggestion would be to stipulate that you do not want this type of bed set up & time of booking.

Overall the staff are friendly and the service was good. Breakfast buffet was very good with all the options you would expect. We had one meal in the main restaurant which was good but not exceptional and had one dinner & a couple of lunches at the beach club. Collapse

“Chill out in Luxury”

Review by mike132 from Gold Coast
May 15, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

My wife and I just returned from our second stay of two weeks in the past year at Twin Palms. The fact we have spent a complete month at this resort in less than a year speaks for itself but I'll add a few comments for those of you who might be considering a stay.
Firstly the staff at this place are some of the most helpful and willing people you would meet anywhere in the world. They strive to assist you in everything you could possible do or want during your stay. Many are not skilled in Read more... English or other foreign languages however they do try their best to learn and always present a beautiful smile at the same time.
The food is always delightful and plentiful at any of the restaurants or Pool Bar and the service is superb. There are many other local restaurants nearby but we never found the need to venture from the resort in order to eat. The Catch Beach Club is a couple of hundred metres away and has a wonderful bar and menu if you ever tire of the main resorts facilities.
We always stay at one of the resorts "residences" and although these are significantly more expensive, they are worth it for their magnificent presentation and additional room with private pool area. Each comes with its own "Hostess" who is there to assist you day and night; nothing is too much trouble for them. Check out the website !

We will be back again later this year and we will look forward to renewing our friendships with some of the staff and to the pleasures and rewards associated with staying in the residence" of Twin Palms. Collapse

“Just lie back, relax and chill....”

Review by Eddnliz from England
Apr 25, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

From the minute you step from the taxi you are made welcome. Your cases are whisked away to your room, a cold drink and cool towel appears and a most relaxing holiday begins. From check in to check out, the service in this hotel is excellent. A small army of people are employed in this hotel so you never have to wait long for anything from having your coffee cup refilled in the morning to room service being delivered in the evening, everything is done promptly and with a smile. The room we staye Read more...d in was well laid out and spacious, huge comfy bed, Lots of storage space, his and hers wash basins and large shower complete with baby lizard. The room was kept spotless by the maid, again with a smile. The only negative thing about the room was the CRT TV poor quality for a five star hotel.
The pool area was our favourite part of the hotel. Peaceful and relaxing the sun travels the length of the pool so you can stay in the sun for most of the day or you can always find shade beneath the palm trees, take your pick. The pool bar plays soft gentle music to add to the calm soporific atmosphere, the perfect place to sink a few chang beers. The pool itself is like a warm bath but cooling enough when the sun gets too hot. Beware... the decking gets very hot.
There is a library where you can use the internet (most of the hotel is wi-fi with good connections) you can also borrow dvds, but check for scratches two of the three we borrowed were unplayable.
I was disappointed with the quality and sometimes the quantity of the buffet breakfast. I have had much better at other five star hotels. We ate only once in the Oriental spoon, and it was nice but expensive compared to other places. Catch and the beach area is swish clean comfortable and trendy, but again expensive.
Generally this is an excellent hotel and its impossible not to have a refreshing relaxing stay here. We had three fab weeks here and did not want to leave. Collapse

“A sublime oasis. Paradise on earth....”

Review by 26july from England
Apr 24, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

A breathtakingly beautiful week spent here has given this newly married couple a life time of wonderful memories! I call upon all to desend upon this little part of tranquility and indulge in all it has to offer.
We had spent the previous 2 weeks roughing it whilst traversing the wilds of Thailand, Vietnam and Laos. By the time we found the doors of Twin palms we immedialty knew here lies the last leg of what became the most beautiful honeymeen this couple could ever of hoped for. I trust all that follow us will agree....Enjoy!

“when you get upgraded to the roof top pool villa your only going”

Review by melb0urnegirl from Australia
Apr 22, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Ok, I preface this review by saying its hard to be objective when you get complimentary upgrade to the most amazing, spectacular, dream villa you could imagine. I am not sure what the price would be to rent this villa, but it is incredible. Did I mention the pool on the roof, soley and privately ours, with a complimentary bar fridge re-stocked daily, oversized sun lounges and oh yeah...a private pool on the roof!! Inside the villa, it is huge with free wifi, king size bed, egg bath, waterfall sh Read more...ower, coffee machine, flat screen tvs, dvd player, fully hooked up Itouch, electronic key pads controlling all the lights and curtains, divine toileteries, access to a private lounge with complimentary drinks all day. Fresh fruit platter delivered daily..........I think your getting the picture.
Ok, I will try to offer something of use to those of you looking for a review of Twin Palms- service is lovely, breakfast buffet offers nice range of choices (however have seen bigger in other hotels), location is good for beach and pool lounging but costs you a taxi ride if you want to go anywhere beyond Surin (ie: Phuket Town/Patong about 500 baht one way). Pool area is very chic (not kid freindly by the looks-seems more serene and is not so large an area that splashing kids would not be disturbing to others. Grounds are very well maintained, always plenty of staff. Gym is well equiped, Spa on site was reasonably priced and staff very professional. Overall I would describe this as a contemporary, adult luxury resort. Collapse
Previous Page   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20...      Next Page