Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Had a great time at the Twinpalms”

Review by shockr from Beijing
Jun 02, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I have been to Phuket before and was considering the Chedi as the resort is very quiet and private. Since I've been there before, and didn't want to do the same thing twice, I asked my girlfriend (first time there) to choose another hotel nearby. I'm from Canada and lived in Asia for 6 years now so am quite picky when it comes to the quality of hotels (overall hotel quality vs price in Asia is better than America/Canada)

We stayed 3 nights at the Twinpalms. We both felt we need Read more...ed a few extra days there. It is a beautiful small resort. We loved the fact that it was really quiet and very spacious.

We arrived around midnight and was given a nice flower bracelet and a cold towel. It's not a big deal, but we didn't get any complementary drink that night. We did however get upgraded from the Palm room to the Lagoon room. The per night price during the low season on Agoda after tax was $100usd a night. Great value for this place.

We loved the toiletries so much that we went to the Lemongrass House to make a litre of each one so we could "take Twinpalms home with us". They smell awesome! :-) Collapse

“We'll definitely be back when we're next in Phuket”

Review by nathanj78 from Sydney
May 28, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We had 4 wonderful days at Twin Palms at the end of our short visit to Thailand (we had previously spent 3 days in Ko Pha Ngan primarily for the full moon party).

The resort is in Surin Beach, which is towards the northern end of Phuket island facing the Andaman Sea. Surin Beach, as Thai beaches go, is lovely and more enticing than some of the other beaches on this side of the island. It's also only a short 20 minute drive from the airport - whereas the resorts down the southern end of t Read more... Read more...he island are 45-60 minutes away.

This was my 3rd time to Phuket so I wasn't looking for shopping or sightseeing, more just for some time to relax. Twin Palms fitted the bill perfectly. From the start I was impressed with the service, the layout and the rooms at this resort. I had booked a Grand Twin Palms Lagoon Room, which as I realised, had direct access to the main pool through steps that led from our balcony down into the water.....loved it!!!

The room has everything you need for an enjoyable stay, the bed was a king bed and very comfortable, and the bathroom was significantly bigger than many I've seen in other 5 star hotels.

While the hotel is not directly on Surin Beach, it is literally a 1 minute walk across the road, through a small park and down to the beach where the hotel has a private area complete with beach club and it's own couches and sun lounges just for guests. You can reserve a sun lounge if you wish, but we never had a problem getting one.

Just some of the great things we enjoyed about this hotel:
Sunday brunch at the Oriental Spoon - it's a buffet, which I normally shy away from, but I had read so many positive reviews that I just had to try it. It lived up to expectations. My only suggestion is be sure to reserve a table otherwise you won't get it in. It's popular with guests and expats alike.
Beach Club - they have a DJ playing great music down by the beach on Saturday nights. It's a nice vibe, but not full on like a nightclub. There's also a terrific looking restaurant down there too. We didn't eat there, but it looked lovely.
Massage - As a final treat to ourselves we went for a scrub and massage. While a little on the expensive side (even with a discount because I pre-booked on the internet), it was certainly enjoyable and the last thing we did before leaving for the airport. The cost was THB5800 (incl tax) for 2. To be honest it was very similar to prices at home in Sydney, but certainly a quality massage. Incidentally there is a much cheaper alternative on offer next door to the beach club offering massage, manicure's and pedicure's.
The Library - they have the latest magazines and DVDs all available to guests at no cost. The little extra touch makes the world of difference.

Overall, a terrific experience and one I would be happy to repeat. Collapse

“Wow, this place is awesome!”

Review by Telley from Sydney
May 25, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Let me start by saying that we were on our honeymoon, so were looking for somewhere fabulous to stay that was beautiful and luxurious. Well, the Twinpalms did not dissapoint! From the minute we arrived, we were welcomed with a cocktail and refresher towel, by the hotel's lovely and helpful staff.
We were so excited about our room - absolutely gorgeous, with a great balacony and such a cool bathroom. I must say though, that their website makes the room look A LOT bigger than they really are Read more.... Accross the road was the beach club - unreal place to eat and drink ( very pricey though ). The area of Surin is quite secluded and we made the most of the wonderful beach and local restaraunts. Took about 20 mins to get to Patong on a Tuk Tuk and it cost about 400 Baht, which is Aussie dollars is under $20.
The local restararunts are great, with one called the Surin Inn being a great place to eat and drink for next to nothing!
The one thing we have to mention is that the Twinpalms is VERY expensive. When I say VERY, I mean VERY. We avoided most of it, by buying up big at the local supermarket. Water, cans of drinks and snacks. Otherwise, if you do chose to buy from the Twinpalms, be prepared to pay about 100 baht for a can of coke = $4 aussie. Or, a beer is about 200 baht = $8 aussie. Pool bar lunch would easily be $40 aussie. We did have room service once, for some desert. We ordered two ice creams which came in tiny little containers. It was Hagen Daa's brand, and it cost us 800 baht which in aussie terms is $32. But, that's about the only negative we can say. Other than that, the staff are beautiful, nothing is too much bother. They offer a turn down service with chocolates of a night time, the pool is fabulous! We spent our days lazing around the pool and beach on their oversized day beds. Brekky is unreal, with absolutely every kind of breakfast food known to man - and the coffee is great! I am a coffee gal and need good coffee every morning!
I would totally recommend this place as an unreal honeymoon destination, but definitely not to people with kids - to be honest, kids were kind of frowned upon by alot of the other guests ( we didnt mind at all though ).
Oh and by the way - the beds are so soft and comfy! Most beds in thailand are like lying on bricks, but this wasnt the case at all at the Twinpalms. Collapse

“Just perfect”

Review by KCLEA from Gothenburg, Sweden
May 24, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Those who come to Phuket for first and formost relaxation and comfort should go to this idyllic hideaway which is perfect for couples especially. It costs a little more but it's worth every penny. It has a very special atmosphere which makes you forget about everything else. The beach is 2 minutes walk across greenland and it is very beautiful. The little extra you pay makes gives you very thich madresses on the sun chairs and towels handed to you by the staff as you arrive. Right on the beach is a beautiful deck with comfortable sofas and a varied and interesting menu, only for the hotel guests of course. Everything that is cooked at the resort is absoulutely perfect. Beautiful relaxing background music is played in the lobby and at the beach restaurant. Champagne is served for breakfast which is served as long as til eleven o' clock, the beer is always served icecold, ice is always standing in the room... At Twinpalms they know how to take care of you.

“Very close to excellent”

Review by MikeHibby from Saudi Arabia
May 24, 2009
Rated 4 out of 5 -

I have to declare firstly that I am a seasoned Hotelier with over 30 years experience in the industry. I say this to qualify why I have said 'very close'.
The hotel is almost perfect. What could they do to reach excellence? With great rooms, lovely facilities, a private beach and some talented chefs it is a real shame that the management of the hotel do not invest more time and effort in service standards. This goes across the board. I really hope that the fact that we paid less than Read more...rack tarrif for our stay did not impact on the quality of service we recieved.
The main area that lets the hotel down was breakfast service which is at best erratic and at worst rude. No-one available to top up coffee/tea (if its an issue just leave the pot on the table), dishes not cleared, replenishment of items on the buffet very slow and no one speaks to you.
Okay, you may say, but did you mention it to anyone? A common complaint by hoteliers who will say they can't correct issues unless they are informed. Well yes we did. Eventually I took the time to seek out a manager and told him that this was the only area that lets the hotel down. Have I heard back from the hotel? No.
If they really want to go the extra mile to achieve perfection then they really need to react positively to complaints and be seen to be dealing with areas that let them down.
We will go back but I am loathe to recommend the hotel to fussy friends as the quality of service (restaurant and management) is quite poor.
All it would have taken was a quick email to say that they have listened and are correcting it accordingly. A lack of any real response make me feel that they couldn't care less.
Shame because it ticks all the right boxes in all other areas.
As an aside we had cocktails in Joe's Downstairs at sundown and it was a real experience. This was followed by dinner in Baan Rim Pa which was also fantastic. Two establishments that really know and understand the value of great service. Collapse

“Perfect Resort and Location for the regular Phuket Traveller”

Review by Asiahoppers from Singapore
May 18, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 -

This is my 5th trip to Phuket and so wanted to avoid a tourist trap or an over-hyped hotel / resort. A friend recommended the Twin Palms and it did not disappoint. Good location fyou dont want to do Patong each day. The taxi fare is about THB400 to Patong, a bit pricey considering you need a return trip. But if you are looking for a chilled out resort holiday this is perfect. Over the road is a quaint stretch of beach-side bars and eateries at Surin Beach. We ate there everyday and were truly sp Read more...oilt for choice and it was pretty good value too. Do try Pla Restarant. Back to the hotel. Wonderful in every aspect. Very new, understated modern design, all rooms overlook the large meandering pool. Ours was a Grand Deluxe Palm room, which is a bit bigger than the Deluxe Palm (purchased off the hotel website). Bathroom was a real treat, spacious with a nice bath and shower. The balcony is a wonderful oasis, here is where the Grand Deluxe really matters as the balcony has giant wooden slattered doors to give greater privacy, the Deluxe Palm rooms have a simple open balcony. Breakfast each morning was excellent, good choice of all the usual breakfeast buffet items with a fruit juicing station! The best thing abt the Twin Palms is that they are really clear who they are catering for, these are late twenties and thirties couples who want a bit of rest and relaxation. They have a library with magazines, books, CDs and DVD's for those who wont be jetting to Patong each night for a party. I can recommend the massage place a few doors up the road. Excellent Thai massage for just THB700, although if you dont mind the heat the beach massage on Surin beach is around THB500-600.
My only gripe is the transport situation in Phuket. The taxi's charge a fortune. The 20min trip from the hotel to the airport cost THB700! Thats outrageous for a 15 year old car with no aircon. Not really the Twin Palms issue, but would be nice if they have a morning and evening shuttle service to Patong, or even help people to taxi-share. Collapse

“Back home :-(”

Review by Maurizio D'Astolfo from Belgium
May 12, 2009
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Thanks to the all staf for the fantastic time! We wil come back for sure! Special thanks to the staf of Cath, Puthaned and Christof... :-).

“Count down started”

Review by Maurizio & Brigitte from Tongeren/Belgium/Europe
Apr 29, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Count down started, we leave tomorrow 30th of april to arrive at Twinpalms on friday afternoon! Our friends arrived there today. We expect a fantastic week!
Ciao a tutti,
Maurizio & Brigitte

“An amazing experience!”

Review by Mariana & Jörg from Singapore & Mannheim/ Germany
Apr 27, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 -

YACHTING - Dear Twinpalms-Crew, we truly enjoyed our day trip to Ko Phi Phi! The yacht is amazing, the crew very friendly, the food fantastic, the nature unbelievable beautiful! Thank you for this great experience!

“Unforgettable Experience :)”

Review by Julien from Bangkok/THAILAND
Apr 21, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 -

TWINPALMS ONE (Yachting) - April the 15th, I will remember that day because I was in heaven ;) , congratulation to the Twinpalms One crew to offer us an amazing trip on this great Yacht, Im looking forward to renew the experience soon!!!
Itinerary, timing, service, food, clear waters, sunny weather were a perfect mix!! UNFORGETTABLE :)
Previous Page   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30...      Next Page