Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Not Quite 5-Star”

Review by marklaurenpdx from marklaurenpdx
Nov 10, 2008
Rated 2 out of 5 -

After three nights at Banyan Tree, we moved to TwinPalms. Upon arrival, we were very exciting as the lobby is very modern. Had a great feel. Check in was smooth and we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite.

The room is ultra modern. Had all the bells and whistles that we'd expect. Beautiful art which is custom made for each room. Great outdoor sitting area with lounge beds and overhead fans.

The pool was nice. Nothing over the top but nice. During our stay, they were building double be Read more...ds which will be a nice touch.

Breakfast I thought was real disappointing. It's nice, but not what one would expect from a top hotel in Thailand or Asia.

The beach area was nice. Catch I thought was a very classy place to spend a lazy day. I was disappointed that there was a cost of around $25 USD for two lounge chairs. We had lunch twice and I thought the food was quite tasty and somewhat reasonably priced for an upscale beach hangout. There were more affordable options, but this I thought was priced fairly.

What was disappointing was the overall service. Individually, the folks tried to help. But with trying to get out of Phuket with the airports closing, the hotel staff was ABSOLUTELY NO HELP. Granted, most travelers won't have to deal with this sort of situation, but one would hope this would have been a time the hotel "stepped up to help" their guests. The positive is that they plenty of computers the guests could use at no charge. However, Each guest was left on their own to figure things out. The hotel didn't even know what time the airport opened or where travel agencies were locating. VERY FRUSTRATING, which made a great hotel I thought a very good hotel, but not that of other hotels in the area I'm afraid. Collapse

“A very happy Anniversary !”

Review by Tanollie from Sydney
Nov 02, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We just came back from our week-long stay at Twinpalms for our 3rd wedding anniversary. It was amazing and we will be going back for sure ! Our Deluxe Palm room was fantastic, with the best (and biggest) bed we have ever slept in. Tropical bathroom (with wonderful toiletries!). So much attention to detail. We ate at all the restuarants - food was excellent. We loved the Beach club, especially the pizza's and cocktails. Fantastic location, although not much shopping nearby and 500THB for 15m Read more...in taxi ride to Patong (approx $20AUD with exchange rate) - but as other reviews have said -not the resorts' fault ! Day spa was lovely, but massages on the beach area great too, and $16AUD for 1hr vs $100!. We took advice from another review and purchased some massage oil from the Lemongrass house (a few doors up from the resort) - it has a great selection of products, our house now smells like Twin Palms ! Staff were all very helpful and resort always looked amazing. We did get a fair bit of rain, which is to be expected, but didn't stop us at all.
We did 2 tours - both booked through the hotel. One was the Seacave Canoes around Phang Na Bay, which was great. The other was a speedboat trip to Phi phi Island - this was not so great ! It was pouring rain when they picked us up, and continued for 3 hours of the trip, but the tour guide said the weather was good enough not to cancel the trip ! The boat was quite small, and not really suitable for choppy seas. We had to sit up the front - in the wind and rain, bracing ourselves for hours in the rough and very bumpy conditions. The locations we went to were fantastic, but I do not recommend "Phuket Adventures" for this trip ! There were plenty of other tours with larger boats, or even ferry trips. Collapse

“Paradise!!”

Review by stefnmick from Sydney, Australia
Oct 29, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We just came back yesterday from Twinpalms. It was beautiful!! We arrived early but were showed into the open lobby and presented with a lovely flower bracelet and cocktail. Our room wasnt quite ready but they rushed around to accommodate us and we got a room straight away. The staff were so friendly, one of their best assets.
The resort and beachclub were AWSUM. It was open with great gardens and pool. The room was fresh and modern and had an OVERSIZED bed which was heaven. I used the day spa Read more...once- not the cheapest but worth it. We even received a complimentary 15min Jetlag Massage when we arrived which was an added bonus.
The beach is only a 2 min walk across the park where there are about 10 beach restaurants which were really cheap to eat at. Surin Beach was great, a bit choppy in the ocean but quiet. Great place to escape the rat race of Patong but costs a bit to get anywhere else (500baht) so any tour we booked cost more due to the distance. If i was lucky enough to go to Phuket again Twinpalms would definately be the place to go. Collapse

“A truly fantastic resort!!!”

Review by nicandmark from Melbourne
Oct 28, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We were picked up at the airport by the hotel car and whisked away to the resort. Check in was a pleasant experience - informal yet efficient and professional. We sat on lounges in the beautiful open air lobby and was served a refreshing fruit cocktail (sans vodka) and then shown to our room.

We had booked a Junior Suite on the lagoon - the room was amazing. It was very large and the bedroom/bathroom/dressing area was beautiful. There was really nothing to fault in the room.

The balcony ha Read more...d steps into the lagoon which was a lot of fun as we had other friends staying at the resort in lagoon rooms that we could swim to. The grounds and gardens were well maintained and beautifully designed.

Breakfast at Oriental Spoon was quiet good. As there was a large group of us staying at the hotel we often joined other tables of our friends which meant we didn't always get offered coffee/tea or received a place setting with out asking for it. We thought that it was a little understaffed, and this could have helped with the above. It could have had a little more food on offer as well. Having said that these are only small observations on what is a good restaurant.

The Beach Club is one of the best features of Twin Palms. While the resort is not on the beach, a few minutes walk across a reserve sees you at the Beach Club, which is right on the beach. The staff and décor of the Beach Club were wonderful. The food and beverages were also very good. The pizza's are some of the best I've ever had. There are lots of comfortable lounges and sun lounges to enjoy the surroundings and the beach. We spent a lot of time here eating and drinking and it can all be charged back to your room.

We had a massage and facial at the Palms Spa which is onsite at the resort. It was well priced and a lovely experience.

We had a private dinner in the wine room at oriental spoon. The wine room is a double ceiling height room with wine cellar and views out to the pool and resort grounds. The food was some of the best we had in Thailand and the service was fantastic, we barely noticed them, but our glasses were always full and the plates cleared promptly.

The only major complaint was the Pool Bar. The service and food was a real let down and was not up to the standard that we had everywhere else at Twin Palms. But this did not ruin our experience by any means.

Twin Palms is a truly amazing resort and the value for money is exceptional. If you don't need a beach front room or ocean views, which you pay a big premium for, than this resort has everything you need.

We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Collapse

“Great Hotel”

Review by LeedsWorldTraveller from Leeds
Oct 26, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

A fantastic hotel, great modern rooms and very friendly welcoming staff.
The only downside is the there is no view, the rooms just look out over the massive pool.
The beach is lovely and the hotel has an excellent section will very comfy loungers, and the staff come round with fresh fruit. The sea can get rough between Aug to Oct though.
The rooms are very modern, large and well equipped. Big LCD TV, surround sound, DVD - with a large DVD libary, Free Internet etc ...
A modern beach hotel, built to big city standards.
I booked through hotel thailand and paid 4,100 per night inc breakfast and tax and got a 3 for 2 deal. Very good value.

“Un réel coup de coeur”

Review by melline from herault
Oct 25, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Phuket: hôtel twinpalms: "Absolument fantastique!"
Date: 6 juin 2008

J'ai passé six jours mémorables avec mon mari et mon fils de 2 ans et nous avions la "grand deluxe lagoon room "(une chambre magnifique qui correspond en tout point à nos attentes et à ce qu'on voit sur leur site internet)
L'accueil est chaleureux , le personnel irréprochable et attentionné. D'ailleurs, ils avaient même plac&eacut Read more...e; un doudou dans le lit bébé que j'avais réclamé pour mon fils! il en était ravi.
A la nuit tombée, ils viennent vous ouvrir le lit en apportant aussi quelques chocolats, vous réaprovisonnent en glaçons, mettent une lumière d'ambiance et vous changent de nouveau les serviettes de bains si celles-ci sont mouillées...etc...
La piscine était incroyable et les repas excellents et d'ailleurs à ce sujet il ne faut surtout pas oublier d'aller au BBQ sur la plage le vendredi soir au restaurant "le catch club".
Bref, c'est un hôtel que je recommande vivement! Collapse

“Great resort, unfortunately with a commercial beach circus...”

Review by Arturas from Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Oct 18, 2008
Rated 4 out of 5 -

We have stayed in this resort already for a couple of times. This is our 4th stay and it's still one of our favorite stays! We are at the resort while writing this comment.

During the years we've seen how this resort has developed from it's opening days to what it is now. Still love to stay at this place as staff has improved over the years. It's also great to see the same familiar faces still working here. They even recognize you from earlier stays and greet you like a go Read more...od friend.

The only bad thing is that the lovely Surin beach has developed as well. Whereas it used to be a quiet, sandy beach with lots of trees to escape the hot Thai sun. It has now become a commercial circus. The beach has been transformed in a wooden platform with lounge beds and loud music going on all day. Unfortunately a lot of trees were removed so not much shade left. The sound level of the music should be at a background music level, soft and gentle, but someone decided to have the music playing loud. It's really a shame because it's hard to hear the sound of the waves crashing. Another hotel, Alila in Cha-am does a much better job at this. Music there plays at a soft level generating a nice relaxing atmosphere.

All in all we still highly recommend this resort but if you are looking for quiet, relaxing beach experience don't stay at Twinpalms beach club but rent some beach chairs from other local beach vendors.
This is the only reason I am not rating this resort as excellent. Collapse

“Absolutely loved this amazing hotel”

Review by Littlecat2 from London, UK
Oct 13, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

This hotel is fantastic. My partner and I absolutely loved it and were incredibly sad to leave. We were lucky enough to stay here for 10 nights from 3-13 September, and we agreed it was so good it was a real experience of a lifetime. From the moment we arrived – well, even before, if you include the comfortable and efficient limousine transfer from the airport - the service was impeccable. The staff were so friendly and polite, and we got the feeling that nothing we could ask for would be Read more...too much trouble.

We knew we were going to like the look of the hotel from the photos on its website. Well, it was stunning. The pool and garden area which make up the centre of the hotel, around which are the blocks housing the rooms, have been incredibly well designed. The plants and trees everywhere are simply gorgeous, and the pool itself a real delight – we loved swimming round the hotel in the lagoon area. The little touches in this place are so great as well: from the intricately folded lotus flowers you find everywhere to the extremely jolly garage security guard who salutes you when you walk to and from the hotel.

Our room – a deluxe palm room – was great. It was comfortable, clean, smart and attractive in its simple decor, and relaxing. Our visit was during the rainy season (don't underestimate the amount of rain that can mean!) so we appreciated the DVD player in the room and made use of the movies which you can borrow at no charge from the library. I loved the fact we had his and hers basins and tonnes of space for toiletries in the bathroom. We really enjoyed our evening drinks on our quiet, private balcony complete with geckos and lush, tropical foliage.

We were surprised to read complaints about construction noise in other recent reviews. There was a large construction site behind the block our room was in (screened off from view, and on a much lower level), and we can completely honestly say it did not affect us in the slightest. Our awareness of it was limited to occasionally wondering what was being built, and I think one morning at about 9am I heard some very faint banging, which my partner didn’t hear. So it was genuinely not a problem at all. And as for the construction on the beach (which I think looking at one of the most recent reviews appears to have finished) – it was not particularly obtrusive, and there was more than enough space to relax in the hotel’s private area well away from any of the work.

We enjoyed the selection of food available at breakfast – particularly the variety of fresh fruit and juices – and our two evening meals in the Oriental Spoon restaurant were of top quality and good value for money. [We also particularly enjoyed Weaves restaurant in the neighbouring Manathai Hotel – beautiful decor, great food.] A visit to the spa was a real treat – it’s not cheap but the ambience and massages we had were top notch. I loved the poolside beds and chairs (particularly the ones actually in the pool!) , and the private area of the beach with service from the Catch beach club was great. It was private enough to feel exclusive, but not totally cut off from the outside world, and with some cheap Thai massage stations right next to it and traders walking past (but not in an aggressive way - they were not a problem).

The location of the hotel itself is worth commenting on too. It’s very quiet, and we felt so relieved to have chosen somewhere away from the much busier areas of Phuket. Because we visited in the rainy season, it was probably at its quietest, but I can’t imagine it feeling too busy in peak season. The sea was not really suitable for much of a swim during our stay – the tides and currents are extremely strong and it can be extremely dangerous - but again, I think this was probably a symptom of the season, not a problem with our particular beach. It didn't stop us going in, but you do need to be very careful and heed the warnings on the beach. My partner particularly enjoyed spending hours jumping around in the waves on boogie boards supplied by the beach club.

While not a problem with the hotel itself, there was one negative thing worth mentioning - we booked an elephant ride excursion through the hotel, but weren't happy with the excursion provider, as we felt the elephants were not kept in good conditions. We mentioned this on our feedback form to the hotel - it would do well to recommend somewhere else.

A few tips worth mentioning:

* The hotel laundry is, as you would expect, expensive. We used one of the laundries a short walk away in the village (M Laundry?), and got excellent service for a fraction of the price.

* Book in to the Friday night beach barbecue at the Catch club – it’s great value for money with masses of fresh meat and seafood, and decent, free-flowing wine.

* The wine tasting sessions in the special wine room sound like a great idea and we were very tempted, but felt they were too expensive for the wines offered - the same as those served at the beach barbecue.

To finish - I would love to be lucky enough to come back to stay at this wonderful hotel again and cannot recommend it too highly. Collapse

“New Residences are Sensational”

Review by AussieAnge from Melbourne, Australia
Oct 12, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I am not easily impressed but I was blown away by the new Residences. We had a two bedroom garden residence and two Grand deluxe Palm rooms. Perhaps I should have written two reviews as they were totally different.

Everything in the residence was top quality and very tastefully done. The staff were unreal and nothing was too much trouble. Opening the doors to the outdoor area gave a really large entertaining area. Eight of us were more than comfortable, the sound system and TV were fantastic Read more...including iPod docking station. They even provided the iPod if you did not have your own. The beds were totally comfortable and the linen excellent. It was totally world class and I would recommend it to anyone.

The other rooms however were totally showing their age. Lots of chips and scratches and basically just tired. They had upgraded the TV’s to plasma – but who goes to Phuket to watch TV??

The service in the resort was heaps better than when we were there two years ago.

I really think this resort has improved and with a little tweaking would deserve their 5 star rating.

The breakfast was very good except for the fact they cooked far too much for the number of people so hence much was cold. However they would cook you fresh bacon etc if you asked for it.

They do not have any specials for food, drinks, or spa – even during the green season so expect to pay top prices.

There are no views from this hotel; however it does have probably the best pool I have seen in Phuket. The beach area is very good. Just beware of the undertow as one person was saved while I was eating lunch on the first day. It can be VERY dangerous. Collapse

“All good at Twin-Palms”

Review by shellsbellsAustralia from Australia
Oct 05, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

When we saw some of the reviews of this place on trip advisor they were to say the least a little conflicting. I was worried about the on-going construction comments and therefore emailed the property with any updates. Suffice to say, there was nothing to worry about and my only complaint (on a totally selfish level) was that the Catchclub bar opened on the 3rd October - the day we checked out. I have posted photos for you all as I found tripadvisor to be a great website for such reviews. Ours was a very positive experience and found the staff at the hotel to be overwhelmingly gracious and couldn't do enough. Some small language barriers at times, but hey you're in Thailand! Food was great, breakfast gets a little boring after a while as the same food is served buffet style. Overall, i would highly recommend this place and can't wait to get back there!
Previous Page   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30...      Next Page