Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“amazing experience”

Review by BRUCIE43 from DUBAI
Oct 05, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I cannot believe that some reviews of this hotel are so negative.

We were originally booked for a lagoon room but on arrival we were upgraded to the residences. WOW! This was more of a house as opposed to a room. The modern open plan 2 level design gave such a great sense of space, and the private pool/ garden area never felt overlooked. The residences also comes with a host assigned to you throughout your stay. He was very helpful and friendly and would assist you with any requests you may h Read more...ave. Infact all the staff were helpful and friendly throughout!!

We ate at both restraunts and both were of a high standard. I loved the catch bar/restraunt by the beach, gave a real holiday vibe but in more stlyish surroundings than the norm. I would say that with the resort striving to be at the high end of the market they should consider at breakfast all hot food on cook to order. Sometimes bacon, sausage etc were a little on the cold side. Had I been paying full price for residence room then I would be dissapointed with this.

The spa again was of a high standard and the staff were very confident and professional when carrying out treatments. So good I returned!!

The location of the hotel was great for us, far enough away from the busy/noisy crowds but only 15 mins taxi away if you wanted more action. Some other reviews dislike the beach, however I felt the beach was clean with clear water and yes it has strong waves but you were still able to to go into the sea just be careful. Above everything it was peaceful with very few people there (this might have been because it was off season)-Bliss.

What more can I say, I loved this resort and I would go back, but now I have stayed in the residences a standard room wouldnt sufice so I better start saving!!!!! Collapse

“Absolutely Gorgeous. I would definitely return.”

Review by cher_nd from Singapore
Oct 01, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I stayed at the Twin Palms from the 27 Sep 08 to 1 Oct 08. Seeing those 2 negative reviews, I also feel compelled to write to set the record straight. My stay at the Twin Palms was absolutely perfect and we (my partner and i) are already planning to make a return trip there next year. (And we are not even the resort type of travelers to begin with.)

Besides the usual breath-taking decor and layout of the place which one can see for yourself from the website etc, there are several incidents th Read more...at I have to cite to show what an absolute dream the place was. The Thai people there were helpful to a fault. It was almost as if everyone there can anticipate every single intention and even though there were many other guests around, they never fail to make you feel that you alone are special.

Incident One: At Oriental Spoon restaurant, the partner and I ordered a bottle of red wine. When the bill came, we were charged higher and I was slightly taken aback so naturally I queried. The manager/ management trainee was exceedingly polite and went to check, never once making you feel like you were at fault. In ten minutes, she returned and said that it was a restaurant, they had mistakenly placed a bottle of white wine under the red wine list (my partner and I are not italians and obviously could not tell.). I said that was fine and to charge us what we originally expected to pay. When the bill came, there was no charge for the wine at all and when I asked why, she said it was a restaurant error and guests should not be penalized for it. How's that for service?!!?! It was amazing.

Incident Two: At the Palm Spa which we went nearly every day were 2 lovely ladies tending the spa reception. On the first day, we were served Lemongrass Tea. I remarked that I loved Ginger Tea and to please let me know when they would be serving that during my stay. (Tea variety is apparently served on a rotational basis.) For the rest of my trips to the spa, Ginger Tea never failed to find their way to me. It was so sweet how they remembered what I liked.

Incident Three: I was trying to lounge by the pool on a deck chair but preferred one with an umbrella top. There was none and the lovely Thai waitress told me in apologetic tones that they were all taken. I said it was fine and settled down further elsewhere with my magazines. In 15 minutes or so, she trotted over and said triumphantly that one was just vacated and it was held for me. Just the fact that she remembered and bothered coming all the way to tell me made my day.

Incident Four: I was struggling with my luggage on check out date but was overall managing fine. A Thai chef walked past me, and he is the chef, not the porter. Immediately, he told me to leave what I was doing and carried all our luggage to the concierge. He did not have to. Just that every service staff there seems more than happy to help out of the goodness of their hearts.

If you have to name some shortfalls, there is but just one minor thing. The pathway to their exclusive beach restaurant Catch One is rather dimly lit. On the first night we went, it was hardly lit at all, proving just a tad hazardous. The second night we went, there were lights paving the way to the place so they must have already figured that out but I personally felt it was a little dim.

I just had to illustrate all the wonderful experiences we had. This place is truly a "home away from home" as written in a personally handwritten note I believe they write to all guests who check into the establishment. My partner and I have never felt happier and would surely be back. We love the place and are definite converts.

(Lastly, all those renovation noise talked about in the previous reviews...what renovation noise?!?! The place was tranquil and peaceful; a definite haven.) I cannot even begin to tell everyone how much I adore the place. All I can say is just go and experience it for yourself. Collapse

“Absolutely gorgeous”

Review by bmhnz from Auckland, New Zealand
Sep 30, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I felt compelled to write this before even leaving this gorgeous Hotel. I had seen a couple of negative reviews about this Hotel and can't help but thinking that those people could not possibly be talking about the same location. We stay in many, many Hotels the world over however there is something truly unique about this property. All the rooms are of the same standard and the Residences are jaw dropping. The food, staff and ambience could not be better. The LUXE guide rates the Catch Beach Club for a reason and it looks to only get better as while we have been here they are making further improvements. This wonderful Hotel is a credit to the hardworking owners vision complemented by his outstanding staff. We will travel back to Phuket to stay here again.

“Twin Palms Feb 08”

Review by SidiLondon from London
Sep 29, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We were incredibly impressed by Twinpalms. We stayed in one of the Residences. Probably the most luxurious and superly designed hotel "room" that I have ever stayed in - the ground floor is living space, first floor bedroom and bathroom and the third floor is the piece d'resistance with a totally secluded roof top pool. This place would be a first class choice for a honeymoon. We had a superb sound system, a wine fridge full of great wines and champagnes, a kitchen supplied daily Read more...with fresh fruit. A nespresso coffee machine and a humidor of fine cigars. Attention to detail was outstanding. The gym was also excellent. Friends were staying at the Manathai, the Chedi and the Amanpuri and without a moment of hesitation I would recommend Twinpalms as the most hip of the three and with five star service that would be hard to exceed.

The only negative experience was that my husband had a jacket ruined by the dry cleaner. The Manager of the Residence was very apologetic and tried to find a solution but I would not recommend guests use the dry cleaning service. Collapse

“merveilleux séjour”

Review by mundomaria from lille
Sep 29, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

L'ambiance du twinpalms est unique. Dès que vous arrivez dans son grand hall l'alchimie se produit. L'architecture, la déco, le confort, la gentillesse et la discrétion du personnel ne peuvent que vous faire passer un séjour sans faille !
A conseiller en amoureux ! A faire pour se faire plaisir: l'apero soleil couchant proposé par l'hotel: on vient vous chercher en voiture de pdg et on vous amène prendre le mini yacht direction une plage paradisiaque ou on vous sert le champagne.....romantique à souhait !

“noisy renovations”

Review by shannonnz from berlin
Sep 25, 2008
Rated 1 out of 5 -

renovations on beach - some parts closed, dangerous and construction noise everywhere, renovations inside hotel, library, rooms, poolside, very inconvenient for someone planing a "romantic getaway" - no information on website regarding construction - we checked out early & moved to another hotel

“Thoroughly enjoyable”

Review by RodW from Sydney
Sep 18, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We have just returned from 9 nights at Twin Palms. Our time is in total contrast to a couple of recent reviews who experienced a combination of rudeness and excessive nosie.

Yes there was some renovations in progress however at no time did we experience any inconvenience. At low season renovations and building works are common in hotels. We actually enjoyed the progress being undertaken at the beach club - particularly timber platforms and how the team worked together to construct it. At all Read more...times there were available lounges.

Our time at Twin Plams was wonderful. We have travelled extensively in recent years and will compare future hotels to this one. The location is wonderful for those not wanting the pace of Patong however readily accessible (15 mins) via the many taxi drivers ever so willing to assist. Surin beach is much quieter and offers a variety of eating options for those wanting hotel food all the time.

We ate in the hotel for dinner some nights however did enjoy the meals on the beach at other venues equally (if not more). Our nights always concluded with a drink at the hotel bar which is chic and a great place to meet some really interesting people.

A special mention to the lobby staff who excelled in their willingness to assist.

Overall we had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Collapse

“incredible noise”

Review by perthsurfergirl from Perth
Sep 15, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

outrage - hammering on our wall from 6:00AM, they stopped after calling reception several times, only to restart at 9:00AM. Couldn't enjoy the poolside because of the noise, couldnt enjoy the beach because of some renovations there - they covering the sand with wood, pulling out trees, moving furniture with huge trucks - not a single letter of apology in rooms, no manager available to comment - couldn't wait to leave this hotel and we'll never ever return.

“ongoing constructions”

Review by ichigosan from EU
Sep 09, 2008
Rated 1 out of 5 -

we booked a 7 day stay at twinpalms that was cut short as we had to check out early. the hotel still has some construction, building a new wing and the noise is unbearable. they started jack hammering behind our room 6:00am in the morning for 3 days in a row. the manager we spoke to was aggressive and rude, apparently the genereal manager of the hotel instructed the builders to finish as soon as possible because they are already behind schedule. we were told to leave if we don't like it, did not offer other - maybe less noisy - rooms and as we had to pre-pay for our trip, at first they refused to give us refund. The staff at the hotel is lovely, but their english isn't good enough to deal with complaints, the managers we met were bloody rude and were clearly annoyed by us. our trip was an extremly disappointing experience, we will never return to twinpalms and probably seek further compensations for not only ruining our holidays but even charging for unused stay.

“Una buena opción!”

Review by miriamtgna from tarragona
Sep 09, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Bueno solo puedo que recomendaros este hotel, la verdad es que está genial. Tiene un buen restaurante en la playa, un piscina ideal y las habitaciones son amplias, modernas y cuidadas. Lo único es que la playa no es una playa de revista pero sinceramente si lo que queréis es un buen hotel y vais hacer excursiones a otras islas phi-phi... creo que es una buena opcion nosotros estuvimos tres días y estuvo genial, cogimos las excursiones en el mismo hotel y estuvieron muy bien. Que lo disfrutéis!
Previous Page   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30...      Next Page