Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“The perfect getaway!!”

Review by KONSTANTINAAthens from Athens
Sep 07, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Konstantina, Athens GR

Being experienced traveller and coming from a country with upgraded high standard leisure services I found this hotel one of the best places one can be.
I won't tire with details you can just read other reviews and visit the hotel website - you 'll know just what to expect!!
Just know:
-This is a boutique hotel, far from huge hotel chains or hotels widely booked through opperators, meaning no noice, few children, relaxation, tailor made services, chic pampe Read more...ring and a privacy air (Thank God!!) - so beware what you are looking for!
On practical level:
- They have lower internet fares , so check official hotel website before you book.
- They provide free internet form the library and outdor lobby.
-They have a library where you can borrow books, magazines and DVDs.
You can also book excursions and other activities there. We had the Phi Phi and Phang Nha day tours booked though the hotel at a fare 15% lower than the tour opperator fares (Phuket Adventures).
-Regarding exchange, they charge approx. 100 bhatts per transaction (24 hour service) and you must know ,that upon departure, they can't change bhatts back to your currency.
-For dinning out, try the nearby "Waves" for gourmet cusine, and don't miss "Silk" (they provide transportation), "Lotous" (excellent seafood) and "Baan Rim Paa" (Thai piano restaurant). Averrage dinner cost for two including wine, 2.800 Bhatt.
-If you 're on for jewllery shopping, try only the Gem Gallery Jewllery factory branch near Phuket town (they provide transfer). Prices are not much chaper than Europe's but stones and pearls quality are far better and certified!
-If you have a late departure, hotel provides luggage storage and a changing area with shower facilities FOC!
Excellent! Excellent!
See u there, I'll definetely go back. Collapse

“The best hotel in Phuket”

Review by TiberiusDeus from Dubai
Sep 02, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Twinpalms is a great hotel that fully matched our expectations of a romantic stay in Phuket. We stayed there in August 2008, and although the rainy season was supposedly in full swing, we only saw rain twice, both times for about 2 hours, during our 7-day stay at Twinpalms. The location of the hotel (Surin beach) is great for those who, like us, wanted to stay away from the packed beaches of Patong. This said, Patong is only a short drive away (about 15 mins), there are great beachfront restaura Read more...nts serving excellent (and cheap!) Thai and international food. The beach itself is a two-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel has a great ambience: it’s the complete opposite of the big chains in that it provides a very cosy atmosphere and personalised service at a level that the big hotels can never hope to match. All rooms are located in small detached buildings with 4 rooms per building on average, all with private access. We stayed in a deluxe double room, which was very spacious, very-well fitted and decorated. The bathroom was great as well, both in terms of its size and the quality of the fittings; unlike many other hotels, the toiletries provided were actually not just useable but quite good. The breakfast was good, but the selection did not change much so became a tad boring by the end of the stay. The hotel spa, while quite expensive, offers a good variety of treatments. A separate note on the staff: without exception, they were all friendly, professional and always willing to help. Overall, my verdict is that this is a wonderful boutique (but affordable) hotel where we will certainly stay again. Collapse

“An absolute delight”

Review by ExpatPaul from Manchester
Sep 02, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I am an expatriate and frequent traveller.
To put it simply: this is the best.

“Loved this place”

Review by efeehan from Brussels
Aug 28, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed here for 5 nights early August at a very good price. Its a beautiful resort with excellent staff. We were made so welcome from the moment we arrived. We stayed in the Lagoon pool room and adored it. Clean and v comfortable. It was great just to slip from your room straight into the Lagoon.

My thanks to all the staff at Twinpalms for an excellant holiday.

“Exclusive, yet cosy”

Review by lym7 from Singapore
Aug 17, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Friendly and accommodating staff. Cosy feel to the place.
Love the aromatherapy-infused toilettries.

“Great Hotel!!”

Review by U-1 from Tokyo
Aug 10, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

It was the most relaxing hotel in my exparience. Nice room,great survice,delicious foods, I really enjoyed it.
There is a beautiful beach in front of the restaurant in the hotel.We don't have to taking and careing baggage. And also there is a nice pool like in the forest.I spent many time there.
I really recommend this hotel. I'll definitely be going back.

“Twin Palms, full marks from me!!!!!”

Review by BangkokMuzz from Bangkok
Aug 01, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

A fantastic place. I have stayed here twice,Great staff, great restaurant, the only thing I would say is that you really need a car to get to the nicer beaches. I would certainly stay there again!

“Twin Palms Resort - Heaven on Earth”

Review by Hazards from Australia
Jul 27, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

My husband and I stayed in a Residence with a roof top pool. If you can stretch your travelling dollars, I would recommend you stay here. We booked for five nights in June but ended up staying for seven nights. We loved this place so much that we are returning again in two days time for a further week. The residence accommodation is AMAZING and to have the privacy of your own pool makes is so much more special. We had our own host ("Au") who wanted to do whatever she could to make our Read more...stay memorable - she is an absolute delight. The residence itself is very spacious with every mod con you could wish for. It has it's own Nespresso coffee machine, free mini bar, beautiful comfy bed, rain showers and so much more. We found that Surin Beach had enough great restaurants to keep us going for days - we even did a cooking class at the Twin Palms restaurant. You can even hire your own driver at this resort and we found that it cost no more than hiring a local taxi driver. One of the resort drivers calls himself "Jacky Chan" - he is outrageousy funny.

Another added benefit of hiring a driver from the resort is that he will take you directly to where you want to go. Other taxi drivers will try and take you to shops that you don't want to go to just so he can get a commission from the shop owner. If this happens - don't get angry (he's just trying to make a living) just tell him not to take you anywhere you haven't specified.

One of our missions was to purchase some antiques and we found a great antique shop in the same steet as Twin Palms (extremely expensive though - but it has authentic stuff). They will also arrange shipping for you. There is also a small shopping complex about a block from the resort called "Silks" - it's worth a look - but again, it's fairly expensive. There is a restaurant on the third floor of this building that has great food or is just great to sit and have a drink.

I can't say enough about this resort or the area of Surin Beach. If you are looking for a peaceful haven with good quality food and shopping (not the crap you find at Patong) then have a good look at this place - you will not be disappointed.

I would just like to add one further comment - when you are bartering with the Thai people - keep in mind that most of them make just enough money to feed their families - they have no extra money for luxury items that we are familiar with. I watched a woman on the beach bartering for a fake watch - she was so rude and unrealistic on what she should pay that I could have slapped her!!!!! (of course I didn't ....).

Nick & Torey - Australia Collapse

“Gorgeous hotel”

Review by slinkyminxsydney from Sydney
Jul 19, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We are a family of 4 and stayed at the twinplams for 12 nights. We stayed in a residence with a roof top pool. Although the hotel is not designed for children, the staff certainly made our girls feel very welcome. A nice touch was the gift of a cute teddy bear tucked into their beds on the first night. The residence was very well appointed, spotlessly clean and our own private host was very friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Our host 'Ewe' even brought us a fresh fru Read more...it platter every afternoon. We cannot rate this accommodation highly enough. The Nespresso espresso machine in our residence made the most delicious coffee (we have since bought one for home). The beds and linen were first class.
Breakfast was lovely and fresh. So nice not to have to fight the crowds like at some large hotels. Overall the food, service and ambience was of a very high standard. The Catch Beach club is sexy and stylish with groovy music and an equally 'cool' crowd.
A typical day for us: leisurely breakfast at around 7am, then to the pool for a couple of hours of swimming and reading etc, over to the beach (short walk) at around 11am where the staff set up your lounges with towels (they also bring drinks and fresh fruit sticks). Light lunch at the Catch Beach Club followed by an afternoon of massage and relaxation. The best beach massage is "TAW". Turn RIGHT at the Catch Beach club and Taw and her team will give you a fantastic massage (often much longer than you expect). Taw speaks fairly good english and is a very likable lady and by far the best massage on Surin Beach. A little tip... go and buy yourself some nice massage oil at Lemongrass House (a few doors down from the hotel) and ask Taw and her team to use that. Bliss. At around 4pm we'd head back to the room or pool and make the tough decision of where to eat dinner!
The Palm Spa (the hotel spa) is also very good and quite reasonable priced for a hotel spa.
We did check out a few other hotels whilst in Phuket. None of them even came close to the gorgeous Twinpalms.

We cannot fault this hotel and will certainly return. Collapse

“Affordable Luxury”

Review by kzincali from California
Jul 19, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Wow! What to say? I'd heard about TwinPalms from another person. We were going to be on Phuket for our first anniversary and wanted to stay somewhere really posh for a couple of days. We arrived on the 6th of July and left on the 9th. Originally they said they could only accomodate us for two nights in one room, then we'd have to more for the third. When we arrived, after drinking the sweet juice they gave us while they processed our reservation, they informed us that instead of moving Read more... rooms, they upgraded us. We stayed in room 41, a Deluxe Lagoon Room.

This is the most elegant hotel room I've ever had. It wasn't overly large, but it was very spacious. The decor was very modern and reminded me of home, with dark woods and light accents. The bed was comfortable with down pillows and comforter. Turn down service included chocolates. The provided bottled water, although the tap was safe for teeth-brushing. The room was spotlessly clean.

The service was impecable and very classy. Breakfast was good, fresh, lots of choices and an omelet bar. The fitness center was large, airy, and bright, with several of each machine (no waiting in line). There are some nearby cheap eats on the beach, and the beach club is also nice, having comfortable chairs and free use of equipment.

The thing that made the room great however, aside from the private and enclosed lanai, was that you could step right off the patio into the pool! The section of pool next to the room is the "lagoon" and is separate from the rest of the pool, so it is more private and quiet.

The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom, with giant separate bath, had two sinks and was well stocked with spa essentials. The bathroom was enclosed by the "backyard," an enclosure with large live bamboo plants. We made use of the spa twice. I got a Surin Massage and later a foot and head massage. My husband got a Thai massage, a facial, and something else (don't remember what). While cheaper than similar sevices in the US, they were not cheap by Thailand standards. Nevertheless, they were very pleasant, as was the setting and complementary beverages before and after massage. There is ample free internet in two different locations, the "library" and the business center. The employee in the library arranged a snorkeling tour to the Phi Phi Islands for us.

We ate at the restauarant once. I had lobster and my hasband crab. Both were good, but again, a lot for Thailand.

We received gifts for spending money at the hotel - a shirt and a hat. The shirt was too small and we left for the day. When we returned, a larger shirt had replaced the smaller one.

This place was fantastic and we wanted to stay longer, but they had no room for us. Alas, we left reluctantly.

My only complaint, and it's very minor, is that the hot water did not last long, perhaps not even five minutes. Without the A/C it was warm enough in the room not to need hot water for a shower, but with it, the room was very cold and hot water would have been nice.

All in all, it was a wonderful and romatic place to spend an anniversary. Collapse
Previous Page   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30...      Next Page