Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Great resort, great location”

Review by mij from Melbourne, Australia
May 29, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Our family (husband and wife in early 40's, 14yo son and 10yo daughter) very much enjoyed all apsects of our stay at Twin Palms, Surin Beach.

Professional, competent and friendly staff.

Great location - on Surin Beach, middle of the west coast, central to all other west coast beaches and locations.

Great facilities - excellent spa, great pool and poolside service, a library, beach club on Surin beach just across the road. Everything in very good condition, well maintained.

“suite et fin de lune de miel”

Review by dianaSaintPierre from saint pierre
May 25, 2008
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Pour finir notre lune de miel en Thailande nous avons opte pour le Twin Palms une petite structure situee a proximite de la plage de Surin qui est beaucoup moins frequentee. Notre opinion sur cet hotel est tres mitigee. Certes c est ici que nous avons recu le meilleur accueuil concernant notre Lune de miel, c est aussi une tres belle structure, la chambre avec acces direct sur la piscine est vraiment superbe, mais il manque un peu d ame a cet hotel pour etre vraiment unique. En comparaison de Ch Read more...iang Mai, les employes ne sont pas tres amicaux, c est a peine si ils vous disent bonjour quand vous les croisez. Il est difficile d expliquer pourquoi cet hotel qui pourrait etre parfait ne l est pas. Peut etre est ce le petit dejeuner dont les ingredients ne sont pas toujours frais du jour meme, peut etre est ce le manque de convivialite du personnel? Toujours est t il, que bien qu etant un tres beau petit hotel de luxe, on a quand meme envie d essayer un autre hotel la prochaine fois, ne serait ce que pour retrouver la convivialite que nous avions trouve a Chiang Mai. Collapse

“Very good hotel - room for small improvements that would make a ”

Review by lollylollypop from UK
May 15, 2008
Rated 4 out of 5 -

We stayed at the Twin Palms for two weeks in April. Looked around a great deal on the internet, and TripAdvisor before settling on the Twin Palms. We booked a garden suite.

It's a long way from the UK is the first thing to say - 11 hours to Bangkok, 2 hour layover, then 1.5 hour onward flight. Luckily only 25 minutes to hotel as the last leg.

Check-in was fairly efficient, given towels and welcome drink and shown to room. First impression of the suite was that it was a generous size b Read more...ut that the lounge area was a bit of a waste of space since one half of it had nothing in it but a desk when it could easily have accommodated a dining table. Nice stylish furniture, though the sofas were THE most uncomfortable thing I have ever sat on. The bedroom and bathroom was really great though - twin sinks, huge bath, great rain shower, and views of a small non-accessible garden outside through the massive windows.

I was woken on my first morning by construction noise from the marriott they are building next door. Not horrendous but enough to wake me. First impressions of breakfast was that it was a nice selection but nothing compared to hotels in Dubai, and I would agree with other reviews that the selection gets tiring when you are there for longer than a week and there are some hygiene issues with birds flying around the open Oriental Spoon restaurant and nibbling at the bread, pastries etc.

We asked to move rooms due to the noise when we were awoken on day two. Thebauld, the front of house manager said there were no rooms available of our type but that they could move us the day after which we thought was reasonable. Next day we were moved to a Residence with rooftop pool where we spent 10 days. The Residences are incredible and words or photos cant describe - ours was apprx 2500 sq ft, over 3 storeys with its own private 10m x 4m pool on the private sundeck on the top level. Huge lounge with 50 inch plasma and cinema surround sound system. Dining area with 6 seater dining table and chairs. Kitchen/bar area with 2 fridges for the complimentary (and refilled as often as you liked) beer/coke/water, and a wine fridge and bar which you had to pay for the contents. There was also a downstairs toilet and shower, all decorated in ultra-minimalist style with comfy furniture, white marble floors etc. Heaven! As with other reviewers, it was bigger than my house at home and like I would like my house to look.

Upstairs, there was a bedroom suite, with fantastic bathroom with freestanding black granite one-piece tub, shower, toilet etc. Huge windows, electric curtains, another plasma and dvd player etc. Linen on the beds was the best of any hotel i have ever stayed in. Top floor private roof top sun terrace with shower, seating area, sunbeds, good sized deck, the pool, beautiful frangipani tree, and another fridge with free water etc.

Residences also get a hostess - ours Ju, was fantastic and couldnt do enough for you. She would make up fruit plates for you from the free fruit provided every day, bring you cold drinks with ice and lemon etc and when you went for dinner in the evening she used to come to the restaurant and serve as our private waiter. My wife mentioned having been to Thailand as a kid and having banana crepes at the side of the road. One day at lunch, she appeared with one for my wife - she had been out and bought one locally for her as a surprise.

Of the general hotel - staff are excellent, Thebauld was very helpful and knowledgeable at organising trips etc. Free internet access all over the hotel, not many kids (not encouraged), great pool of 30m+ and never busy. The lagoon pool is a waste of time and lagoon pools are a total waste of money - everybody we spoke to who had one said that. The lagoon pool runs along the side of the main pool, and is only 2-3m wide. It is good only for climbing into to cool down, and you cant swim from it to the main pool. Save your money.

Restaurants were good but not great. Oriental Spoon had been highly recommended to us by people who live in Phuket but it was nothing compared to quality/service that you get in Dubai. Good, reasonably priced for a hotel, but nothing memorable and service was a bit patchy - generally language skills among the staff were not very good, good enough to get by but not generally good enough to ask questions of the menu too much etc.

Beach Club is disappointing we felt, as was the hotel beach. A small private beach probably 50m wide, with public beaches on either side where sunbeds were packed in. Service was sporadic at the beach club as well - not particularly attentive staff to fetch drinks to you while you sunbathed etc and we generally ended up getting up and going ourself. Service was also slow to eat there with quite lengthy waits and we saw a few people complaining about this during our stay.

Surin beach town itself is small, only a small shop for drinks, chocolate, snacks, sun creme etc, an off license, and 4-6 restaurants, all of which were pretty average but OK.

Best meal we had by a mile was at Silk, which is about 5 mins from hotel and has a shuttle service to come and pick you up. Superb food, nice contemporary setting but not cheap - pretty much UK prices.

Gym at the hotel is great - as good a gym as i have ever seen at any hotel anywhere. Free weights, Smith machine, good selection of cardio equipment, free water. Spa was very good according to my wife who is an expert in these things!

All in all:
GOOD
- the residences
- the staff - friendly, helpful
- the pool / the gym
- free internet / DVD ,magazine, and book library
- Thebauld the front of house manager
- Ju, the Residence host
- design-led nature of the resort, modern and stylise

COULD BE BETTER
- the restaurants (the residence paying customers would expect better I'm sure - think the room product is ahead of the rest of the hotel for the moment
- the beach and the beach club

Overall, a solid 4 star where with a few improvements it would be truly a great hotel. The resort isn't great, the beach isn't great, but even if it were the hotel is a nice place to spend time as its just so cool looking and well laid out. Collapse

“Perfection”

Review by tray899 from London
May 10, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

This hotel is fantastic. It is quite pricy, but worth the money. The rooms are decorated to absolute perfection. The beds are a US standard king size bed. The staff are friendly and professional. You get free internet access including in the rate. The is no sea view, but the beach is a 4min walk from the hotel. Surin Beach has to be the best beach. The food and drinks are cheap and everyone is so friendly. It is a bit quieter and more up market compared to Patong Beach. The pool is amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel. Total Bliss.

“a lot of mosquito”

Review by triplov from KL
May 08, 2008
Rated 4 out of 5 -

I stay in this resort in early may for 3 nigths. hotel ground are beutiful.

Just besides, new CourtYard Marriott which is still undergoing renovation. And Manathai Resort in another side. But, you could find food easily outside of resort. Few restaurance within walking distance.

Surin beach is just in front of the resort, and about 3- 5 mins walk.

Back to the resort, may be during raining season. A lot of mosquito anywhere. Especially pool area. Staff are friendly but not professional e Read more...nough compare to other five star standard. But no complaint .

If you can drive, you can rent a car in the airport. Not far, about 25km from airport, just follow SURIN beach from the main road. And about 4km to Fantasea and 12 km to patong town.

Room is very clean but I think need some renovation espeically wooden floor.

I never try food in beach club because raining every night and not convenience to walk there. (Hotel should provide transport to the Surin beach, where beach club located at) Collapse

“Pictures are Deceiving”

Review by Passion4TravelNY from new york, ny
May 06, 2008
Rated 1 out of 5 -

I was really looking forward to this resort as I read rave reviews and saw the gorgeous pictures online.

When we arrived, our room was not ready even though we were in low season and the hotel was probably half empty. The first room we were put in had spiders and webs. They changed our room for us. We could not shower for more than 5 minutes without the water turning cold.

The worst part was the concierge. They seemed inexperienced and were not very helpful in booking our excursions. They were straight up confused when I tried to make a spa appointment. Ultimately I came back early to go to the spa but was informed that the spa had already closed. I was pissed because I had planned my day around getting back to the hotel just for my appointment. Then the next day I realized that they do not have a spa, just a hair salon. I felt deceived because I thought this would be a spa resort; it is NOT!

“A fantastic place to stay!!”

Review by westie01Queensland from Queensland
May 03, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Have just returned from our holiday in Phuket and have nothing but great memories of our stay at Twinpalms. It was exactly as you expect from photos seen on the website. We arrived in the evening greeted by staff bearing welcome cocktails and checked into our room promptly. We stayed in a 1 bedroom Palm Suite and could not fault the room from the time we entered, everything was clean, spacious and extremely comfortable. We were situated on the first floor and our view from the room, overlooking the beautiful gardens and sensational pool was impressive.
We stayed for 8 nights and found the staff, food, and atmosphere of the hotel did not falter during our stay. The beach was a short walk away and was beautiful - a drink at the Beach Club at sunset is a must to do!
Overall our stay at Twinpalms was great and I would not hesitate to stay there again!!

“An honest review from an experienced traveller”

Review by KJDSouthWales from South Wales
Apr 26, 2008
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Firstly, I just want to say that I am comparing this hotel against other 5 star hotels that I have stayed in throughout the world. When I read a review, I believe it is important to now where and what the traveller is comparing it to! Here we go...comparing against Tiberio Palace Capri, Various 5 star Dubai resorts, Bellagio Las Vegas, Lowes Hotel South Beach, Royalton New York etc etc. Hope that gives you an idea of where I am at. So..we stayed in the newly built Residences. We had one of the r Read more...oof top pool villas. I will write firstly about the Residences then the hotel. So we were picked up from the airport by our Residence Host and taken to the hotel. On arrival I panicked as I spotted the structure of the hotel from the side and all I could see was construction and I was promised it would not effect me. Anyway, we were taken to the rooms and the initial thought as entering through the door was WOW!!! We were checked in, in our room, given champagne and flowers. Truly, these villas are very very impressive. The villas were probably bigger than my house!!! Amazing ultra modern decor. Amazing deck and pool upstairs. Muxic system in the villa. 3 storey impressive impressive impressive!! The residence hosts Chai and Ka were amazing. We had an in room dining experience which was great. You could be tempted to stay in your villa/apartment/house all day. 10 out of 10! So to the hotel. I would rate this bit 8 out of 10. Lovely open reception, lovely pool area but few improvements need to be made. The breakfast is actually not that great. Nice but not great. Not a huge amount of choice and maybe a few isses with covering the food etc. However, it was satisfactory. The one dissapointment for me was the beach club/beach. It look so fab on the website but our first trip was quite unimpressive. Very bad smell on arroval at the beach and silebt beach club! However, we gave it a few goes and preferred it in the day. If you could pick t up and put it on an idyllic beach that would be perfect! Service at the pool bar was ok. Occasionally bits of fruit brought around but often the pool bar looked unattended. Sometimes quite difficult to flag someone for a drink. The food at the bar was great though. Now just to end....would I go again? Probably not, only because I would like to go elsewhere andthe location of the hotel was not the best for me. Would I reccommend it? I certainly would, particularly the Residences! Did it meet expectations? Yes!...Hope this helps someone out there... Collapse

“Review from a Fussy, Fussy City Girl's Point of View”

Review by Voggie from Australia
Apr 07, 2008
Rated 4 out of 5 -

As I'm writing this review, I have had about 2 weeks from the time we were at Twinpalms, thoughts are more organised and non-emotional. Therefore I believe it should be rational and non-biased. I find that one of the difficulties in interpreting the underlying words of a reviewer is not understanding the personalities hence personal requirements of the write/reviewer. *Every individual's interpretation of "fabulous" is different. Hence I will tell you a little about our requi Read more...rements (my husband and I) in hotels/resorts. We find that not many hotels which are advertised or rated 5 stars are true 5 stars. We both expect the best in quality and when we pay top dollar for something we expect the best. For eg the most attentive service, the best layout bedrooms, top notch cleaniness, and good quality products in the rooms and bathrooms. We are rarely ever truely 100% happy with a hotel because of our high expectations. In saying that, hotels that we are happy with, I would love to recommend.

First impression on arrival:
Even before we arrive at Twinpalms, I have a set impression of it due to the amount of photos I saw on the website and other reviwers' cameras. True enough, the lobby/reception was very calming , soft music playing in the background, and spacious layout. Staff were dressed in a relaxed but smart uniform. The whole settting immediately gave us a nice feel. We were checked in by a staff while seated at one of the couches.

Setback: Some couches were dirty and worn.

Bedroom and bathroom:
Looked exactly like in the photos. Wooden floors, bathtub is clean, two sinks, bathroom amenities...Room is very basic, not much extras. I won't say this is a set back as it is just the style of the resort.

Setback: Floors were quite dusty ( it was better after the next day's room service). Beware of mossies...Balcony area did not look very clean, so did not spend any time on it at all. (told you I am fussy)

Pool & the garden:
Pool is ok. Garden was beautiful, with staff maintaining that every morning. They ensured that the flowers on the trees looked perfect by patiently plucking out the worn flowers.

Setback: It did look like it needed a good clean up. Some rust could be found near some chairs that are in the pool. Cushions need a good clean or replace altogether. The pool near the lagoon rooms did not look inviting to me at all.

Other facilities:
Spa was great, the staff were very friendly and they spoke in this light and fairy-like tone of voice (Thai accent?) Massages were good.

Setback: Can't find any.

Library:
Good stuff. A good variety of books and magazines to borrow. It was their concierge - we booked our island tours and Fantasea show there.

Setback: None

Resort activity:
We did a yoga class. It was great, it was just us and the instructor so we had ample attention. We needed that as it was our first time trying yoga. Instructor was great

Setback: None too

Outside of resort (Catch etc)
It really was a good spot. The staff were attentive, yes it took quite a while for food orders to arrive, but I just couldn't put that down as a setback as we were on a beach holiday (our honeymoon) what rush were we in anyway?

Quality of Food:
Overall ok. Breakfast was extremely boring as it was the same menu every single day. Some birds got to the food as it was not covered properly. Hygiene was a problem. You really have to eat smart, choose the inner pieces that birds couldn't access, only take the smoked salmon if you are there bright and early as over the course of the morning, you can't be really sure of the freshness. It was quite delicious otherwise.

Service:
Good. Staff take time to talk to you, but I realised that those staff are temp/contract workers. The permanent staff may not be as friendly, and came across rude at some times.

Would I come back again? Yes because it wasn't horrible. I would like to say something about kids. No matter what reviewers say here about not bringing kids, parents will still do that so I will save my words. But parents out there, there is nothing for kids to do here. I know some parents don't mind dagger stares, but think about your kids, they will be absolutely bored out of their minds. You are better off going to some family friendly resorts.

I would recommend it to honeymooners, older couples but not families.

We spent 6 nights there, but really, to experience that resort you only need about 2 to 3 nights. Then it will get boring as the style is just so simplisitic. Collapse

“Thanks to Tripadvisor! - Go TwinPalms!!”

Review by amdhk from HK
Apr 04, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

TripAdvisor has done it again for our family. Thanks to all those who wrote their reviews...We were searching for a hotel for our first trip to Phuket. We shortlisted 3-4 based on the reviews here in this website. We decided to go for Twin Palms as our other choice - the Marriott was full.

Our first consideration was about our kids. We have 2 - a 5 year old and a 5 month old. I was hesitant at first to stay at this hotel considering practically all the reviews here has point blank told famili Read more...es to stay away from this hotel. This was our first and foremost concern that we would get dagger looks from "honeymooners" against our whole family.

True, this resort is really for adults and designed for adults. It is even written in black and white in the hotel directory (the A-Z thingy) but they indicated that they would still try their best to accommodate children's needs.

When we arrived, we had a sigh of relief to see a few kids in the pool. That means it's not just us who would get looks from 'pairs and lovers.' Fortunately, there wasn't any kids drama or tantrums during our entire stay. A few were even happy to see our kids, talking, smiling at them. My wife and I are also conscious of discipilining our kids to make sure they do not disturb others. So families - go ahead! this should not stop you from enjoying this fabulous resort. The resort is really quite small so you never really feel there are a lot of people. A few kids would not bother you at all.

We even brought packed foods for our baby that needs heating up which the Hotel kitchen gladly obliged. We had a great baby cot which we requested before we arrived. Nice little touches really help - my wife being offered fruits, etc. All the staff are very polite, friendly, etc. Overall a great experieince for our family.

We did not mind the slight walk to the beach because they have a beach front restaurant called "Catch" that awaits you there. Great food, excellent design, furniture, layout. It's really what you see in the pictures and magazines!

Other points: breakfast is sufficient and counts where it matters most, no noise for us as others have reported. Could you borrow books and DVDs from the library. They have an iMac in the library for free browsing - but it runs Windows XP!!! ---> c'mon Twin palms what is the iMac for then?! Tolietries smell great. They have high speed broadband connection in the room for free (I am using it now as I type my review on our last night here.) - WiFi at major public spots.

Great beach quality at Surin. Not too crowded when I got there. Exceeded what I had in mind.

A few minor things: the flooring of the room is a bit rundown now. Perhaps from all the beatings of the occupants - the pool is a few steps away, you'll have sand all over coming from the beach.

Taxis costs a fortune if you want to move around. 450 baht one way to Patong beach for a 20-30 minute ride. I guess this goes for non-Patong resorts. We don't like Patong anyway. Too touristy and 10x more crowded. Save your taxi fare and enjoy the calmness of Surin Beach. We only ventured out 2-3 times. Otherwise, it's beach, pool, restaurant for us. There are a few restaurants outside which we tried. "Silk" was a bit long down the road at Plaza Surin but I would not recommend because it's waaaay overpriced for Thai food. It was even more expensive than inside Twin palms.

My daughter enjoys horses so we went riding at the Phuket Riding club - taking the horses by Bang Tao Beach. Highly recommended experience!!

Overall, a great experience for us at Twin Palms. We'll definitely come back. It's as if this hotel was really well thought of. Very cool, very hip. Just like my kind of hotel!!! Be there to experience it. Collapse
Previous Page   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30...      Next Page