Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Nice hotel - depends what you want”

Review by rachel101 from Australia
Mar 27, 2008
Rated 3 out of 5 -

We selected this hotel after reviewing all other hotels on trip advisor and decided that despite the reported noise it looked like it had great ratings.

Whilst we got a great deal on the room from an Asian booking site - AUD$2300 for a 5 night stay during Easter in a Grand Deluxe Palm room I still felt that it was over-priced mainly because of the poor service standards and that you are expected to 'put up' with the noise of the construction, which incidentally when we called the ho Read more...tel were told would be completed before our stay - don't be fooled they are no-where near complete.

The hotel was immaculate and very appealing visually. The rooms were of a good standard and spacious with fabulous bathrooms. The pool area was very relaxing (except when children were there as mentioned below) and the beach club was an excellent area to relax.

The fault comes in the service. The service was terrible. The staff clearly don't receive appropriate training. This applies to all staff. At breakfast due to being served by several different people you are continually asked whether you'd like refills etc which starts to get annoying and they remove plates from the table whilst you're still eating. At the pool area there is no service by the pool for drinks (which at the price / standard of this hotel is pretty poor) you must go and hunt someone down to get a drink as the bar is often not manned. The Beach Club is no different and whilst there, we continually had to get up from our table to re-order drinks or food despite more than 7 staff being on duty and no other customers. Staff often stand around talking or dissappear completely. Lastly, and this is a laguage difficulty (I do not speak thai and appreciate this isn't the first language of staff) it gets very frustrating when staff pretend they have understood what you've asked for and then you later realised because they haven't done what you've asked. This happened far too often for an international hotel that is trying to be 5*.

The construction work does impact your experience if you're sensitive to noise - If you can absorb yourself in a book then you should be OK. We also had some problems with construction within the hotel when walls were being constructed outside our room but were told it would only be for the day - construction workers on site that we saw (those rebuilding the walls also had their children in tow which wasn't pleasant).

This would be a fabulous couples only resort, however, it's simply too small a hotel for children not to be noticed. The pool area is pretty small compared to other larger hotels and as all rooms front the pool area it is difficult to get away from either screaming babies or boistrous children. I appreciate they have as much right to be there as I, but personally it spoils my enjoyment. Where this would not normally be a problem in larger hotels that specifically cater to families and have childrens pools etc, you can't fail to find seclusion from the noise of kids because of how small the resort is.

We also ate at the Oriental Spoon on our first night but didn't go again. Some of the food was OK and other dishes terrible - surprisingly it was the Thai dishes that were bad and my partner was ill the following day. We can't tie it specifically to that meal, but we'd already been in Thailand for over 5 nights before that and had no problem with any of the food we ate - even from street vendors.

Lastly, if you're plannng to eat at the Beach Club - ensure you make a reservation. The BBQ nights did not appeal to me and you can't get the a la carte menu on a BBQ night which is unfortunate (BBQ nights are Tues and Fri). We went to check the BBQ night out before deciding whether to book and observed that it's a bit of a free for all when the seafood is served and it smelled overcooked. I didn't think it was worth the money. Some people love buffet food though so it's perfect if you do.

Overall we enjoyed the hotel but the service and children prevented it from being the secluded and relaxing experience we were looking for.

If you aren't as particular about service as I (and I am particular as it becomes annoying) and don't mind children or have them yourself then you'll probably love this hotel and I'd recomend it to you. If however, you are a stickler for service then expect to be let down. Collapse

“Be Warned”

Review by UkHonestOpinion from UK
Mar 25, 2008
Rated 2 out of 5 -

Be warned, they are building a Marriott next door to this hotel and there is drilling and banging all day that can be heard from the hotel pool. They are also building and extending their Residences (up-scale rooms) and building noise can also be heard.

“A wonderful modern hotel with great design features”

Review by forbes1 from Paris, France
Mar 24, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Twinpalms proved to be an excellent choice for our 12 day stay on Surin Beach. The design of the hotel is fabulous and we never ceased to admire the gardens and our hotel room (we had a deluxe Palm room).

The service is excellent and the staff concerned to cater for your every need. Very friendly.

Patong is a short taxi ride away (30 minutes) and the private beach is by far the best on Surin Beach.

“Beautifully stylish hotel.”

Review by Lulublue42 from London, United Kingdom
Mar 01, 2008
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Please note that we stayed at this hotel whilst it was in the process of opening, so although we suffered with problems such as building noise and poor service, i should hope that these have since been sorted out. We stayed in a deluxe room as i am not a fan of showers which the standard room have. But i have to say it was well worth the extra money as the bathroom was huge with a supersized bath, seating and dressing area. The bedroom was the same size as the standard room,decorated in the same minimalist white style as the standard, so you dont gain any extra there. With hindsight we would have also booked a lagoon room so we go straight from our room to the pool, but hindsight is a great thing. The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the village of Surin (nice and quiet, with a handful of restaurants and no girlie bars) just accross a quiet road from the beach. If its style and relaxation you are looking for, this is the place for you.

“Stylish boutique resort in Phuket”

Review by cosmodansk from Singapore
Feb 27, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Twinpalms is a little gem of a boutique resort, offering esthetically pleasing surroundings and very well fitted and stylish rooms, "tropical-modernist warm"-style, probably best describe the theme.

We stayed for a weekend in February in their least expensive room category "De Luxe", which was well decorated and with all facilities you would expect from a good five star resort. Cleanliness was top notch and lots of little touches (the bathroom amenities, the cool bathrobes Read more..., the nice complimentary chocolates) added to the five star experience. The bed was superbly comfortable and LARGE. Good beddings and choices of pillows ensured comfortable sleeping.

The main restaurant Oriental Spoon serves excellent food in a semi open area. The breakfast choice was better than many other hotels in this price category.

The hotel has its own beach club, with comfortable beds and a cafe on Surin beach (its a 150 m walk from the hotel across an open, public park area). Surin beach is clean, has beautiful sand, but is slightly overcrowded, at least in February.

We would highly recommend Twinpalms for couples, both younger and older as well as families with young kids.

The wider area around Surin beach offers a few good restaurants and lounge bars for those who want to get out of the hotel once in a while.

We were recommended a new place Rain Hail in Talang, just 8 minutes drive from Twinpalms. Rain Hail serves a diverse pacific rim menu, diverse, very well prepared and presented by attentive staff. Prices were close to on level with Singapore, i.e. not budget food, but reasonable for the quality and setting.

The reastaurant/lounge is a supremely stylish setting for a meal and drinks - an almost minimalist architecture with a big city feel yet welcoming and friendly surrounds a half open courtyard with a large reflection pond. There is both in and outdoor seating including a 12 seat communal dining table next to the windowed kitchen.

The lounge bar served creative martinis and a full range of cocktails and champange all the while a resident, british DJ was spinning cool lounge sounds until late. This was an excellent alternative to some of the more unimaginative/style-less standard bars and thai restaurants that crowd Phuket. Collapse

“Enjoyable Stay”

Review by LeginLondon from London
Feb 26, 2008
Rated 4 out of 5 -

We like Phuket as a destination although over development is spoiling the island at an alarming rate. We’ve stayed at various upmarket hotels including the Amanpuri, Trisara and Siri Panwa. This year we decided to try out Twin Palms Resort.

We were collected from the airport by the hotel and on the journey to the hotel the member of staff who had met us said those three magic little words 'you've been upgraded'.

We had booked a junior suite, but instead we were invited Read more... to stay in a one bedroom Residence.

The Residences are huge. There is a lounge / dining room / bar / bathroom downstairs and a large bedroom & bathroom upstairs. Very contemporarily designed, almost minimalistic but absolutely fantastic. A huge LCD TV downstairs and another in the bedroom. THREE fridges in the bar area - one stocked with wine, another with a range of free soft drinks (coke & beer etc), and another spare for fruit etc. The showers were huge - rainfall type and the bathroom was stock with Molton Brown products. Outside is a terrace and private plunge pool.

The residences have their own staff (hosts). Our host was the star of the show, escorting us around the resort, booking tables, organising taxi's, reserving sun loungers etc . She was waiting for us everyday on our return from the beach with a cool drink, fresh fruit etc. This sort of service is offered at other resorts - but this is the first time that we had a 'Host' that has actually made a real difference to our holiday.

I read with horror the report just published by another contributor about their experience at the Oriental Spoon restaurant. We had dinner in that restaurant 3 times during our stay and thought the food and service was really quite good. We had the sea food and did not suffer any tummy problems. Generally the hotel looks spotlessly clean.

There are a few points that have to be mentioned. Firstly, the Residences lack the impressive sea views you get at Siri Panwa or Trisara. You are not going to want to spend a lot of time on the terraces. If you book a Residence its worth paying the extra for the roof terrace type as it gets more sun.

The water policy is out of step other top end hotels. Each day the hotel supplies a couple of bottles of mineral water imported from Norway. Additional water is charged including any requested by the pool or on the beach. It would be better if the hotel dropped the imported water and supplied lots more free locally produced drinking water in the room and on the beach – as its competitors do. However until the hotel changes this policy just pop to store down the road and buy some - or raid the free supply of locally bottled water in the hotel's gym.

The hotel has a nice pool area. Most days we went to Surin beach which is a short walk (2 minutes) from the hotel. The Hotel has its own section on this public beach with comfortable sun loungers that are not too close together. We thought the hotels beach infrastructure and service was reasonably good. Collapse

“Severe food poisoning”

Review by Markgrid from Singapore
Feb 12, 2008
Rated 2 out of 5 -

We visited the Twinpalms on a 3N/4D Spa Heaven package from the 1st to the 4th February. The package included daily breakfast and dinner, to and fro transfer to the airport and 9 hours of spa treatment for each person in the entire stay. The overall experience would have been enjoyable if not for falling terribly ill on our 2nd night after eating in the resort.

We are frequent travelers and are always diligent about our health and hygiene. Regardless of where our travels are, we only ate from Read more... reputable places, we only drink and brush our teeth with mineral water and we don’t take ice cubes in our drinks.

Unfortunately, we both still have our holidays ruined and suffered severe food poisoning after eating at the resort’s restaurant, Oriental Spoon on the 2nd night. We also like to highlight that we only ate and drank from the resort during our entire stay.

Dinner was tom yam goong (spicy soup with prawns), a stir fried seafood dish (prawns, fish, mussels, clams and squid), a grill chicken dish and rice. My husband and I fell ill eventually although I was first to go through the trauma.

The same night, I started having frequent diarrhea of probably about 10 times and vomiting of another 2 to 3 times accompanied by a fever. My condition was so bad that I could no longer hold any food or even water in my stomach.

During this time, my husband was only feeling unwell but have not experience any of these symptoms yet. We had 1 doctor called in and I was placed on a liquid diet of electrolytes only. Soon after the doctor left, my husband too began the whole same series of symptoms of vomiting and diarrhea. We had to get a 2nd doctor to come in. Each doctor took about an hour to arrive.

Both doctors confirmed we had food poisoning possibly from food not properly prepared. We spend our entire 3rd day on a liquid diet and resting in bed even though it was a glorious day outside.

We told the resort staff (presumably 2 hotel managers) of our plight, but there was no sympathy or any apologies offered. Instead, we were only told nothing like this has ever happened before! The resort also charge us for the 2 phone calls made to the doctors. They even try to charge us for 4 miserable bottles of mineral water we needed to hydrate ourselves from our diarrhea and vomiting!!! How thoughtless!!!

We thought the whole episode has ended upon arriving back home on the 4th day. During this time, I was still on a liquid diet and faithfully taking all the medications given to me by the doctor. Instead I was proven wrong, my diarrhea and nausea persisted that I had to revisit my family doctor. I was given 2 injections, another whole course of antibiotics and to continue with my liquid diet. Till now, 8 days has lapse since our return I am still taking it very easy on my diet.

We took a 3N4D short vacation in the region and I ended up being sick for more than a week. It was a great way to lose weight but certainly the worst and most traumatic way.

We were very disappointed with our whole experience and even more disappointed at how the resort had managed or rather not managed the situation.

And NO we will not be returning. We have been to better resorts. And NO we will not recommend anyone this place, they could be the next “lucky” victim and have their holidays gone down the drain!

We will rather spend our money elsewhere, at another resort that will take care of their guests and are really keen in providing their guests a home away from home.

Anyway, included are some notes we thought worth mentioning.

Can be improved :

1. None of the staff seems to be familiar with the package or even have a clue what the package entails. Each time we have a query, they would have to go through the whole routine of checking through their system or their manager before coming back to us. On occasions when the staff do not have access to their system or their managers, they would told us they get back to us but on a couple of occasions we did not heard back from them. Anyway, the same procedure persisted during our entire stay. Breakfast seems inclusive in all their rooms but with each dinner, we have to explain ourselves over and again that is part of our package day after day.

2. Like every other resorts, the dinner inclusive package does not include any alcoholic beverages. In Twinpalms, the dinner inclusive package does not even include non alcoholic beverages or mineral water at the least. You are not even allowed BYO at a corkage charge.

3. Daily dinner is capped at 12 Euro each! Although this was never mentioned to us at the time of booking nor reflected on their website.

4. You only get 2 miserable bottle of mineral water a day!

5. We had a half bottle of champagne in an ice bucket in our room. When the ice bucket was replaced with new ice, our expensive champagne was left standing in the heat!!!

6. Each room has an electric mosquito repellant. However, there are still mosquitoes in the room and in the compound. You really need to wear a repellant all the time.

7. The library has a quite an array of books and magazines. But there were not many dvds to entertain you if you like a quiet night in.

8. The beach is not part of the resort’s compound. You have to cross a small road and walk a short distance before you get to the beach.

9. Unlike other resorts, no complimentary ice water or fresh fruits at the pool side or the beach.

10. There are no services at the poolside or beach. You get your own towels, open your own umbrellas, orientate or relocate your own recliners, lay towels on your own recliners etc. We even witness an older lady trying to wheel a recliner from one end of the pool to the other by herself. The resort staff didn’t do anything to help. Instead a younger hotel guest went to help the older lady instead!

11. There are not enough recliners to go around at the poolside, you really need to “reserve” these recliners early in the morning.




Good (but we believe any reputable hotels/resort will have the same):

1. Our driver was already waiting for us at the airport on our early arrival at 8am. He was very polite and smiling. He took over our luggage promptly and we were given 2 bottles of cold mineral water immediately upon settling down in the car. The ride to our hotel was easy and very comfortable.

2. Checking in was fuss free. Everyone greeted with a smile and we were given a welcome drink and a garland of flowers. Despite reaching the hotel before check in time, our room was readily available for us.

3. The hotel grounds were clean and well maintained. The website pictures and videos truly reflect the actual place. Our room was as expected in the website. Nice, clean and modern. No unpleasant surprises.

4. The Spa menu has numerous options to choose from. We were allowed the flexibility to organize our 9 hours over the 4 days. The trained masseurs were polite and dedicated. The rooms were pleasant and sufficiently decorated without too much fuss.

5. We were given a late checkout at 6 pm. Collapse

“Memorible Holidays in Twinpalms, Phuket”

Review by Thomaskjsuh from Singapore
Feb 10, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed at Twinpalms Resort, Phuket for 5 nights. We have never experienced such enjoyable stays in a hotel. The hotel is a small boutique hotel located in a relatively quiet part of Phuket island. The interior of the hotel is very modern and minimalist-like. The check-in was very fast and we were served with nice fruit juice as welcoming drinks. The service and staff was very good.

Room - As soon as we walked into our room, we just fell in love with it as it was very spacioius and clean wi Read more...th modern interior. The room was equipped with a bathtub, a quiet aircon and fans and also with a big LCD tv and a dvd player. All the funiture in the room was still very new. We booked a Deluxe Palm Suite at a reasonable rate through Asiativ. Upon the check-in, the front desk told us that there was a complimentary upgrade to Grand Deluxe Palm Suite. We loved it!!! We had a beautiful view overlooking the hotel's main pool from our terrace. It was always very quiet at the resort and whenever we were walking out or back to our room, we could always smell the nice fragrance of the flowers from the trees around the path.

Staff - The staff in the hotel was very friendly and courteous as they always greeted us with a smile whenever they walk-passed by us. Also, the housekeeping did an exellent job of keeping our rooms always clean.

Food - The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant was very good with enough selections. I enjoyed eating fresh fruits, specially mangos every morning. For dinners, we walked down to the at local restaurants called Room O Restaurant and Manathai Resort Restaurant which are just 50 to 100 meters down the road from the hotel. One night, we had dinner at The Catch beach club run by Twinpalms. Although the food was pretty good, the local thai dishes at the restaurants and at the beachclub were somewhat compromised to fit the European tourists.

Hotel Pool and Beach - Although the hotel's main pool looked very nice, we swam in it for only about 10 mins as we loved Surn Beach. The soft sands, the sun and the calm and clear water was just perfect for lazing around. Twinpalms had their own sunbeds in front of their beach club called The Catch. We loved eating and drinking at The Catch in the afternoon although sometimes we felt that the waiting time to order or to be served was bit too long. One day, we drove to other beaches like Kata, Karon or Patong but we still prefer Surin Beach. However, Noi Thon Beach at the further north looked prettier and less crowded than Surin. Next time, we visit the island, we will definately spend a day in Noi Thon. One day, there was a lucky draw for snorkelling trip by the hotel's speed boat to a small island nearby and only 6 people were chosen to do this trip. Guess what?? We won this lucky draw and enjoyed the fantastic boat ride and snorkelling free of charge.

Spa & Massage - We did not use the hotel's spa as it was so cheap to do it at the beach. Get some Thai or oil massage near the catch beach club. The one at the right hand side of the club when you are looking down the beach from the hotel is a good place.

Overall - We loved our stay in Twinpalms. I could not say enough about the hotel and its services and can't find any fault with it. When we go to Phuket, we will definately stay in this hotel again. This hotel is highly recommended for a young couple without young children. Collapse

“Twinpalms - a little slice of paradise.”

Review by Betty1Melbourne from Melbourne
Feb 10, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

My boyfriend and I spent 9 nights at Twinpalms in January and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We received a complimentary arrival drink and also a 15 minute "jetlag" massage which was a really nice touch. I did also have a hot stone massage and pedicure at Palm spa during our stay which were both very good.
The facilities and service at this hotel are first class. Thebault the front office Manager was fantastic. We had issues on a couple of occasions with our air-con not working in our Read more...room and not only was this dealt with promptly he followed up when he saw us the following day to ensure that everything was OK.
On one night we decided to catch a taxi into Patong which I think from memory was a set rate of about 450 Baht. The hotel does have a shuttle service however it was cheaper to catch a taxi just outside the hotel. One visit to Patong was enough for us and reinforced that we had made the right decision to stay in Surin Beach!! Lots of lady-boys, seedy and extremely busy!!
We ate at the Friday night BBQ at Catch which was fantastic value for money , 990 Baht per person with plenty of seafood, salads, bbq meats, and desserts. Book ahead for this as it is really popular and can book out. We also dined at Positano which is a few doors down from Twin palms, they had great thin crust wood-fired oven pizzas. Can also recommend Lemongrass rest, and the rest. on the beach at the Chedi for something special. Silk rest is also very good, concierge can book this for you and they will come and pick you up. Weaves, just next door to Twinpalms was also excellent.
We did a day trip to James Bond Island and also sea-canoeing, would highly recommend the sea-caneoeing, it was very enjoyable.
There is still construction on one side of the hotel (the side we stayed on) but it didn't bother us at all. It looks to be in the final stages so the major work has been done.
There is a currency exchange a few doors down from Twimpalms that have pretty competitive rates and also a Mini Mart as well for snacks and drinks.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Collapse

“Amazing time in Phuket”

Review by ekartash from New York
Jan 30, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed here in January as part of our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel has a modern look and feel to it. We were upgraded to a grand deluxe lagoon room. It is deffinetly nice, but i wouldnt pay the premium. i took one dip in the lagoon the whole time we were there. I would however go for the grand deluxe room, as it is much larger than the regular deluxe room.
The pool area is great, but we spent most of our time on the beach. We really loved Surin. As others have mentioned, Read more...the hotel has its own area on the beach. They set you up with a lounge, towels, drinks. The restaurant serves fantastic food. Do not miss the fri and tue bbq's. We ate a lot at the little restaurants along the beach. They all had fresh tasty food.
We visited Patong a couple of nights. I thought it was interesting to see the madness, but i would deffinetly not stay there. We did the crazy street one night, and Jay's Downstairs the other. I highly recommend Jay's. Overall we loved Phuket. We had an amazing week there, and it was very very sad to leave. Collapse
Previous Page   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30...      Next Page