Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Review by CooperWA from Perth, Western Australia
Dec 02, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We have just returned from a week at the Twinpalms Resort in Phuket and I can't fault this hotel in anyway. I was hesitant about staying here after reading reviews of construction noise but decided to chance it. Yes there is construction on either side of the hotel but once you get in your room and shut the door its not that loud at all. And when your are around the pool the resort is that lovely you tune out and just relax.

We stayed in a Deluxe Lagoon Access room and it was beautiful. Read more...The rooms are very modern in design and everything is so simple with clean lines. Very refeshing for a hotel.

Twinpalms offers the best of both worlds allowing you to either relax by the ocean in the reserved area on the lazy boys (be warned there is people trying to sell you things constantly all day even though its a reserved area it is still a public beach) or by the pool.

We have stayed in Phuket previously and this resort is in a league of its own. After reading so many reviews on hotels in Phuket before booking this time I'm so glad I booked here. My husband and I can't wait to go back again next year!!!!!!! Collapse

“BEAUTIFUL Hotel & Beach”

Review by krista_dustin from Ontario
Nov 23, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

My husband and I just returned from an 8 night stay at Twinpalms for our honeymoon (Nov 12-20). We stayed in a deluxe lagoon room with breakfast included (nice buffet with many options).

Check in was quick and we received a very informative tour of the grounds while our luggage was brought to our room (as well as a delicious fruit martini!)

The room was very clean and fresh, beautiful view from the sliding glass doors into our own lagoon pool and the main pool. Room was cleaned daily, turn Read more... down service in the evening. Very comfortable bed, DVD/CD player in the room.

We spent a lot of time at Surin beach, right across the road. The beach was beautiful as we had PERFET weather while we were there! The water was so warm and clear; big waves but great for bodysurfing!

Catch Beach Club was great, average prices for a resort. We attended the Friday BBQ which was delicious and great entertainment. For more inexpensive lunch options, try the vendors down the beach - thai dishes for 40 - 60 baht. Also, we found the Riverside restaurant for dinner, down the road from the hotel (turn right when you exit the hotel). Best pad thai EVER for very cheap (and the service was fantastic). We ate at Silk restaurant too - great place!

As for day trips, we went elephant trekking, snorkeling at Phi Phi Island, John Gray Sea Canoe - Hongs by Starlight (HIGHLY recommended) and we rented a scooter to go to Patong Beach for a couple days. If you're comfortable driving a scooter, this is the best route for visiting Patong or other road trips. Cost is 400 baht for 1 day, whereas the hotel offers a shuttle for 4 hours in Patong for 350 baht per person. Patong is a wild place, like Bangkok at the beach. Lots of shopping vendors!

We had an amazing time at Twinpalms and Phuket in general. Hotel staff
were very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend Twinpalms to others! Regardless of the construction that is happening, just don't let it bother you - you're in paradise afterall! Collapse

“great place, nice beach”

Review by rgarzamarcos from mexico
Nov 20, 2007
Rated 4 out of 5 -

I was really worried about all the reviews y read here in tripadvisor about the noisy constructions on the side, but finally took the risk and booked it anyway. the noise is there but it is much much lower than i thought, if you turn in the ceiling fan it is much noisier than the works, so it was perfect for our honeymoon, the pool in our patio is amazing.
definitely would recommend it.

“A Magnificent Place to stay in Phuket !”

Review by VincentOne from Zurich
Nov 17, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We've just returned from 2 weeks at the Twin Palms and enjoyed every single day there. It's a beautiful hideaway and staying in the Twin Palms makes other luxury hotels easily look outdated - have a look at the photos for an impression how beautiful this hotel is. The architect has done a great job designing such a beautiful place where everything feels right and its serenity makes it a great place to relax. Small extras made our stay even more enjoyable; a welcome drink at arrival, ev Read more...ery day a few mini-chocolates in the room, daily new ice cubes for the cooler, a daily international newspaper, complimentary fresh fruits wrapped in banana leaf served at the beach and last but not least very friendly and helpful staff --allthough all staff understood English well, some spoke with a local accent that made it not always easy to understand.
The breakfast buffet in particular is a real treat with a.o. French cheeses, Tasmanian smoked salmon, bircher-muesli, fresh pastries and daily freshly baked breads (imagine eating croissants and Danish pastries in the tropics), a great choice of fresh fruit juices and fruits, and of course the common English breakfast elements (eggs & bacon etc) were available as well. The restaurant ("Oriental Spoon") serves great food. Price level is reasonable, except perhaps for the fruit shakes in the Catch Beach Club, at 200 THB about 4 times the price of the fruit shakes next door on the beach. The construction noise referred to in other reviews turned out to be not disturbing at all - and we have quite "sensitive ears" to noise levels.
For wine tasters: Twin Palms has one of the best restaurant wine lists in the world - according to the Wine Spectator magazine which awarded the hotel in 2007. They have a truly impressive choice of wines and a beautiful wine room, which come at steep prices though. If we think really-really hard there are only 2 very small improvement points we can imagine; 1) the cocktails were good but the ones we tried tasted a bit similar; and 2) the limited selection of wines-by-the glass (3, of which 2 Australian).
In summary - a stay in Twin Palms is a real privilege that we would recommend to any of our best friends and family, and when we come to Phuket we will certainly go back to Twin Palms for a great relaxing experience in a beautiful setting. Collapse

“Fantastic hideaway!”

Review by Travelling_Pug from Singapore
Nov 08, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I was at Twinpalms with my partner some time in June this year, and that was after reading reviews of this delightful place. I've been to several hotels in Phuket now and I have to say though that Twinpalms is fantastic in terms of spending some private time with your loved one or just simply getting away from the hustle and bustle of life (or patong town for that matter). While patong bursts to the seams with hotels and peddlers and speakers blaring the latest muay thai match, Twinpalms is Read more... calm and soothing, and is quite a balm for the soul.

We took into consideration the construction works in the surrounding areas, and we actually requested for a room as far away as possible from the noise when we made our online reservations. I was pleasantly surprised then when they actually did fulfill our request. Although we did hear the drilling work, it was very distant and muted and hardly bothered us at all.

The rooms are clean and well-appointed and look out onto the pool which serves as the "centrepiece" of the resort. Some rooms actually walk out into the pool; ours had a spot of garden. The whole ambience was lovely and modern, the bathrooms are sizeable, and each room has a patio for lounging. The staff were friendly and attended to all our needs. The resort has a spa which is fuss-free but has one of the best Thai massages ever. Don't miss out on that if you can! The resort does not look out to the beach; rather, one has to cut through a small field to get to it, which is in itself quite an experience. The path to the beach is lit with torches and massive lanterns hanging from the boughs of the trees. A bit like a fairy tale if I may say so.

The resort has its own private area on the beach itself, with a restaurant there serving beachside barbeque at night, a perfect spot for winding down with drinks and listening to surf and live music. They have their own sun loungers, towels and umbrellas, and thankfully you can even use the restaurant's loo and not the dodgy-looking public one next door.

We didn't stay long enough to eat at the resort's restaurants but we did have a look at the wine room, and it is pretty impressive. However, i must say that if you do decide to venture out for some really good Thai food, the nearby restaurant Silk at Surin Plaza is a must! Great Thai food in a really cool ambience. We absolutely loved it! It is quiet and classy, and easily one of the best Thai restaurants I've been to. And since it is near Twinpalms, the restaurant actually arranges for complimentary pick-up to and from the resort. Also just down the road from the resort is a tiny cafe which whips up good brunch at decent prices.

All in all, a really great hideaway to get away from it all! Would definitely consider going back next time. Collapse

“Twinpalms is great!”

Review by choppydog from Warwick
Nov 02, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We spent 7 days at Twinpalms 3rd - 10th October, 2007 and had a great time. The construction did not bother us at all - we had a room at the back - not on the sides- no construction directly near us. The staff are extremely friendly and all services offered were tops. The beach club is also great and we found we would spend half a day at the club and then the afternoon by the pool. Great value, excellent rooms and everything you need is close by. It is only 20 minutes or so to Patong - if you really need to go there! Spa is also very good. We are by no means hard of hearing but quite simply did not experience any disturbance from the building nearby. We took advantage of the hotels transfers which are competitve with the local taxis but nicer. Surin Beach has a small community feel to it - so if you need bright lights & action it is not really for you. We will definitely return.

“z. Zt. nicht zu empfehlen wegen Bauarbeiten”

Review by katrin1234 from Chemnitz
Oct 23, 2007
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Wir waren Mitte Oktober im Twinpalms mit unserer 19-jährigen Tochter. Unsere 1-Bedroom-Suite war fantastisch mit riesiger Terrasse und das Hotel ist beeindruckend schön. Leider gibt es z.Zt. beidseitig vom Hotel direkt im Nachbargrundstück und auch am Hotelstrand Bauarbeiten und während unseres Aufenthaltes war der Lärm von früh 7.00 Uhr bis abends. Die Bauarbeiten sollen angeblich bis Ende Dezember abgeschlossen sein, was aber nicht zu schaffen ist, da die Rohbauten noch nicht mal fertig sind. Trotzdem war das Hotel ausgebucht und es gibt wohl auch keinen Preisnachlass wegen dem Baulärm.
Die Hotelstrandanlage ist sehr schön, der Strand ziemlich voll. Aber das ist ja fast überall so auf Phuket.
Auf jeden Fall sollte man das Seafood-Buffet am Freitagabend in der Strandbar im Voraus buchen, es ist wirklich sehr gut. In der Strandbar gibt es jeden Abend Livemusik, leider war sie sehr wenig während unseres Aufenthaltes besucht.

“Very loud construction work at Twin Palms Phuket”

Review by SeanThompson from Singapore
Oct 21, 2007
Rated 1 out of 5 -

Agree with the previous review. There is heavy construction work being carried out on both sides of the hotel - one side by the hotel itself and on the other a new development has just started. You cannot hear yourself by the swimming pool and the noise intrudes into the rooms. The work continues seven days a week.
I would advise that you only stay here when construction has finished and management will confirm in writing that it has. From what I saw, this might be up to a year from now.

“A Balanced Appraisal”

Review by bluetoothHongKong from Hong Kong
Oct 12, 2007
Rated 4 out of 5 -

The Twin Palms is a great resort for the price. Currently, however, there is construction on new resorts on BOTH of the neighboring plots of land. The drilling started at 7am (well, on sunday they waited til 8am) and went til after sundown. They said it will be finished buy the end of 2007.. dont hold your breath though,, seems like theres a lot of work to do)

Went with my wife for a 3 day weekend, and on the positive side, the pool area is great, the rooms are spacious and well appointed, an Read more...d there are 4 computers for free net access. The concierge is able to book whatever you want to do, and charge it to your room, so that you can limit the amount of credit card transactions that you make in Thailand (apparently an issue due to high fraud incidence). The TP is not right on a beach, but its a 3 minute walk, and they have a really nice Beach Club restaurant that is open til around midnight, and when we were there had a live Aussie singer songwriter that performed nightly.

We walked around to check out the Chedi and the Amanpuri, and while they are probably slightly better, the difference in price is way way more. Twin Palms is much better value, and its almost the same standard as the other resorts. Collapse

“Very nice”

Review by wells67 from Adelaide, Australia
Sep 30, 2007
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Booked a deluxe palm room via wotif.com. Lovely large room with great bathroom. The grounds are gorgeous and the pool area is simply stunning. Breakfast was wonderful. Staff attentive and friendly. Nice beach a short walk from hotel with beach club and sun lounges reserved for hotel guests.
There is a lot of contruction going on around the Twin Palms at the moment so there was constant noise all day, everyday. This didn't bother us too much (still managed to fall asleep by the pool) but I can see that it would be of great concern to some people.
Previous Page   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40...      Next Page