Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Do not stay here!!!”

Review by wanderingPYT from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jul 31, 2007
Rated 1 out of 5 -

Drop dead gorgeous hotel with unbelievably rude staff and no hot water.

Stayed at the Twin Palms for three nights while on my Southeast Asian adventure. Was especially excited to stay at such a chic and sexy hotel. The thought never crossed my mind that the staff and service would be anything but what they claimed on their website. Thoughtful unprententious service is not what we had recieved. It started out great with a warm greeting of flowers and ice cold beverage in a striking lobby. Then Read more... it went downhill after check-in. The employee that escorted us to our room had an attitude and acted as if we were interrupting his evening. Our room was stunning! Clean and ultra modern with an unbelievable bathroom. Unfortunately it was just a shell, it didn't matter that we had a giant tub or rain shower if there was no running hot water to enjoy it. We complained and again they acted like we were crazy and that they were being bothered once again. My best friend showed up for a scheduled appointment at their "spa" (not really a spa, but more like the corner hair/nail salon) only to be turned away because the woman who was supposed to do her manicure went home early. No phone call cancelling the appointment or a replacement technician. Overall a terrible experience. Especially since all of the other luxury hotels we stayed in had such impeccable service. Twin Palms fails miserably. Collapse

“Great Hotel”

Review by Aroina from Cheshire
Jul 28, 2007
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Great rooms. Very clean, comfortable beds, crisp linen. Spacious bathrooms. Contemporary design, simple but effective. Great pool. All the staff we came across were charming. Good Beach Club located 5 minutes away. A cool wine bar just 5 minutes down the road also, serving some good tapas and a reasonable wine selection. Breakfast was very good and the restaurant had a good atmosphere.

If you can, get one of the pool rooms that open onto a semi private pool. Had a complimentary 15 minute massage at the Spa which was wonderful but did not have time to go back, but would do next time.

The hotel is located next to Surin Beach which is generally a quieter area, and has one of the better beaches. There is a choice of restaurants and lots of other quality hotels nearby if you want to dine elsewhere. Styaed during the construction period and was not even aware of it happening, no disturbance.

“Not a Thai experience”

Review by abbyHongKong from Hong Kong
Jul 27, 2007
Rated 3 out of 5 -

We had been traveling in Asia for three weeks and this was our first time to Phuket. We had been to Chiang mai and Chiang rai and stayed in really nice places (Oriental in Chiang mai, Peninsula Bangkok) through to small charming hotels.
When we arrived at Twin Palms they greeted us with a welcome drink and checked us in our room the hotel seems like some of the big American chain style type which is nice but I expected differant.
When we got to our room I was kind of surprised that people woul Read more...d be swimming in the pool right next to our room and it felt like we had no privacy.
The spa seemed really nice but expensive almost as much as we pay at home. No chairs were available by the pool.
The breakfast was ok but hard to get service. We went down to the beach club "Catch" but the staff there were very rude when they showed my husband the wine list they recommended an expensive champagne and when he choose something else they seemed insulted? We spent what I felt was good money yet we were treated like we were cheap, very differant than anywhere else we went in Thailand.
We did like the restaurant next door to the hotel called Weaves the food was excellent and the serivice was some of the best we expeienced in Thailand.The waitress was so sweet she taught me how the fold the flowers pedals to decorate, we went back the next evening as well as we enjoyed talking with the staff.
Overall Twin Palms is good but the staff seem to have a bad attitude, the beach is very good and the location is close to golf courses which my husband likes.

I would probably stay in another hotel next time that is more warm feeling. Collapse

“Honeymoon @ Twin Palms”

Review by demonpanda from OC, CA
Jul 20, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

This posting is a bit overdue. We stayed at the Twin Palms in December 2006 for our honeymoon. Booked a very reasonable rate thru directrooms.com. We were there for 6 nights and had a fantastic time. The service staff was excellent!! At the beach club, poolside and simply walking around the property--we were always greeted with friendly smiles. The restaurant personnel were extremely attentive. BTW, the breakfasts were delicious!

Since this is a smaller hotel, we never got the "overcrowd Read more...ed" vibe that you'd tend to get at large resorts. Chairs at the beach club and at the pool were always plentiful. The beach is only a very short 5-minute walk away. The hotel itself is perfectly situated away from the craziness of Patong. My husband and I love to eat and we were thrilled by the plethora of restaurants at the nearby beach. We tried 4 different restaurants and enjoyed the food at all of them.

We stayed in a Deluxe Palm room, overlooking the pool, and it was perfect for us. The bed was very comfortable and the shower pressure was great. The only thing that I found strange was the sliding wood-slat doors for the bathroom. They don't really give you much privacy for your.... uh.... bathroom moments. Other than that, I could find absolutely no fault with this hotel. I would stay here again without hesitation and highly recommend it. Collapse

“An oasis with construction work”

Review by EarlsfieldTommy from London
Jul 20, 2007
Rated 4 out of 5 -

This is one of the most beautiful hotels that I have stayed in, service was excellent, restaurant nice (but expensive), the accomodation itself is (for my money) 5 star. I cant see how you could want for more (apart from a sea view maybe).

The beach club is also nice and adds a touch of class to the otherwise grotty seafront.

The only issue is the construction work - dont be fooled by people saying that is is quiet or that it stops during the day! It doesnt, in fact its completely relentless 7am-10pm 7 days a week. The hotel will give you a few freebies if you push the point with them - treatments or a free barbecue dinner etc. Not the place for children either.

Very short of evening entertainment within walking distance (Patong is 20 mins away), but a few OK restaurants not that far afield.

“Perfect Twinpalms !!! best place in Phuket”

Review by Super7seven from Paris, France
Jul 02, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Our trip:
- Twinpalms Phuket (5days), Surin Beach
- PhiPhi Island Village (3days), Phi Phi Don
- Central Krabi Bay Resort (5days), Ao Nang

The Twinpalms is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels, and it definitelly deserves it.
It's a small boutique hotel, very impressive and comfortable. All the facilities are great and pure design. The room (a deluxe lagoon room) is wonderful, high taste, with a unique access to the pool. The bed is excellent, rain shower is awsome...

The food: the Read more... breakfast is delightful, a good choice for international travellers, but for example no pancake or waffle... the choice is indeed limited to the small number of guests. Even that, we feel like in a small paradise with free champagne with French bakery !
Others restaurants are wonderful too, The Catch at the beach is so nice at lunch and at sunset, and the Oriental Spoon is very original and yammy.

The best asset of the Twinpalms (other than it design) is Surin Beach !
We were there the 2nd week of June, the sea was supposed to be dangerous, but i didn't really notice. The waves are sometimes huge but you can find some fun in that. The sunbeds are exceptional and the hotel give you whatever you want for free to spend time (board, snorkeling gear, books...)

A very few bad things about Surin, and Phuket (nothing related to Twinpalms) : Surin is very small, and not very interesting outside the hotel, some construction sites only annoying 1 morning around 10 ; Patong is a real trash place, but worth only a short visit for dinner ; Phuket is so big, don't waste too much money in taxi, just enjoy the hotel which is a DREAM ! Collapse

“Heavy construction !!”

Review by Daniel78 from Sydney
Jun 30, 2007
Rated 1 out of 5 -

Beautiful resort .... but shame about HEAVY construction noise around from each side of the resort from 7am till 10pm !!

“Super comfortable hotel”

Review by rafaeltec from rafaeltec
Jun 27, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

During our honeymoon we stayed at top hotels through Asia, Peninsula, Shangri-La, Westin, but the most relaxing and most enjoyable was the Twinpalms Phuket. Although the hotel is about 200 meters away from the beach(they have a beach club which you can use at no additional cost) the pool is so great youll rarely want to leave. The rooms are big and comfortable with modern decor, the bathrooms great, and the amenities are top notch. There are a couple of good restaurants on the beach(very cheap) and the on-site restaurant has a superb buffet breakfast and decent meals on other hours.

“constructions around....”

Review by nikos_globe from greece
Jun 27, 2007
Rated 2 out of 5 -

nice rooms, classy hotel...but constructions around.....noise till 9pm

“Class hotel with construction on boths sides letting it down....”

Review by longtimenohome from north
Jun 19, 2007
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Twinpalms is a design masterpiece, contemporary, elegant and a five star resort without a doubt.

However **** Construction on both sides of the hotel **** at present means that it is noisy from about 7.30 most mornings till 8 or 9 in the evening. So a relaxing break enjoying the fantastic pools is not so relaxing at the moment. The constant nose detracts from the beauty and elegance of this superbly designed hotel.

The staff were all very polite and efficient most of the time. I have read Read more...articles in here that say that they don’t go that extra mile, I would disagree. They knew my name from the moment we checked in. Everything asked for was given and they didn’t try to interupt

The oriental spoon restaurant was good even if slightly expensive. The spa was not as smart or as plush as you would expect. We enjoyed a 3 and ½ hour couple treatment which was all very well delivered but was exceptionally expensive (11500 baht ~ £180). Considering that on the beach on either side of the Catch beach club (not private to the twinpalm residents) you can receive a 1 hour massage for 300 baht (about £5) and the massage was just as good even if the surroundings are more public.

As far as real issues with the hotel are concerned they were really none apart from the construction. We are members of the small luxury hotel of the world club which gave us an upgrade to a better room. The room was excellent, large and comfy. We stayed in deluxe palm room, which are wider than regular rooms and have a bath which regular rooms don’t. The same applies to the lagoon rooms which have both the small and large varieties but have the bonus of being able to swim straight off the patio of the room, a nice touch. However the design of the hotel means that these rooms on the lower floor are a bit venerable to other guest’s prying eyes. I would suggest that the best room to get is the deluxe palm room on the 1st floor , Room 92 is a very good option being close to the restaurant and pool, away from the worst of the construction noise and on the first floor.


Slight negatives – Sunbeds suck, they fall down are made of steel so the sun makes them extremely hot.

Breakfast was great although they only have a 4 slice toaster which everybody wants to use and it’s very, very slow, I got rather annoyed about that by the end of a two week stay, I know it’s petty but at least it’s honest.

They allow children to spoil the quiet and wonderful pools. This is not a hotel you would take kids too, especially young ones, there is very little to do and it is designed around couples on romantic holidays, not families. If you have kids take them somewhere else, the few kids that were there were not tolerated well by the other guests.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel, it delivers what it is trying to deliver which is a stylish, comfortable and relaxing holiday, or it will once that construction finishes. Collapse
Previous Page   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40...      Next Page