Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Nice hotel but heavy constructions next to it !!!”

Review by Chill73 from Germany
Jun 05, 2007
Rated 2 out of 5 -

We checked in on a rainy day, but booked a nice 1 Bedroom Suite. The Suite was great, but there were constructions works on this side of the hotel. As we couldn´t go to the beach during the rain, we tried to watch TV, but no chance : the constructions next to us were too loud. So we asked to change the room for a more quiet one. Twinpalms reception just answered on the other side it will be louder as there were another constructions going on. So there are construction works to the left and Read more... the right from Twinpalms ! As the neighbours just started with the constructionworks for the new buildings it will be finish in months - perhaps before high season starts in November.
For us it was too loud and also no nice view, if you are lying at the pool and you look up to huge building cranes all the time.
They work from 7am to 22pm !
The hotel is very nice, but the service wasn´t very helpful with this problem - which they denied it isn´t the problem of Twinpalms, as they DON´t have any constructions, but sorry people, if its just 1 meter next to yur hotel, it´s also your problem !
So we diceded to move out to get some relaxing time in another hotel without construction works next to it !
We think Twinpalms is a loveley designhotel, but with poor service. Perhaps we will come back, after constructions are finish next year to try the other services and facilities, but at the moment its a Small Loud Luxury Hotel - not very relaxing. Collapse

“Beautiful hotel..”

Review by dorySG from singapore
May 27, 2007
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Just returned from my stay at Twin Palm today (26may07)
It's a great hotel, the hotel is very peaceful with little or no crowd at all as it's the low season now.

For those who are thinking of going during the monsoon, i absolute recommend you to do it. During my 4 days stay there, there was absolutely not a single drop of rain.. the weather was so hot & it's great for sun bathing. & i've read the reviews here of people putting their towels on the beach chairs & Read more...; blah.. no, absolutely not happening in the low season. There are plenty of chairs there for me to choose from.

There are still construction going on at both side of the hotel(not in the hotel) & i think it's going to take them quite some time to finish. Not a big problem though.

Bedroom was clean & big. However, they should provide complimentary music CDs instead of putting the music CDs there for guest to buy.

Breakfast was a repeat everyday. Would appreciate if they can change it for alternate days.

The pool was abit cloudy. Maybe the water filtration is not working too well. Not really a big issue.

One little negative thing abt the hotel service is, after we've done our check out at the hotel, we sat at the lobby & waited for our driver. When our driver arrives, there was nobody fr the hotel to bid us goodbye or to welcome us back again the next time. I think for a hotel like Twin Palm, service should be their upmost priority.

Surin beach looks deserted as it's the low season, not much crowd. Tried the food at Nok's seafood restaurant, it's a nice place & the food is fresh. Absolutely worth eating there

Nevertheless, it's still a great holiday with just the sun, pool & the beach! Collapse

“Great Hotel”

Review by eap07 from Leicester
May 25, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We came across Twinpalms by chance, with the intention of staying for 1 night. After being shown round, we booked for 3 nights. After staying for 2, we added a further 7 nights to our stay here.

There is nothing to fault at this hotel. The rooms are great (esp. the bathrooms), pool amazing (24hr access), breakfast brilliant, staff all friendly and helpful, also a very nice beach with big comfy sunlongers, magazines and snorking/flippers to hand.

Can't wait to go back......

“Very nice indeed”

Review by barolobrain from Shanghai
May 06, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed here for 5 nights on a recommendation from friends who visit Phuket frequently. We were not disappointed. We arrived from Bangkok around mid-day as there are no direct flights from Shanghai. Car pickup at the airport was easy. Check in was casual and outside with a drink in hand. Our room was being readied so we went to the pool area and had lunch. Things were going well and then we were taken up to our room, 88, ba shi ba which for Lunar New Year was fortuitous.

The room was one fl Read more...oor up and looking over the pool. A nice outside deck with couch and chair, a large area around the bed and then the back part of the unit was closets, bath and shower. The accomodation was very nice. Yes, there is construction on either side of the hotel. Not annoying for someone from Shanghai but one should note this fact. They don't work 24/7, more like 10/6.

The restaurant food and service was good although the number of tables outside was limited. That being said, the entire restaurant is essentially open air. Bookings are needed at dinner as it is quite popular and you can request an outside table. Do this early if you want to eat outside. The hotel also has a bar/restaurant down by the beach which is operated under a license to a third party. Nonetheless, there is no discernable difference in quality and service.

We were there during Spring Break (Chinese Lunar New Year) so it was packed with expatriates and their families. Again, if children from the age of infants up to teenagers bothers you, check the calendar and plan accordingly. Not just for this hotel but for any luxury spot in the Asian region. Local and expatriates will go to these places with families during Lunar New Year and to some degree Labor Holiday/Golden Week and October break.

The hotel can book day trips to the various islands around the area, including diving and snorkeling. This is a bit hit and miss as some of the reefs are completely dead from the increasing sea temperature and too much traffic. You may want to try booking by yourself, either on-line or upon arrival. The skill level of snorkelers on holiday in Phuket is probably the worst I've seen when compared to the Great Barrier reef, various locations around Hawaii and the Caribbean so just make a note. Not sure about the diving as we didn't do any on this trip.

I enjoyed the hotel and found the staff very helpful. I think next Xmas we will come to Phuket and stay here for a few days chilling out and then fly (you can go direct) to Singapore for some shopping before going back to Shanghai. Collapse

“Great Hotel”

Review by DCRUk from UK
Apr 18, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed at the Twin Palms for our honeymoon for 2 weeks in March and April. This is a fantastic hotel and we loved it.

We arrived after a very long flight to be picked up by the limo (which i had arranged by email). When we arrived at the hotel the staff wished us a happy honeymoon and my wife a happy birthday. Checking in was a breeze as we sat in the gorgeous entrance way sipping a delicoius fruit cocktail.

The rooms are exceptional, not massive, but a fair size. The beds are huge (the Read more...y are two doubles put together, but they have a thick mattress cover over them so you cant tell) and the bathrooms are very nice indeed with a wicked shower in its own garden. They had gave us a bottle of plonk and two bunches of flowers to celebrate our honeymoon/birthday.

The pool area is very nice and where we spent most of our time. There are quite a few loungers and day-beds, but if you have a favourite area we would advise going out before 9am to claim your spot. The beach area is very nice indeed. Complimentary fruit and Evian face sprays! The spot of beach that the club sits on is lovely and not at all busy.

The food was top notch. The restuarant and Beach club are a little on the expensive side for Thailand (wine especially) but the food is very good. The breakfasts were very good, loads of variety to suit all pallets.

Its the staff that make this hotel what it is. This was our first visit to Thailand so we dont have anything to measure against, but the service was outstanding. The room and the hotel were kept spotless, even after torrential downpours. Nothing was too much trouble and was always done with a smile. It really does put European service to shame.

We highly recommend this hotel and will be back! Collapse

“Fantastic place - loved it”

Review by Aussies123 from South Australia
Apr 10, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

After a hiccup staying at a sub-standard resort, we found the Twinpalms and felt we were in heaven. This is a fantastic resort, and
we can't wait to go back. Not noisy at all, even though construction was going on on one side. Food was beautiful. Staff were friendly and
accommodating. The pool is amazing. Catch is fantastic, as is the beach. Great amenaties, great lounges and service at the beach. Surin beach is lovely, not dirty at all where Catch is. The spa is divine, a little pricey but still good. The food and service is spot on. Great priced food and wonderful breakfasts. We stayed 6 nights and wish it was longer. Would definitely come back and recommend it to everyone.

“Construction still?”

Review by KJR42 from Singapore, Singapore
Mar 25, 2007
Rated 4 out of 5 -

we stayed in the hotel last year, for 10 nights....seems so long ago, and the constructtion work was going on then.

we were disappointed because whilst most days we were out doing things the two or three days by the pool was ruined by the noise.

to be fair after complaining the wives got a free massage and we got a free limo to our golf courses.
so credit where it is due, we felt the management handled it well.

now the positives - look no further for a beautiful hotel in Phuket. a superb pool, rooms and service.
we actually really enjoyed the restaurant and found the food very good. would have given 5/5 if not for the construction.
Spa was reasonably priced and good, wives paid 5 visits and tried most of the treatments.
An almost perfect stay was had by all 4 of us, pity about the men's standard of Golf!!

“Construction alert”

Review by wonni from Graz
Mar 21, 2007
Rated 4 out of 5 -

We have been to the Twinpalms the second time.

The hotel is great and the staff excellent. Rooms are lovely and bathrooms huge. Spa very nice and prices ok for what you get.

beach club is exciting, a band playing every evening. Food was delicious.

The negative part of our trip was that there is construciton going on on both sides of the hotel. So if you don't mind having noise from the construction at the pool the whole day just go for it because otherwise everything was perfect.

“Great hotel”

Review by chrisw957 from Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We also just got back from nine nights here...I thought it was perfect. The hotel is very nice, quiet, and not overly stuffy. I actually thought the price was very good for the room and included breakfast. They do add VAT+Service to everything, but I saw this at quite a few of the places we visited in Thailand. Prices for drinks and food are higher than you can find elsewhere, but it wasn't out of line.

I had called previously for an airport transfer, and when we arrived on the steamy Ph Read more...uket day, the driver was waiting with a nice air conditioned car with cool towels and ice cold bottles of water. Very nice welcome.

We had the basic room, which reminded me of something you might find in a "W" hotel. No bath, but the walk in shower was large with a rainshower and hand shower. A great bed with crisp white sheets, and plenty of white towels which didn't show any signs of wear and tear as you sometimes find in hotels.

Great breakfast every morning, although it got a little repetative by the end of the week.

The pool is beautiful...Only had trouble finding a good lounge on one afternoon. Even then it wasn't that we couldn't find one-- just that we couldn't find one in the sun we wanted. Service at the pool isn't obsessive, which I actually prefer. But, if you are the type who wants something right away, you might have to walk the 30 yards over to the bar.

The dinner restaurant (Oriental Spoon?) didn't excite me much. I would recommend walking one door north to the restaurant right next door. It was great and very resonable.

The on site spa seemed reasonably priced, and we enjoyed the services. My girlfriend really enjoyed her hour long pedicure which I think was more of a social session. Which I guess reflects on what I saw with the whole staff--they were very warm and personable. I enjoyed several traditional massages.

The beach club has the same feel as the rest of the hotel. It was a short walk, and you can sign for food and drinks just as if you were in the hotel. I recommend the hamburger if you start to feel homesick.

Things are very quite around the hotel in the evening. Even the beach club didn't have too much going on most evenings. I think Surin beach is just that way, although it may not be for long. An air conditioned taxi to Patong was 300 to 400 baht.

Overall, I was very happy with my choice, and would go back in a minute if it wasn't for the 22 hour flight! Collapse

“A lovely resort BUT......”

Review by snowferret from manchester
Mar 18, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We are just back from a 9 night stay at the Twin Palms in Phuket to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and whilst we had a great time and our experience of the TwinPalms was overall great, we just thought that it might be useful for others to hear of our overall opinion. It was our first time in Thailand having spent the first part of our holiday staying at the absolutely fantastic One & Only Royal Mirage in Dubai where we have stayed previously - we appreciate that once you have experie Read more...nced the Royal Mirage, other hotels will always have to work hard to measure up on quality and service!
We arrived at the TwinPalms late in the evening after a long day travelling with an early start - we had read previous reviews that we would be met with a very welcoming reception - a bangle of jasmine and cold towels. Unfortunately we felt as if we were not really expected and only received a slightly warm, green cocktail type drink - no flowers or towels.
We had booked a Deluxe Palm room to where we were led but were extremely disappointed to discover that this room was not only a little on the small side but did not have a bath! Now I appreciate that to many a bath may not be important but as a lady who likes a bath every evening come what may I must admit that we were quite aghast to find that a 5 star hotel room for which we paid a tidy price did not have such a basic amenity! The hotel's website does not make this clear either so if a bath is a prefernce for you then just be aware!
We raised our concerns with reception but were not getting anywhere due to language difficulties - all they could say was pay more and you can have a bath! Not really what we expected - all resolved however by our travel agent and we were moved to a lovely room - with a great bath!!
After this false start our stay at TwinPalms got better and we had a lovely time. The staff more or less w/o exception are lovely however service can be a little inconsistent. You should note as well that absolutely every service incurrs a 10% service charge and 7% tax so the price advertised is not really the price you end up paying! The bach bar, Catch is great with lovely comfy sofa's to relax into after a hard day sunbathing. The japanese singing duo, Sam and Keijo were really good and an added bonus for entertainment.
All in all the TwinPalms will deliver a relaxing, tranquil escape from busy lives and we would certainly return - it just isn't the Royal Mirage for service and standards - but then Thailand isn't Dubai and we wouldn't want it to be!! Collapse
Previous Page   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40...      Next Page