Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Luxury in Twin Palms Heaven”

Review by KGB_4 from Melbourne, Australia
Mar 12, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Well - where to start. On arrival, we were greeted with ice cold towels to freshen up from the heat, a sweet green juice in martini glass, and a small flower bracelet that smelled lovely. We were given a couch to sit on while they organised the check in and then sat with us to explain all the hotel details. There's a little tuk tuk to take you to and from the beach if you can't be bothered walking the 100 metres which we never used. The pool was always open and gorgeous, and the gym wa Read more...s the best I've seen in any hotel I've ever stayed at.
Our room was on the 2nd floor with an enclosed balcony. It was private, spacious and modern with everything you need (soaps, lotions, shampoo etc). And the air con. was totally adjustable to your liking. Bed was nice and comfy not too hard or soft - just right. The rooms are serviced twice a day so are always spotless.
Breakfast was nice with a good varitey of juices, bakery, fruit, cheese, cold meats, yogurt and condiments. I think they cooked bacon and eggs if you requested. Ours was included in the room charge but may be expensive if not. Like all resorts, anything from the mini bar or room service was way overpriced - but you never need them as there's a mini mart and heaps of restaurants right along the street.
The beach is across a road - not busy like other reviewers have commented - and then through a paddock. The beach club (Catch) is wonderful. It has clean toilets and showers to refresh after the beach, and nice sun lounges that are spread out. The regular sun lounges (non-twim palms ones) are packed in side by side. You can order food and drinks with a great selection of Thai and western food - and a good wine list!
At night we returned there for a glass of wine on the beach with the sea breeze. We got lucky and had fireworks one night (wedding) and the staff provided fire lanterns which you fill with hot air from the parafin candle then release into the night sky. Really beautiful. Nice thai touch (they are a thai tradition for good luck).
Surin beach is quieter than Kamala or Karon or Kata which we loved - no pushy shop owners and tailors which was a relief. There's heaps of choice for places to eat along the main street, or lots of beach huts with mainly Thai food that were along the beach. We ate there mostly as the food was delicious.
The staff were always friendly both at the beach club and the hotel. They employ non-thai staff as well as thai to assit with language difficulties for some Europian countries.
Overall, it was totally luxourious and we loved every minute. Collapse

“this is PARADISE, everything was perfect - the hotel, the people”

Review by xichic from DUBAI, UAE & HOUSTON, TEXAS
Mar 06, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We just returned from staying 3 nights at the Twinpalms, and this hotel is absolutely fabulous. I would recommend it to anyone going to PHuket for a relaxing time. This is not a party hotel by any means, it is quiet and relaxing and luxurious.

The pool is wonderful and is open 24 hours for your convenience. The beach is about a 5 minute walk across the street --- The beach club (Catch) is WONDERFUL. You can lay out all day on the beach (great hotel sunbeds and umbrellas provided) and then tak Read more...e a break at the beachclub (all connected at the beach) -- the atmosphere is very chill out, and the food is wonderful. The staff here is wonderful. The beach is awesome! BE CAREFUL of the waves, Surin Beach has very strong waves, but it is fun and the sand is pristine and clean.

The room is spacious and modern, yet cozy, loved it! Everything you need is there -- the beds are comfortable! The patio was wonderful because it gave you a chance to relax and be comfortable enough to lay out and read a book and drink a glass of wine. We had a 2nd floor room with a closed balcony so i had no problems with privacy.

The bathroom is great - comes with any toiletries you need including a wonderful seperate tub to relax in.

We also did an excursion to Phi Phi island through the hotel (Phuket adventures). This is a great excursion but warning that it takes up the whole day. But if you have time to spend, try it, it was great.

Cant think of anything wrong with this hotel. The room service was great, the staff was helpful, the wait staff was excellent.

Great place to chill out relax and be in paradise. Collapse

“Honeymooners Delight”

Review by jill1blue from sydney, australia
Mar 04, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

As soon as you walk in you are greeted with friendly staff. From the entry foyer you can see straight down the main part of the pool where there were many couples lazing about the pool. . We stayed in a lovely room with a king bad on the ground floor. It looked over the pool and across to the outside bar/eating area. I would recomend that you spend the extra and get a lagoon room as you walk off the verandah and into the lagoon that wraps around past other rooms into the main pool area.
The roo Read more...ms are a good size and the bathrooms are lovely, big bath, double sink etc..
There is a good sized wardrobe with a safe, out on the verandah there are comfortable lounges to relax.
The room service is reasonably priced and the buffet breakfast is satisfying.
There is a spa which is a bit expensive but a must do at least once as the oils smell beautiful and it just adds to a luxurious hoilday. You can get a massage down by the beach which i am sure is much cheaper.
The beach was closed in October as there were strong undercurrents, so if you want to spend time at the beach (which is across the road from the resort and through the park) you need to look at going when it is not Monsoonal. We had a great time in the pool.
You can arrange car hire and we organised a babysitter who we paid about $15 per hour she was great. Collapse

“Twinpalms Hotel”

Review by delphineandco from 07Vanosc / FRANCE
Feb 28, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We just came back from a fantastic trip to heaven : the Twin Palms Hotel in Phuket.
We have been travelling a lot but this hotel was just FANTASTIC!
The rooms, the swimming-pool, the lobby, the restaurant, the pool bar, the barbecue party : everything was just great!
The staff was so nice, so kind, devoted, always helpfull.
If you go over there you have to try the spa-wellness, their staff is just delightful and their massages unbelievable!!!
It was a trip for my 40th bithday and i will never forget it !
I want to be 40 every months!!!
Our 4 children just loved this trip too and instead of going back to school they wanted to go back to Thailand!
Anyway, we will come back to the Twin Palms again and i really hope this would be sooner than later!!!

“Has style, but lacks warmth and friendliness........Construction”

Review by MsDoc from Singapore
Feb 26, 2007
Rated 2 out of 5 -

This boutique hotel will suit those for whom style is important, however unfortunately for the hotel, what they have in the style factor, they lacked in warmth. Their staff were polite, but lacked the typical Thai friendliness and warmth that we had become accustomed to from our previous visits to the "land of smiles". The lady who checked us in appeared in a bad mood for some reason and walked off rather abruptly in the middle of the check-in process, fortunately her colleague was mor Read more...e hospitable and walked us to our room. This coldness was repeated again in their restuarant. The restaurant host appeared unwelcoming, even though it was only 9.00pm when we arrived. Their last order was apparently at 11.00pm. My husband and I were placed in a small corner table when we said that we did not have reservations for dinner. This would have been more than acceptable, accept for the fact that the restaurant was mostly empty, and stayed that way for the rest of the night. We enjoyed our meal at Oriental Spoon (their restaurant), however that was becaude we did not mind waiting over 30mins for our food, with no bread or nibbles to satisfy the hungar pangs. The breakfast served the next morning was average.

The beach was across a busy street and field, however, there was a small area reserved for hotel guests only, with a beach club where you can get cocktails and food. I would recommend the pool area over the beach any day. The Palm Spa was lovely and came highly recommended, their products were stocked in the hotel rooms and I liked them so much, I bought a supply to take home with me. Their staff were welcoming and professional throughout our time with them.

The rooms are definately the hotel's best assets. They are well designed, modern and chic. Unfortunately, ours backed onto some construction work, hence we were woken up by drilling at 8am in the morning. We were lucky that we only had to stay there for the night as we were booked into another hotel the next day. We were considering extending our stay as they did have rooms available, but we wanted peace and tranquility, not mayhem at 8am. We might consider staying at Twinpalms again, but only if the nearby construction has been completed. Collapse

“Relaxing place to stay”

Review by cestella from Sydney
Feb 22, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We just got back from staying 7 nights here at Twin palms hotel. We decided not to organise transport with the hotel as they were charging 600 baht and just got a cab from the airport. We ended up negotiation a better rate and paid only 400 baht.

When arrived at roughly around 10.30pm and the place looked awesome in the evening. Although the lobby was a little dark the ambiance got us excited for the room that awaited us. I must have been the last person to check in for the day cause they ins Read more...tantly knew who I was and greeted me by my name. We were given flora bracelets and a lime green cocktail of some sort while we organise our papers.

We were located in room 14 which was on the second floor and in my opinion worked out much better because we noticed you can see inside the rooms located on the ground floor.

Room service was great they replenished all the toiletries, sheets, towels, chocolate, ice and flower by the bed. Only complaint is it is done so late in the day roughly about 4pm so we try to be out of the room in the late afternoon.

We took advantage of the free beach area reserved for Twin palms guests. There are free beach towels and snorkels guests can utilise. During the day staff provided free water melons or pineapples which were refreshing and provided assistance if we required any food or beverage.

If you stay here during a Friday night do book yourself for the weekly bbq buffet which is held at the hotel’s beach front restaurant called the Catch. The selection is included bbq seafood and meats, cold seafood, kebab, salads and western food, definitely worth the 990 baht per person!

Breakfast meals were sufficient but had no variety and got boring after 3 days. Also seemed weird eating noddles for breakfast.

We also treated ourselves to the hotel’s spa. We got the Surin package for 4100 baht which included a sauna, body scrub and massage treatment. Even though we felt relaxed afterwards it wasn’t worth the amount we paid for it. During our stay my partner got 1 hour full body massages by Surin beach every day for 300 baht.

Also I’ve read in past reviews of this place of people leaving their towels on the deck chairs early in the morning. I think people were mistaken for staff just supplying towels on the deck chairs for guest. Agree deck chair numbers were limited but they were never all taken during the time we were there.

Staff were always polite but at times found it hard to communicate with them as they spoke little English. I think its should be important that people working in customer service roles be given adequate training and able to speak and understand English.

I did manage to do some form of exercise and utilise the gym once during our stay. Gym well equip with most cardio equipment, free weights and weighted equipment. There is bottled water and towels available as well as a staff or personal trainer to assist guest.

I was impressed by the detail Twinpalms had put into the hotel. Everything had their logo on it, hotel architecture was impressive and well designed and there was ample grounds staff to maintain the appearance of the hotel.

Location of Twinpalms is great cause its close to the beach – about a 100m walk, lots of restaurants to choose from and only 20 minutes taxi ride from Potong.

Overall I believe this hotel is great for couples who prefer privacy and doing nothing but eating and relaxing. Definitely a little pricey for a hotel that has limited things to see and do. Collapse

“Honeymoon bliss”

Review by Melb-traveller-27 from Melbourne, Australia
Feb 10, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed at Twinpalms for 5 nights at the start of our honeymoon. Everything about the place was fantastic, from the professional service to the spacious rooms to the buffet breakfast and we had a really memorable, relaxing stay here. There were lots of little touches that made the place special - too many to mention and better to actually experience than write about. Highly recommended as a place for that 'special' getaway.

“No privacy”

Review by Starvoyager from Munich
Feb 07, 2007
Rated 3 out of 5 -

We booked the hotel becuase of the positive reviews on this platform for 16 nights.
The hotel is located next to a busy road, the rooms all with view to the pool have open balconies/terraces and offer no privacy at all. Everybody walking to his room has an unobstructed view into your room up to the bathroom unless you keep the curtains closed when you are in. In the evening the whole hotelcomplex is very dark and you constantly fear that you might step and fall in one of the lotusbassins. Light Read more...ning outside the rooms is very poor.
At check-in one of the first questions was, "at what time do you leave on the day of departure ...". Remember we booked 16 nights!
The restaurant, where also breakfast is served, has tiny tables and is not inviting. Breakfast is arranged around a group of elevated sofas , where you are also supposed to sit and eat when the few tables are occupied.
The beach is about 200 meters away after crossing the busy road a dirty meadow with dog [--] and unaccesible when it rains. The beach itself is very crowded, 3-4 rows of umbrelas and sunbeds. But have to admit Twinpalms has a small private beach with quite nice equipment. (At that time the proposed beachrestaurant was still under construction).
When we informed them after two days that we will leave they did not even ask us why !
Staff in general was Ok but did not show traditional Thai hospitality at anytime.
We felt more to be in an Ikea showcase where the owner only interest is to watch over the stylishnes without regard to guest need. The other 14 nights we spent a the Dusit Laguna which is maybe old and has small rooms but has a superb location on along white beach, a beautiful tropical garden and very friendly staff. Collapse

“Sensational boutique resort”

Review by gadler from Melbourne
Feb 04, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

A short and simple summary of our stay:

•hotel – stylish, contemporary but warm and welcoming. Superb pool and private beach across the road;
•staff - friendly and attentive but not annoying;
•food – only ate the breakfasts and lunches at the hotel – both very good, especially the breakfasts.
•rooms – beautiful, romantic and well equipped. Nicely laid out with massive, beautifully designed bathrooms
•Perfect for a honeymoon or guaranteed romantic getaway.

“twin palms great”

Review by chrissy2 from manchester
Feb 01, 2007
Rated 5 out of 5 -

expensive but delghtful boutique hotel,an oasis of taste and elegance great service and rooms ,good food and graet pool
Previous Page   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40...      Next Page