Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Chic Resort!”

Review by tiger_sist from Bangkok
Sep 28, 2006
Rated 4 out of 5 -

I stayed at twinpalms on their low season - hence my expectation wasn't so high (with weather and pool renovation etc.) regardless of the fabulous reviews I read here. I went with girlfriends so we booked 3 rooms - I was lucky to be able to stay in Grand Deluxe Lagoon room as initially it was fully booked.
The overall design and layout of the Twinpalms was superb - modern with simplistic concept. I very much like the spacious bathroom, the comfy bed and of course, the pool access facility. Read more...

However, I wasn't particularly impressed with choices of material they provided in a room as the quality seem somewhat below average. In my opinion, the standard of tiles and wooden floor could have been much more superior for a "small luxury hotel". I could see the wooden floor start to "age" by changing colour and the pool access metal door began to rust already.

Nevertheless, I was very pleased with the spa package deal! The spa receptionist was very flexible and accommodating so we could mix and match any treatment we wanted - unlike other spas we have been to. In the end, I ended up paying 2600 Baht for 2 of my favourite treatments - the best deal ever!

There are many fantastic resorts in the world, so I might not go back to Twinpalms again .. but if anyone hasnt been, it's worth a stay! Collapse

“Loved the Twinpalms and will be back”

Review by SpaNut from Singapore
Sep 23, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Twinpalms Phuket hotel is beautifully decorated in a comtemporary style with superb ambience and spectacular pool. It's also situated at cosy and serene Surin beach, which is nice as it's not as commercialised as Patong beach.

The room was very modern, clean and with ultra comfortable bed and pillows. I loved the modern bathrooms, which had 2 types of showers that you can choose from, normal or overhead ones.

Unfortunately I was assigned a room in a building near the construction Read more... site next door, which was a bit noisy as the construction went on early in the morning till late at night. We requested for a change in rooms to somewhere less noisy, but they were full for the day. They promised to upgrade us the next day to a room further away from the construction noise the next day. The next day, we were upgraded to another room further away from the construction and this is pure bliss. This was PERFECT and the room had this lovely balcony with pool access, where you can lounge the afternoon away with a nice book.

You must try out the Sunday brunch at Oriental Spoon restaurant. The buffet spread was really fantastic and great value for money, and not to be missed. The seafood spread was great with fresh shrimps, blue crabs and freshly shucked oysters, plus a bottle of complimentary white wine to savour it with. Dessert was great with creme brulee (freshly torched!), mango sticky rice, and there was even a chocolate fountain!!

For spa lovers, you must definitely checkout the palm spa. I tried the package which included a sea salt scrub, thai herbal massage and white clay mud wrap. This was really good but you need to book in advance as it's very popular.

Overall, the experience in TwinPalms Phuket is one of the BEST beach resorts that I've been to in Thailand. I will definitely be back! Collapse

“Great Hotel!”

Review by raeyo from antwerp
Sep 19, 2006
Rated 4 out of 5 -

We stayed at twinpalms for about 16 days and I must say, we where not bored a minute! What we liked about this hotel was the good service, the kindness of the employees, big rooms, good food, great spa, the large swimmingpool and a great fitness-room (!).

2 min-points:
• Altough the hotel says there are no kids allowed, the last weekend there where 5 kids crying, making a lot of noice and that disturbed the quiteness of the hotel for 2 days... Travellers with childeren, please show some Read more... respect to travellers who just want to relax and enjoying the quiteness around the hotel !
• If you buy yourself a drink at the swimmingpoool it's rather expensive (430 bath or 11 € for only 2 orange-juices!)

Outside the hotel we rented a bike for about 250 bath/day and saw the whole island with this thing. We always ate outside the hotel. The first week most of the time we went to the beach but the last few days ... - and here's a big tip - for about 2 km to the north of the hotel there is a small restaurant called 'KAEN KOON'. First class food for not much money and served by the friendely and beautiful owner... She just opened her business 1 month ago.

Conclusion hotel:
Without the presence of childeren you have the time of your life overthere! Collapse

“Simply Spectacular”

Review by hotchr from Vancouver, BC
Sep 16, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Can’t begin to describe how right-on all the reviews are about this little slice of paradise. I exhausted the Internet trying to find the perfect place in Phuket for hours, and after contemplating several resorts, settled with Twin Palms. Probably the highlight of my entire Asia holiday.

Here you really do get the best buy. Immaculately landscaped, cool refreshing drinks in Martini glasses, and mini-lei’s for your wrist upon check in. This is the first impression upon driving up. Read more...Next, we were led by the hand around every amenity and feature the resort had to offer. From the business center, to the restaurant, to the pool, and finally to our room. Every detail was covered, and we were left to enjoy it all.

I read the owners were Swedish and the management was Swiss, and it shows in every single detail. Twin Palms knows a great deal about subtle branding, and their logo is discreetly on everything. I even overheard one of the managers giving the staff an afternoon briefing in the open-air “lobby” emphasizing dedicated customer service is expected no matter what.

The room was simply incredible, a Grand Deluxe Palm with pool access. You control all the rooms electrical features (lights, air con, indoor and outdoor fan, etc) from a little control panel by the bed. I can’t emphasize enough how convenient this made everything. For me this was important, especially so as I am a stickler for lighting. To me, you should only have warm light…coming from halogen or incandescent bulbs. NEVER, ever should there be fluorescent bulbs ANYWHERE. Twin Palms knows this. They go one step further integrating dimmer switches on EVERY single light bulb in the room, which most are all micro-halogen, recessed lights…very sleek, sophisticated touch.

Breakfast here was a show-stopper, pretty much filling us for the entire day. You have a huge buffet selection as well as grilled to order meals. You can dine either in the open air restaurant, or take it outside to the deck overlooking the ocean from the street.

As for the beach, it’s only a short walk along a paved walkway across the street, maybe 3 minutes or so. Upon arrival you’ll see a plethora of hand-written signs welcoming you to “Surin Beach”. Twin Palms area is just off to the right, you’ll see a table (again adorned with the Twin Palms logo and sign) with green towels and attendants ready to set you up a place by the pool. Robert is a very welcoming ex-pat who works this area and is very accommodating getting you the perfect place in or out of the sun. He did become a little ruffled when I walked down the beach a ways to get coconuts that were only 20 baht each instead of the 40 baht he was charging, but oh well. I also took in two massages on the beach, and for 300-400 baht for an hour they were a steal. Plus you’re really supporting the locals and that was important to me. Of course you’ll still be approached by them selling everything from ice cream, to board games, to clothes, and other knick-knacks. They’ll always approach you unless you’re asleep, reading a book, or on the beach itself. Again very minor thing but it would’ve been nice to know going in.

As for drinks, snacks, alcohol…best deals are had at the mini-market right outside the Twin Palms resort.

If you want a little shopping or eating out during your stay, hotel luxury cars were worth the trip to Patong at 500 baht. They are 100 baht more than the taxis down the road but worth it due to comfort and the driver arranging an exact pick up time and place with you. That was very reassuring because the night markets at Patong (about 20 minutes away from Surin Beach) are wild and crazy and it’s nice to see a familiar face from your resort waiting at the exact place and time, out of the car on the sidewalk, ready to take your purchases and whisk you away back to the resort from Heaven.

I will definitely be back next year, this time will plan a much longer stay. To sum it up from a frequent guest from Singapore I bumped into “I’ve been here at least a dozen times, this place is like a second home to me.” And to me too. Collapse

“Serene Bliss”

Review by urbanshopper from Los Angeles, CA
Aug 27, 2006
Rated 4 out of 5 -

This beautifully designed and peaceful resort is not to be missed. Although a small property with only 76 rooms and 1 resteraunt, I never for a moment felt the facilities to be inadequate. After reading through several Tripadvisor reviews, I decided to try the Twinpalms Resort for myself to see what all the fuss was about...and I must say the positive reviews were by no means exaggerated!

I booked transfer services to and from the airport and was not disappointed. It's true, a taxi costs Read more... much less, but for roughly $30 something US dollars (one-way), you avoid the hassle of trying to discern honest cabbies from scammers/mafia members and haggling prices. Twinpalm vehicles are painted solid black with their logo monogrammed in silver. They are fairly new, air-conditioned, and you receive chilled bottled water and a cold towel to refresh yourself during the 30-minute ride to the hotel.

Check-in was smooth and I was given juice and a jasmine flower bracelet upon arrival. Another Tripadvisor forum member posted a suggestion to join "the small luxury hotels of the world" (it's free) in order to receive a free room upgrade upon arrival. I took the advice and got the upgrade to a grand deluxe palm room!

The room of course was beautiful and modern. The beds weren't too hard as some have complained about the mattresses in Asia. Amenities were plentiful: shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrushes, toothpaste, sewing kits, cotton buds, bar soap, lotion, shower caps and sanitary bags. Two umbrellas, bathrobes, and sandals were provided in the closet.

The bathroom was absolutely fantastic. I enjoyed a relaxing bath in the oversized bath tub every evening after an exhausting day of sightseeing. The shower was also very nice with two options for showering- handheld fountain or rain style with the showerhead directly above (Just one small complaint...one must shower very carefully or else the bathroom will flood as there is no shower door, only a glass partition).

Breakfast was buffet style at the Oriental Spoon, the only restaurant in the hotel. I thought the selection a little meagre in comparison to other hotels in Thailand, but otherwise satisfying. I ate dinner there every night and thought the food was fine, with enough variety to last me at least a week or two (I only stayed 4 days). Prices were quite reasonable, especially in comparison with western standards.

Service was also excellent. It's true there isn't a concierge, which they really should add. All questions must be directed to the receptionists. On the whole everyone from the bell hop to the waiters in the restaurant were pretty accomodating.

In case anyone's wondering about the location, the beach really is just a few steps away, and it's much cleaner and nicer than the one in Patong. The hotel itself is a bit secluded, but walk 10-15 minutes down the road and you'll find a 7 Eleven and other small shops and restaurants. There's also a small convenience shop a bit closer by as well, if you need water, soda, etc. immediately. The taxi stand is down the road (less than a 5 minute walk) with a going rate of 400 Baht to Patong (one-way) or 300 Baht by tuk-tuk. In my opinion, once you see the crowded, noisy and polluted streets of Patong, you'll be so glad you booked with the Twinpalms and can escape all that nonsense at the end of the day!

I can heartily join the rest of the happy Tripadvisor members in recommending this small hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. Bottom line: stay here, shop and sight-see elsewhere. Collapse

“Tranquility and Luxury”

Review by JazziR from Melbourne, Australia
Aug 20, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We visited Phuket July 25th for 5 nights. My husband and I never go on poolside relaxation holidays and this was our first "trial". Twinpalms definitely is pure tranquility because of its location at Surin beach (a good 15min tuk tuk drive away from Patong) so it is very quiet and the resort itself is very modern. The resort is great, the pool is big, the rooms are modern, the staff are professional and very friendly and the food is outstanding without the hefty price tag. I really can Read more...'t fault this hotel, I think that if it was located on the beach it would be paradise however it is only a 200m walk so it's fine.
We are from Melbourne, Australia and this resort is very chic and very well targeted to couples who are 30 something. Some couples had children with them which didn't worry us at all but it's not a family holiday resort ie, no kids club/activities. We booked our day activities from the hotel and most if not all tours do hotel pick up. If you're in to cooking I tried Pum's cooking school in Patong which was great.
This hotel isn't in the league of the Chedi - with regard to the view of the sea - however if you want a modern, upmarket hotel with great food it's a great choice. The Chedi is a short walk up the road from Twinpalms and we highly recommend visiting for a drink to watch the sunset and also visiting the beach during the day. It's magical! Collapse

“The Best Hotel in Phuket!!!”

Review by Spa-WorldUSA from New York
Aug 19, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

This place set's the bar for every hotel in phuket. From the fantastic service, to the wonderful spa, to the extremely comfortable rooms(including the best bath products we've ever found in a hotel), to the world class sunday brunch, you soon forget that Twin Palms has no sea view. We have already booked our room for next summer.

“Great Hotel - Misses Out On Some Important Details”

Review by Professional-Nomad from Anastasia Island
Aug 19, 2006
Rated 4 out of 5 -

My daughter and I just spent a few days at the Swedish-owned, Twinpalms Resort and for the most part, we were very pleased.

It is a beautiful, minimalist-design hotel with well planned rooms and architecture.

It is certainly not a hotel for families with small kids as there are few facilities for children and the adult clientele generally comes to relax and chill out without being bothered by kiddie noise.

If you are planning on visiting in the near future, make absolutely certain that Read more...you are not accommodated in the wing that backs on to the major construction going on at the property next door. The noise is horrendous and continues late into the evening.

We insisted on being moved and they tried accommodating us in another room in the same wing, which was no better.

When staff told us they were full, we politely advised them that we would find somewhere else to stay and they "suddenly" found an empty upgraded room. We had booked through Small Luxury Hotels Of The World - (well worth joining this free service) - and they proudly display their endorsement in the lobby. A staff member mistakenly told us that they try not to accommodate guests in that wing and only do so when the hotel is full. These rooms should be closed down until the construction is finished.

The hotel desperately needs a professional concierge as the receptionists - while friendly and responsive - are generally clueless when asked the usual questions by guests.

The hotel restaurant is unexceptional and one surprising disappointment was the food quality at breakfast. The "hot" buffet was constantly cold and the selection was not always of the highest quality - especially the fresh fruit - which is unacceptable in Thailand. We have experienced far superior breakfasts in hotels of this calibre in Thailand. Closer supervision to detail is needed in the dining room. Collapse

“What a great experience...”

Review by Akor from Hong Kong
Aug 13, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

My boyfriend and I decided to stay at Twinpalms after some research on Tripadvisor. We booked through Wotif website and since it was monsoon season we got a very good deal - stay min 3 nights plus free roundtrip airport transfers and 1 hour spa treatment each person. We stayed a total of 7 nights, the resort was absolute luxury and upon arrival received a complimentary room upgrade to the Grand Deluxe rooms for the entire stay.

This was our first time in Phuket and felt lucky we did not choos Read more...e to stay on a more crowded beach. There was restaurants nearby either side of the resort. Two good places were Carmen and Capri (both walking distance). The beach was really clean and very much a secluded beach. However, the beach umbrellas looked very worn and could do with some new ones.

The only hassle was getting to places around Phuket cheaply. There were a few tuk tuks up the road but prices were not much different to taxis or hotel cars. To Patong Beach was 400 baht one way and hotel do not offer shuttle bus services. If this is a problem for you then I'd suggest staying at one of the Laguna resorts which has cheap shuttle services to Phuket Town and free transport within the Laguna district.

Next time we will also travel during monsoon season as the weather was suprisingly fine and no rain at all except the first day. Overall, a wonderful stay! Collapse

“Best pool in the World”

Review by Sparkly*Euro*Peep from London
Jul 24, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

This hotel is simply wonderful from start to finish.

The main entrance is breathtaking and you are greeted with fresh guava juice upon check-in.

The rooms are high quality - white, clean, crisp and fresh. The bathrooms are huge and the backdrop (obviously separated by glass) is actually your own little mini-jungle! You really do feel like you are in the middle of nature.

The swimming pool is the best feature of this hotel - huge, clean, warm, fun.

The spa is great too although I woul Read more...dn't say this is THE most luxurious spa in the world, it is certainly functional, clean and good quality.

The gym is well equipped and worth using if you want to work out.
The restuarant is great to have a meal or 2 in, but if you are here for a long period of time, ie greater than 3 days, I thoroughly advise to check out some other eating places on the island.

The restaurant is a nice place to hang out in after hours as the resort is quiet and not a lot going on around it.

All in all, this is a great hotel in which to recharge the batteries and not lift a finger. It is luxury at truly affordable prices. Collapse
Previous Page   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40...      Next Page