Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Almost 5 star”

Review by gwengineer from Port Charlotte, Florida
Jun 25, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed at a very awkward time as they were having some major pool deck and unit construction going on. The hotel is 100 meters from the beach across a municipal park.
It is in the same area as the ultra-luxurious Amanpuri Hotel. Surin Beach is ideal if you want to be close to everything but be out of the crush of Putong Beach or Kata Beach.
Tsunami damage was minimal here but very evident at spotty locations around the island.
Rooms are large (we stayed in a deluxe lagoon room) and ours ha Read more...d direct steps into
one of the two pools. The staff is super friendly and helpful. There is a taxi stand in front of the hotel as well as hotel cars to get around. Rental cars on the island are about $30 per day. The food at the hotel is the best on the island. Maybe the best that I have ever had in a hotel. Bartender can make a great martini or mojito and if you travel much in Asia you know what a plus that is. Owner is Swedish and management is Swiss so you know it is going to be right.
ALMOST 5 star.....sadly the only disturbing thing is the TwinPalms advertises that children are discouraged but in fact, we constantly had very young children in the pool, in the restaurant and in the spa. Try a great massage with some child screaming down the hall.
When questioned, I was told a private party and local residents, etc. If they had a policy to exclude very young children, they would get that last star from me anyway! Collapse

“Highly recommended!”

Review by lindygirl from San Francisco, CA
Jun 14, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

we booked a room for 4 nights at the twin palms in march 2006 after we saw pictures of the pool on phuket[-]. we weren't sure what to expect (is it too good to be true?!) but after reading reviews on trip advisor we decided to go for it. we loved the twin palms!!

we arranged for a private car to take us to the hotel and were met by their driver at phuket airport. the drive was about 20 minutes and we were greeted in the beautiful lobby by the hotel staff. we upgraded our basic room to on Read more...e with a tub and pool access - i think it came out to less than US$40 a night. it was a great call - again, thanks to reviews on trip advisor.

we took full advantage of the spa (massages and facials), 24-hour internet access, breakfast (included when we upgraded the room), gym, and pool. the decor of the hotel was modern and beautiful... rich dark wood and very clean lines.

the hotel is within walking distance to the beach - we dined on the beach almost every night. there's also a section of the beach reserved for twin palms guests. just show your card to pick up towels and use any available beach chairs.

if you need a taxi just walk to the taxi stand just outside the lobby. you'll probably save some money by doing that because i think the hotel charges you a little more for the "service."

the only complaint i have: we brought a brochure for canoe adventures to the front desk to have them book the excursion for us. they made the reservation and we charged it to the room but did not find out that they booked us on an entirely different excursion until we were on a boat heading out! the hotel booked us on a phi phi island tour but we wanted to explore caves! it was puzzling - we showed them a brochure for cave exploration and told them we wanted to go on that excursion but they booked us on a phi phi island tour instead. when we mentioned this to the front desk staff after we returned they didn't offer any compensation for their mistake. i was a bit disappointed by this. we really wanted to see the caves but would not have had time because we were heading out the next day. Collapse

“look no further!”

Review by tronicmusic from Barcelona, Spain
Apr 27, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

joined small luxury hotels of the world (its free, and very useful for uprgades), booked a grand deluxe room. (62sqm) got an upgrade to a 102sqm suite!

the hotel is very new. about one year. very contemporary hip design with lots of dark wood in the rooms. love it. suite has plasma tv etc., normal room also have dvd players etc.
service is very good and staff speaks much better english than i expected.

restaurant is also surprisngly good.

do not eat at weaves next door. had a very disspointing meal there. lovely interior design...completely overcooked tuna.

i have some friends that regularly stay at the amanpuri. i am now telling all of them to get a suite here instead. much more bang for the buck while still not compromising on luxury and style.

anyways, stop looking elsewhere and book this hotel for your holiday. the smaller room (which are still very large) are also very nice.

“Lovely hotel”

Review by pollydoodle from Perth, Australia
Apr 07, 2006
Rated 4 out of 5 -

We have just stayed 6 nights at Twin Palms having booked on the internet. Everything you have read in previous reviews is true and the photo's are very realistic. Bad points, not many but the only complimentary tea and coffee provided is a daily ground coffee sachet and four earl grey tea bags and no milk. We bought milk and tea bags at a small shop near the hotel but it would have been nice had it been provided. Pool side menu very limited and at times it took the staff a little too long t Read more...o clear away cups etc around the pool. Food in the oriental spoon restaurant was good but not exceptional.

Avoid the restaurant next door ( weaves ) , food very over priced, bland and I found a live maggot in my cheeze!
Dont expect any request for a late check out to be succesful, I e-mailed a request 4 weeks prior to our visit and asked if it was not ok to let me kmow and I would book another night. We had a 8pm flight. I didn'thear from them so thought it was ok but had to check out bang on 12 noon.
Watch the europeans grabbing pool side beds early in the a.m ( pre 6am ) it is very funny. There are usually plenty of beds anyway.
We really liked this hotel, the staff are lovely and generally very helpful. Room are large and very comfortable, we were in a grand lagoon room with direct access to the pool, lovely bathroom , big bed.It's not suitable for children, all there is for them to do is splash in the pool and annoy adults who just want some peace. Collapse

“Pure paradise!”

Review by A TripAdvisor Member from London, UK
Mar 27, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed at the Twin Palms resort for 7 nights in February. We arranged for a airport pick before our arrival and we were met by their limousine driver upon arrival at Phuket airport with a complimentary drink and a refreshing towel. The journey took about 20 minutes and upon arrival at the hotel we had non alcoholic cocktails and flower bracelets waiting for us.

When you first approach a hotel you booked online, are usually apprehensive as you hope that it's as good as you expected it Read more...to be. Sometimes the photos and reviews can be misleading. Not this time. The hotel was simply exceptional and it took our breath away. Arriving in the evening was fantastic as the lights by the pool really illuminated the design and beauty of the place.

We had an upgrade to one of the superior rooms with a balcony. If you book directly and stay for more than 6 nights, you get the upgrade for free. The bathroom was something out of a design magazine and the bedroom comfortable enough to feel like home after a few nights.

The pool was very relaxing but I would recommend securing a bed next to the pool fairly early on during the day. We normally just dropped a few towels before breakfast. We had lunch and cocktails next to the pool on a few occasions and the service was exceptional. There were only a few kids while we were there but we would highly stress that this is not a hotel for kids. They would only irritate other visitors and would be bored by the lack of children's activities. In regards to breakfast, it is quite pricey but worth it. I would recommend ordering room service as it's 1) more comfortable and 2) you only pay what you order for.

The spa is worth visiting. We both had a special which included a body wrap and a full body Swedish massage. It was the best spa we visited whilst in Phuket and lives up to to it's reputation.

The restaurant is also gaining a reputation in the area and worth at least one visit, however there are better and less expensive options in the vicinity. I would recommend Silk which is only 5 minutes away as well as the restaurant right next door to the Twin Palms (the name now escapes me).

We have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world and during our stay, we were baffled as to what the Twin Palms could do to upgrade to a 5 star rating. This is the perfect hotel for couples or those wishing to escape from the commercialised side of Phuket for a few days. Just writing this review makes us want to return... We stayed at the Twin Palms resort for 7 nights in February. We arranged for a airport pick before our arrival and we were met by their limousine driver upon arrival at Phuket airport with a complimentary drink and a refreshing towel. The journey took about 20 minutes and upon arrival at the hotel we had non alcoholic cocktails and flower bracelets waiting for us.

When you first approach a hotel you booked online, are usually apprehensive as you hope that it's as good as you expected it to be. Sometimes the photos and reviews can be misleading. Not this time. The hotel was simply exceptional and it took our breath away. Arriving in the evening was fantastic as the lights by the pool really illuminated the design and beauty of the place.

We had an upgrade to one of the superior rooms with a balcony. If you book directly and stay for more than 6 nights, you get the upgrade for free. The bathroom was something out of a design magazine and the bedroom comfortable enough to feel like home after a few nights.

The pool was very relaxing but I would recommend securing a bed next to the pool fairly early on during the day. We normally just dropped a few towels before breakfast. We had lunch and cocktails next to the pool on a few occasions and the service was exceptional. There were only a few kids while we were there but we would highly stress that this is not a hotel for kids. They would only irritate other visitors and would be bored by the lack of children's activities. In regards to breakfast, it is quite pricey but worth it. I would recommend ordering room service as it's 1) more comfortable and 2) you only pay what you order for.

The spa is worth visiting. We both had a special which included a body wrap and a full body Swedish massage. It was the best spa we visited whilst in Phuket and lives up to to it's reputation.

The restaurant is also gaining a reputation in the area and worth at least one visit, however there are better and less expensive options in the vicinity. I would recommend Silk which is only 5 minutes away as well as the restaurant right next door to the Twin Palms (the name now escapes me).

We have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world and during our stay, we were baffled as to what the Twin Palms could do to upgrade to a 5 star rating. This is the perfect hotel for couples or those wishing to escape from the commercialised side of Phuket for a few days. Just writing this review makes us want to return... Collapse

“Beautiful hotel in Surin Beach Area”

Review by jbontrag from United States
Mar 11, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Twin Palms hotel in Phuket. It is a breath-takingly beautiful hotel in Surin Beach near the Amanpuri. The grounds are lovely, the pool is stunning and the restaurant (The Oriental Spoon) is delicious.

Service at the hotel was wonderful. The staff are happy to drive you up to Bang Tao beach or the Amanpuri at no charge and are extremely friendly otherwise.

The hotel lies across the street from the beach as do all of the hotels in this section of Phuket and requires about a 150 meter walk -- very easy. The beach is really nice and there are lots of places to eat.

We enjoyed a deluxe suite that overlooked the pool. The balcony was great and very relaxing. The bath was spectacular with a separate tub and shower. Very modern design with clean lines. Highly recommend!

“Paradise!”

Review by A TripAdvisor Member from Toronto, ON
Mar 04, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

What a wonderful hotel! It is in the perfect location on Phuket and the setting is perfect. The staff are great, the rooms are wonderful (esp. GrandPalms) and the prices are more than reasonable. Highly recommend!

“One of the best in Phuket”

Review by A TripAdvisor Member from Geneva, Switzerland
Feb 15, 2006
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Twinpalms is an excellent value in Phuket. Rooms are modern and well equiped (upgrade to a Grand Palm is worth the price), resort is calm, service is friendly and efficient, food is excellent and very reasonabely priced. The only negative aspect could be that there is no direct access to the beach but its only a 2 min walk, so no big deal. I highly recomend this hotel especially compared to others even at higher prices (e.g. Banyan Tree or Le Meridien yacht club) that may appear to be sterile.

“Parfait”

Review by A TripAdvisor Member from grasse
Feb 02, 2006
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Si vous aimez un endroit moderne , mais très confortable , c'est l'hôtel parfait.
Construit il a y peu de temps, toujours impeccable y séjourner es très agréable. Le propriétaire suédois et le staff suisse on fait de cet endroit une oasis de confort et bien-être.
Le restaurant est presque parfait (manque un bon pâtissier pour dire que ça l'est )
Seul bémol : la situation . Certes la plage est tout prés, mais il y a une route a traverser et je trouve qu’on manque un peu d'espace. Parler d'un jardin est trop exagère . J'imagine que même hôtel dans un véritable
parc serait un paradis.

“Best Spa Hotel with superb beachclub!”

Review by Chiipie from Stockholm
Jan 08, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

TwinPalms in Surin Beach are a perfect hotel for people with high preferences!

The hotels location are very close to the beach where they have a very trendy and soft beachclub, good food and artist at the nights!

Its quite high prices on high season but not expensive! Service are very good with nice smiling staff and good organisation.

The restuarant Oriental Spoon at the hotel are fantastic, very good thaifood and very good western food. You must try the Sunday brunch at the "Spoon".

Rooms are clean and nice with a trendy asian touch, wiht LCD TV of course!

We went to the SPA everyday and to the nice fitnessroom!

However Very nice hotel with good value and good harmony!
Previous Page   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40...      Next Page