Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Heavenly Twin Palms”

Review by Jo_au from Sydney, Australia
Jan 05, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Absoutely stunning resort, with character (not sterile as some resorts can be). Beautiful rooms, out of this world swimming pool and amenities, friendly, helpful staff, all within very close proximity to the beach. The Day Spa is definitely a highlight, a real oasis for those who love massages and treatments. This place even *smells* nice! Will definitely be visiting again in 2006.

“Best Hotel Ever.....”

Review by xev's from lleida
Dec 17, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I have just returned from thailand and we have stayed in twin palms for 6 nights.

I have to say that at the beginig I wasn't really sure about taking this hotel, but i read the reviews here in trip advisor and I took it.

I was so impressed when I get there, the hotel is just amizing, I have been many times in thailand and this is the best hotel ever been.

the service is very good, and the rooms are so luxuryous, you feel like royalty.

I really recomend this hotel to everyone and i really recommend the restaurant oriental spoon.

“Fantastic Modern Hotel”

Review by A TripAdvisor Member from Singapore
Dec 12, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed here for 3 nights from 3rd to 6th Dec 2005 and loved every minute of it. We got a pretty good rate for the Palm Grand Deluxe Room from (-) at US$135 per night, including breakfast for two. We chose this room over the slightly cheaper (about US$20 cheaper per night)Deluxe Room because of the promise of a bath tub, and was not disappointed.

I love the big bathroom - which is almost as big as the size of the bedroom itself. The bathroom is very well designed : it has a wet area with ma Read more...rble flooring and this area comprises a beautiful bathtub which is flanked by a standalone shower stall and a separate space for the toilet/WC. The whole area is surrounded by glass windows/panels from floor to ceiling and overlooks into the greenery. The adjoining dry area has wood/timber flooring and this comprises a wardrobe on the one side, and two wash basins on the other side. This area is spacious enough to accommodate a good size ottoman that is placed right between the wardrobe and the washbasins for one to relax on.

The bed is very comfortable and the duvet feels plush, and has a balcony/terrace (with a day-bed and an armchair) which overlooks the swimming pool. The room has a DVD player and there is a library from which you can borrow DVDs to watch at your leisure. The terrace and the bedroom each has a ceiling fan such that you can choose not to use the AC if it you so prefer. The bedside has a control panel that controls everything electrical in the room at your convenience.

During our stay there, we could take discreet glances into the various rooms/units that surround the swimming pool. My conclusion is as follows :

(a) the Deluxe room - which only has a shower and no bathtub is the "entry level" room. The space is smaller, and the terrace is slightly more cramped. Even then, it is still very luxurious.
(b) for about US$20 more per night, I think it is worth it to splurge on the Grand Deluxe room for the bigger space as described in the review above, and for the bathtub. The Palm Grand Deluxe room is on the second floor, and therefore has a great view over the entire resort compound and is more private than the lower unit which has direct access to the pool. You pay slightly more to stay in the Lagoon Grand Deluxe room because of its direct access to the pool from your room, but I think it is less private because I know I can certainly view parts of its bathroom from the unit above. By all means upgrade to the suites if money is not an issue - I am sure they will be outstanding.

While we encountered generally very good service throughout the hotel, I think the service at the reception area can be improved upon. It would seem that the staff had very few encounters with guests staying at the hotel for special occasions. We stayed here as my friend was celebrating his 40th birthday, and when I enquired what special arrangements can be made to mark the special occasion, I drew a blank look from the reception staff. They could not offer a cake because they do not bake on-site. They were not able to offer a free upgrade to another room even for one night. In the end, my friend received a bouquet of flowers (which he ended up giving the bouquet to a staff at the spa as she was very helpful instead of carrying the bouquet home) and a small dish of chocolate truffles.

This is definitely NOT a place for kids. The kids will be bored, and frankly, brats screaming at the top of their voices will undoubtedly get unwelcome stares from the guests who have come to this haven to relax. Highly recommended, and definitely will return. Collapse

““Great place to chill””

Review by kwok from singapore
Oct 15, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Spent three days at the hotel. Had a good deal from wotif with a free 1h spa and seafood platter thrown in.

It was pleasant from the first moment. Arrived early but managed to get a room within half an hour. The reception area was spacious and airy with very comfy sofa sets. Had a welcome drink and cold towel while we waited.

The room design was modern and of 5 star quality. The bathroom was impressive with his/her basins and overlooking a tropical landscaped garden. Only drawback was that Read more... the standard room did not come with a bath tub.

The swimming pool was easily accessible from the room and had plenty of deck chairs around. However, there was a paucity of sun beds which were quickly snapped up.

The inhouse restaurant Oriental Spoon provided our daily breakfast which was satisfactory with good service.

The walk to the beach is about 100 metres along a cobbled pathway. The walk was easy and not inconvenient. The 40 baht coconuts were great...

Worth every cent. Will visit Twinpalms again. Collapse

““Very good modern hotel””

Review by hotel-snob-london from london
Oct 11, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I am a frequent visitor to Phuket and normally stay in a friend's house but on a recommendation from another friend I stayed here and was very glad I did. We stayed in one of the basic rooms (can't remember what it was called) which was more than adequate. The room, like the rest of the hotel, had a modern minimalist feel and still looked and felt new. The bedroom was a reasonable size and the bathroom was particularly big with his and her's sinks.

the hotel is not as well positioned as some of the older (or nearby) hotels as it is about 200 yards off the beach but then again it is newer.

overall:cool at a cool price.

““An absolute delight””

Review by A TripAdvisor Member from Singapore
Sep 05, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed at the Twinpalms for 3 nights at the beginning of September and found it excellent in every way, so much so that we would have no hesitation in returning. I would suggest that it is not a place to take children to, but that is what makes it such a delight - very quiet and thoroughly relaxing. The general ambience is great, especially if you enjoy what could be described as a modern minimalist design. The pool area is very well designed and there is always a very comfortable sunbed avai Read more...lable. The service is unobtrusive, but there when needed. The rooms are large - we stayed in a Grand Palms Deluxe Room - with great attention to detail and high quality fittings.

The sandy and well groomed beach is only a few hundred meters away with some excellent beach bars where you can watch the sun going down whilst drinking Singha beer. Twinpalms has its own operator on the beach where you can get a free sunbed and towel, but still drink beer at local prices. Like previous reviewers, we found the nearby Capri restaurant quite superb for both Italian and Thai food. There are also options nearby for hiring motorbikes and cars, and a taxi rank just across the road.

In sum, without a doubt, we shall go back again. Collapse

“Great experience! Love it so much we are planning to come back”

Review by princesswen from Monterey, CA
Aug 29, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We spent 1 night here, after 2 nights in Patong. This is such a lovely and new hotel. We love it. The room is nicely done....... staff is very polite. We fell in love with the room........ double vanity counter, sunken in Bathtub, rain shower head..... all the nice touches. The room is spacious. We took the Palm deluxe. The whole place is so new and nice. Great pool, spacious surroundings. A nice change from the busy Patong area.
Guest get their own beach area at Surin beach.... free beach chairs unlike those in Patong where we had to pay to use the chairs. Service staff at the beach is great. Surin beach is cleaner and nicer and quieter than Patong. Love the feel. We tried a Nok Seafood place at the beach. Watch the sunset as we eat. So lovely!
Top class restaurant. There is a spa here.
A few doors from the TwinPalms is a Italian restuarant THE CAPRIS... great lovely food. MUST try!
We are definitely coming back next year.

“Fresh, Fun, and we loved it.”

Review by avb13 from Auckland, New Zealand
Aug 10, 2005
Rated 4 out of 5 -

We stayed here in May 2005 for five days as we toured around Phuket. It's a beautiful property with a great restaurant on the property. I never thought I would have my favorite french oysters in Phuket. We stayed in the mid range room with pool access. It was very nicely done with a large lounge area giving you direct access to the winding pool area. Comfortable beds, double vanity area, nice bath, good closet space. Good bath products. The hotel is not right on the beach, but it is only a Read more...short 5 minute walk to a really first class beach, they have chairs available for hotel guests. You can also get food and drink from the friendly vendors, very good fish and lunches I might add. We would go back again as we like newer properties. There is also a wellness clinic and a great spa. We only had a few hiccups, they offered us a spa treatment for free and then tried to retract after we had the massage, but after speaking to the manager we were not charged and the cleaning was sometimes a little hit and miss. But nothing cruical. We would love to go back again next year. Collapse

“The best hotel I have ever stayed in”

Review by fran15111 from Madrid
Jul 31, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We have just returned from 5 days at The Twin Palms Resort and I have to say whatever you do you must go to this hotel. Beautiful pool and the most amazing rooms I have ever seen this hotel could not have been better. Close to the beach, about 100m. Staff 10/10. Food 10/10. Such an amazing hotel. We will be back. Great restaurants very close as well and nice beach with all you could ask for.

“Twinpalms is simply amazing!”

Review by A TripAdvisor Member from world wide
May 25, 2005
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We arrived late at night (23:30) but were promptly taken to Twinpalms by the airport taxi. The drive takes about 25-30 minutes and will cost you around 450-500 bhat. Check in was smooth and we were greeted with a welcome drink. We took a quick walk around and were surprised with the quality of landscaping and pool design – therefore, we took a midnight swim at the pool before a good night sleep. :) The room was spacious, simple and elegant. Quality shows through in every detail – flo Read more...wers, bedding and linens, amenities (nice smelling, high quality shampoo, conditioner and body lotion) and tasty tangerines. Breakfast was rather nice as well – good variety and open till 11 am (for late comers like us). Air conditioning was a bit weak in the dining area (restaurant and bar) and rooms (it’s the only improvement suggestion we have). It’s nice to have access to internet, library and wellness center (we used them all). As for the beach – it’s true that hotel is not on the beach but it’s only a 2-3 minute walk straight down. Surin beach is lovely – clean soft white sand with clear turquoise water (better than before tsunami according to the locals). Hotel provides umbrellas, chairs and towels for your comfort - very convenient! There a couple of beach front cafes which we used for snacks and lunch – all very laid back and very reasonable. We also drove by the Patong beach and Phuket town – typical tourist stuff, not our cup of tea :) so Surin beach was a nice tranquil escape; besides, we really want to support the local people and not the big hotel/restaurant chains :) The best part apart from the beautiful nature are the Thai people – so humble, so helpful and welcoming. They are indeed very hard working – it’s amazing how quick they recovered after the tsunami. We would definitely want to support them in every way in their efforts to recover from the tsunami – our first step was to book a last minute trip to Phuket and then another last minute excursion to Phi Phi islands. Collapse
Previous Page   41