Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Exceptional Customer Service”

Review by FM1London from England
Jul 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Family of four, stayed at this hotel for two weeks in July, 2011. We experienced the most caring and efficient service throughout our stay and on a couple of occasions, at the slightest hint of dissatisfaction, the hotel stepped forward and compensated us. Once when they got the room service orders wrong, they didn't charge for the entire meal for the four of of us. On another occasion, when we complained about the rough seas going to Phi Phi island due to the monsoon season (which we hadn& Read more...#039;t been made aware of), the hotel contacted the tour operator who waived the charge for one person. On other occasions, they just went the extra mile on their own - a bottle of chilled sparkling wine showed up in our room on my wife's birthday. Thais are generally very friendly people but the staff at this hotel takes the cake. Well done and thank you.

On a separate note, pls avoid the excursion to Phi Phi and Monkey Island during this season - the sea was so rough that a number of people on our boat got sick and it was a tense, uncomfortable ride all the way there and back. Plus there was no beach at Phi Phi and no monkeys and no beach at Monkey Beach due to the high tide. Stick to land activities which are still a lot of fun. We did elephant trekking, ATV, go-cart and of course the massages. Don't expect calm, turquoise waters at the beach either - sea was rough throughout and mostly un-swimmable. Collapse

“The Best One Yet”

Review by John255325 from Australia
Jul 02, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Middle aged couple from Newcastle NSW
My wife was very reserved about returning to Phuket as she had been unimpressed previously with both Patong and the" in your face" shopping. She saw a large newspaper advertisement from a Gold Coast wholesaler featuring "Twinpalms" and told me," that's the only way you're going to get me over there." The rest is history. We can not give this place enough praise. Everything was great even the weather. Only rained one n Read more...ight the days were very warm and the nights mild so much for the low season forecasts. The staff could not have been more friendlier or efficient, We had a room upgrade to a deluxe lagoon suite. The breakfasts were good and enjoyed the glass of champagne and cappuccino. We opted for the Sunday brunch which was great didn't do the beach BBQ as we had mixed reviews. Meals at both restaurants were enjoyable. I enjoyed both the pools. The fact that you could walk out of your room onto the verandah then step into the pool will remain with me for many a year. It is a great talking point. For those who complained about the short walk across to the beach - get a life, you needed the exercise to walk off your breakfast. We did run out of both water and hot water on two occasions only briefly though. The water was still pleasant enough to enjoy as it sure was warm outside. The management gave us a bottle of champagne for the inconvenience. As for the "Low Season" bring it on, the hotel was probably only a 1/3 full, plenty of sunbeds, hardly any kids (only two young girls both well behaved), straight into the restaurants whilst stall holders and local restaurants desperate to make a sale. On estimate our room cost about $150 per night plus we were given $500 credit plus a number of vouchers including free drinks and the Sunday brunch. My wife frequented the spa on two occasions and loved it. It was pricey especially with the additional 17% but she said you get what you paid for (the $500 credit thankfully paid for that) The only two things I could fault with the resort and this is getting really picky was that the DVD's were of poor quality and some would give up the ghost during the movie and my wife "complained" that in the toilets adjacent to the restaurant they only used single sheet toilet paper instead of the double in our room. We went to Patong only twice still dirty and full of dodgy dudes - mostly Australian low life but got some good deals. We paid 500 bt for taxi in but managed to get 350 bt ride back home. Found the Tin Shed restaurant in the high street cheapest and best. Finally beware of ATM's drew out 30K bt, machine said fee would be 150bt but when checked statement found out that the charge was actually $A33.
We will be back, probably next low season. Value for money excellent. Collapse

“Outstanding hotel - perfect holiday”

Review by MrandMrsG10 from London
Jun 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed at the Twinpalms Phuket on the final week of our honeymoon in December 2010 and from start to finish we were amazed by the beautiful, peaceful surroundings, friendly staff, fantastic restaurants & perfect accommodation it has to offer.

We stayed in a ground floor lagoon room where the patio doors open onto the lagoon that surrounds the pool. Inside, the room was spacious with fully equipped mini-bar, large bed and very modern shower and bath area.

The hotel is located directl Read more...y opposite the path to the beautiful beach (couple of minutes walk) and on the beach there is an area and sunbeds reserved for hotel guests. Here you will also find the 'Catch' bar and grill which is part of the hotel. This is one of the few restaurants where you wont find traditional Thai food, however the burgers, pizzas and sandwiches are fantastic and cocktails are great too. There are further restaurants serving more authentic Thai food all along the beach (and cheap beer) which are good to try also.

The hotel also has a restaurant inside serving breakfast, dinner & great cocktails. Both the hotel restaurants are a bit pricier than some of the local restaurants but they are both really good and definitely worth trying.

My wife & I had a traditional Thai massage in the hotel spa which really was an experience to remember! The hotel spa does offer a wide & varied range of treatments all at an extra cost. Alternatively, there are traditional neck, shoulder and foot massages on offer just about everywhere you go in Phuket for slightly cheaper prices.

The surrounding area of Surin Beach was rather quiet at the time we visited (Dec 2010) which suited us at the time although we were told it was quiet for the time of year we were there. The lively resort of Patong was a cheap, short cab or tuk-tuk ride away and here you can expect to find all the night-life Thailand is famed for - perhaps not the place to take young children (although some did!)

We did a few trips thru our hotel rep although you can book these trips in Patong. We would really recommend the elephant trek and speedboat ride to Phi Phi Islands which were amazing!

Overall, the twinpalms was definitely one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in and would definitely recommend it, although we would say it is more geared towards couples and honeymooners than families. If we ever return to Phuket we would stay there again!
Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor lagoon room. Collapse

“Thoroughly enjoyed and on "Return List”

Review by anglaman from Australia
Jun 09, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

The staff were 100% hospitable and efficient. The food was excellent, fresh and tasty.
Cleanliness of our room was without fault.
Everything was great and if you think I am embellishing the truth, get there and see for yourself. If you are not impressed check your pulse.
Thank you to all at Twinpalms.

“Love it , Love it , Love it !!”

Review by Trooper567 from Australia
Jun 08, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

A Truly great 5 Star resort in a beautiful location away from the Hassel of Patong . Wow !! What can I say but thank you Twinpalms for the excellent service and all the little extras you have given us to make our Honeymoon so romantic and memerable . Love it !!

“Don't let the models on the website put you off! :)”

Review by scholo from New Zealand
Jun 07, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 -

We stayed here 4 nights for our honeymoon. Got a lovely complimentary upgrade to a deluxe palm suite, which was 5 seconds from the pool - perfect! The room was modern, spacious and clean, and when we arrived, they had set up the bath with petals in it - so sweet! It was peaceful and quiet - from the zen-like reception area to the relaxing pool area.

It is a shame that it is not "on the beach", and it is a 5 minute walk along a dirt track to get to the beach, but the "catch club Read more..." (the beachside area that is private to the resort) is very cool once you get there. Though we only made it there once during our stay! It is nice having the Surin shops nearby though - just a few, but enough to provide a bit of interest (we had previously been at a very deserted resort).

The service was generally very good, though there seemed to be quite a few mistakes made when we were there - i think they were training new staff, eg - they forgot our meal order, they were confused by their own happy hour card system, and the bag person didnt come when called, but nothing major.

The food was really good - though quite expensive, it was delicious - great breakfast, didnt try the pool bar, the restaurant was awesome (the fish in particular was FABULOUS!), and the catch bar Thai Tapas were yummy too. The free drink every day from 6-7 was great too!

Finally the spa - this was modern and massive! Had 2 massages both with my husband and they were really good Thai massages. The products they use are lovely - as is all the TwinPalms products, which you can buy from the shop onsite. Collapse

“Hip hop”

Review by nitrites from asia
Jun 05, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 -

Spacious room, big swimming pool, nice but expensive food, a little noisy at time.

“Perfect relaxation”

Review by Danni145 from Switzerland
May 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed here for a couple of nights in a room that had access directly into the pool. Loved the pool and surroundings. The resort was quiet when we stayed due to the season but everything was first class. Really enjoyed our meal at oriental spoon and would recommend. Also the breakfast is fantastic. Meal at the beach club was a bit average in comparison. Defiantly would stay here again

“Another Visit”

Review by AussieAnge from Melbourne Australia
May 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 -

This was our fourth stay at Twinpalms and it was not as great as the other times.
I just felt they were cutting back on everything and the quality has dropped a notch.
Examples – at the breakfast buffet they had only two cereals on offer, no cold meats and no Asia food (except for some fried rice). All the buffet food was cold – when we tried to explain this to the breakfast cooks they did not get it.
The amenities in the room were refilled. I am all for conservation but at least Read more...they could fill the shampoo bottles with the same product. There was a definite line were the bottles had been refilled with a different shampoo.
The first time we stayed in the residence we got a complimentary mini bar with soft drinks and beer. The second time it was soft drinks and juices. This time it was just water that was complimentary.
Also last year in the penthouse we arrived to a bottle of sparkling wine – this time there was only a glass of flat sparkling, they did provide beautiful canapés and flowers.
These may all seem like little things but it is often the little things that make the difference.
There seemed to be less staff than on previous occasions.

We were also very disappointed with the food at the Beach BBQ – last time it was fantastic.

Having said all that the residence rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the Penthouse again and having stayed in a garden residence and the normal rooms I checked out the roof top pool residences. I prefer the garden residences as you get to look at your pool from the living area and can open up the whole ground floor. There are a couple of Garden residences that are over looked but most are fine.

Would I stay at Twinpalms again? I am not sure. It is still the best overall resort in Surin Beach (I have not stayed at the Aman) but I think perhaps others offer better value for money.

We did do the day trip on Catch One which was a fantastic day and highly recommended.

Perhaps if we had not had such wonderful experiences the other times we would still have thought it fantastic. Collapse

“Just gets Better”

Review by mike132 from Gold Coast Australia
May 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Just arrived home after two weeks and our fourth stay at the Twin Palms rooftop pool Penthouse. I'm not sure I can expand on my previous comments because this wonderful hotel/resort just keeps getting better. The main improvement for us is a traditional Thai menu that was introduced by the hard working food and beverage manager, Mr Sittichai Jitnatham. He has been working on this menu for some time and it is a credit to him. The Executive Chef is a lovely lady who's cooking talents com Read more...pliment the amazing Oriental Spoon menu. I must as always, thank some other people, without whom our trips to this place would not be aa memorable because they make it all worthwhile. First there is Pui, the Residence and Accommodation Manager who makes us feel at home every time we visit, she is a very smart and progressive woman who will go far in the upmarket resort industry. Our residence hostess, Emma is now like a part of our family and we miss her already. She is charming, hard working and always never far from us. To say more about Emma would only embarrass her but if you ever get the chance to meet her you will understand why we keep returning to Twin Palms. Some other lovely people are Patti, the Reception Manager, Sombat, the Oriental Spoon Manager and the smiling and forever helpful Rada. We deal with these people on a daily basis and it is always a pleasure to speak with them. They all go out of their way to make you feel welcome at this wonderful place. Very occasionally you will see adverse comments about this resort and I cannot understand why they would be critical; it is not the place for late night partying !. Pay attention to the majority of the comments that rate this place so highly and I assure you that you will enjoy any proposed stay. Thank you again Twin Palms for a wonderful and memorable holiday. Collapse
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10...      Next Page