Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Amazing hotel”

Review by Marcelompm from Greece
May 09, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Amazing hotel really 5 star hotel. Me and my girlfriend we spent 8 days in twinpalms and it was one of our best trips ever... The weather was a little crazy but never mind... Exchellent service especially on the beach with the 2 beach boys Danah and Itt (commandos :). The only bad thing I found at this hotel was the road leading to the beach. Needs upgrading because when it rains you walk in the mud. However it worth the long trip from GREECE (12 hours) and certainly me and my girlfriend we will go back again.We loved this hotel, we loved Phuket and we strongly recommend them. (almost cried when we left :)

“Solid 4 star Hotel- attentive service- frankly good value”

Review by Duder13 from Lausanne Switzerland
May 06, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Careful with that beach bag- but they make it clear you'll get charged so I dont see why some customers got so upset in their reviews
Breakfast was very good
Towels are nice
Infrastructure- Pool, rooms, restaurant, gym, lounge chairs, bed- all of the standing they claim to be
Service was very attentive- not always 'native' English- but if you want that, go to England.
When you asked for help you got it AND they tried hard to make you feel special and extended our stay by one Read more...night at the same rate- which we appreciated.
The Catch Club food and drink was excellent but quite pricey
The location on the beach is unbeatable- worth staying at the hotel just for that.
The DJ's every night were great and you couldnt help and look at EVERY SINGLE other hotel beach club on Surin beach and feel sorry for them- so nasty and cheap!! Lounge chairs just piled on top of each other- NASTY!
Catch Club was just great...you felt like you came all this way and were at least comfortable
OK so the hotel is not ON the water and you have to walk 3 mins accross the road....we found it to be a nice change- hotel in the morning, beach in the afternoon.
Also recommend checking out other restaurants on the beach- particularly Twin Brothers- looks a bit like a tourist trap as you walk in (and we complained about the music choice)- but check out the fish display on the street and chat with the guy how you want it grilled or prepared (menus are so booooring).
Other comparable places next door were all about a 'scene' and you paid for that...and the food was average at best...for us it's about eating local- good quality, fresh, clean food (and at a good price) with authentic flavors. For that it need not be exclusive....we didnt go to Surin beach to eat Australian steak....or Italian food....Thai dishes with the local produce means fish/seafood/chicken and fruits/vegetables...made for some great meals and then back down the road to Catch for cocktails and a little dancing.
Rest of the time (lunch) we'd get a bite by the pool or fruit platter at the Catch Club.
Overall a great stay. Collapse

“one of the best luxury hotels we have stayed in”

Review by IWJ from Birmingham UK
May 03, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Fantastic hotel, we chose this as it is a member of SLH and we have never been dissapointed. Great location and on one of the best beaches in Phuket.
Service was fanatastic as well as food ( breakfast and all the food at The Catch beach club). Cant wait to go back.
Room Tip: if on honeymoon state it at time of booking.

“Fabulous place with a quiet, comfy enviorment”

Review by jd0715 from Bejing
May 03, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We love to stay here, staff are very nice, the overall design of hotel is very nice and impressive, pay attention to details. As a designer myself, i appreciate many nice detailed design here. I'm the first time to write review on tripadviser, we've travelled a lot, and have seen many beautiful places, especially beach area, have stayed in many nice hotels. But something really drives me to write some comments here for twinpalms.

We were a bit worried about that it's not on the Read more... beach, but in the end, we found out they have a nice little path made by twinpalms, which directs you to beach, only for 2 mininutes walk, which we love very much actually, it's a nice experience to walk through some green area then to the beach. The beach bar is called "Catch", which is very well designed too, mainly white and blue color tone, we love it very much, perfectly giving people a cool, nice feeling.

We're very happy about the whole experience, especially this one is a special place for us to stay in before our daughter come to this world. Very special! Collapse

“Fabulous stay”

Review by mitchgeneva67 from Geneva Switzerland
Apr 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Hello this is the tenth time my friend and I are in Phuket, and 7 times at Twinpalms. It is with great pleasure that we went back in March with some friends to show them the magic. We stayed 20 nights. My friend and I are staying in a residence with a rooftop pool, the resort is huge. While the friends who accompanied us have preferred to have a room upstairs next to the Lagoon. Personally we tested the first day the buffet restaurant Spoon, then the next time we preferred breakfast at home. The Read more... quality of the food is exceptional and very well cooked. We have tested several times the BBQ on Tuesday evening and Friday, respectively fish and crustaceans one evening and Friday evening rather focus on the meat. The wine list is exceptional. In the evening, between 18 hours and 19 hours, we had a map that allowed us to have the first drink free, I liked this new offering. We also liked the DJ just play Catch Club in the evening. We also had a surprise for our friend's birthday receive a cake and a bottle of champagne. I can only recommend this hotel. You can see attached photos we took. They will soon have to go and present this hotel to other friends.
We've been several times at the spa. Quality of care is excellent as well as the friendliness of the staff Collapse

“Don't get "sucked" in”

Review by Phil and Lynda from Sydney
Apr 07, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 -

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, affordable holiday loungeing around the pool, feeling a million miles away from your homeland, this is NOT the place to stay. My partner and I just spent 8 days at the resort and were most disappointed on a number of levels. This was our sixth visit to Phuket and our first to Surin. We had been told Surin was a much quieter alternative to the hustle and bustle of Patong so we thought we'd give it a try. Let's go all out and stay one of the most Read more... expensive resorts in the area. Twin Palms looked to have it all, on paper at least. What a mistake!! For almost $400 Australian dollars a night it is grossly overpriced. We have stayed at better resorts in Phuket on the Ocean for half that price. The resort lacks a Thai feel. It has little more character than a resort on the Whitsundays. It is very contemporary and presents well, but you really wouldn't know you were in Thailand until you walked out onto the street. Too fresh for Thailand. We stayed in a pool access room, lured by the appeal of walking two steps into the lagoon pool which snakes around the main pool. But we spent most of the time indoors because the pool filters are SO noisy, emitting a relentless sucking, draining sound at all times of day and night that ruined any prospect of relaxing on the day bed on the balcony. I've stayed at quieter motor inns on the main highways in Australia. Most other guests around the main pool also commented on the noise and were constantly trying to find the source. We complained to staff but nothing was done and no explanation offered. If anyone decides to stay make sure you ask for a room away from the lagoon and main pool area. Unfortunately all the pool access rooms are exposed to the filters. Not even at $80 a night should one have to tolerate this. We would rather stay in the middle of Patong. On the plus side, the breakfast is good, but no better than $100 a night resorts. The staff are mixed. Some are welcoming others not so. Many people choose Surin because it is quieter than Patong, and it is, maybe too quiet for some like us, but there are much better options available. Twin Palms bills itself as 5-star. We rate it 3-star tops.The resort is also not on Surin beach which one would expect given the price. We knew this when we booked but at the rates on offer an ocean view should be mandatory. In hindsight we made a mistake. Suck it up as they say. But my advise to anyone thinking of staying here is be wary - and seek a guarantee that the noise was a one-off occurrence. Collapse

“Just one word...wonderful!!!”

Review by Torben22 from Frankfurt, Germany
Apr 07, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed at the Twinpalms Residences for one week. The hotel orgnanized a transfer from the airport with a private check-in process. Our Roof-Top-Pool Villa was absolutely modern, chic with lovely details. For example the Nespresso Machine, an iPod, fresh fruites in the afternoon. The breakfast was also included. Also the restaurant "Oriental Spoon" is really, really good!

“Beware of the Presidential Penhouse”

Review by NuamquamRetro from Stuttgart, Germany
Apr 07, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 -

We are currently staying for overall 13 nights in Twinpalms. We are a party of 4 (two couples) staying in the Presidential Penthouse.
Since we are still on holiday I am not going to waste time on what has been said by other reviewers: Staff is very nice and willing to help as always in Thailand, rest of the hotel comparable to hotels of similar standard in Phuket and elsewhere. Compared to JW Marriott where we stayed during our last trip to Phuket the hotel restaurant is much better and also Ca Read more...tch Beachclub is nice for drinks before going to party elsewhere (especially the buffets), on the other hand the gym in JW was better and also has direct beach access.
But let's get to the reason why I am writing my first review ever after having travelled quite around the world: We booked the Presidential Penthouse, which is the most expensive room category the hotel is offering. When making the booking we liked the fact to have a big common area and a big pool and terrace since we are spending the days together with our friends. What we did not expect was that the Presidential Penthouse is situated directly next to a very noise road with noise 24/7 (trucks, motorbikes, all the fun stuff). The road is alongside, so you have the view and the noise on the terrace with the pool, in the living area and both bedrooms. You also can see a nice portion of the pool from the road. What we especially did not like was the fact that on the hotel website the photos of the Penthouse (with small pool and one bedroom) show a beautiful view, but the photos of the Presidential Penthouse are made in a way that the road is hidden. Also, minor additional detail: The rooftop terrace, unlike the other Penthouses has no chair or bed or anything to sit on.
The hotel offered to change to 2 normal Penthouses, which is no option for us since we are 4 and not planning to spend the day in a structure made for 2. I think they do not get why we think this is not a good alternative - so I try to find a comparison: If you are booking a BMW 7 series and then they mess it up and they offer to you 2 BMW 3series instead, how happy are you gonna be considering that you intend to drive with 4 guys in one car?
Now they just came and asked me to sign a writing that "we accept the room as it is"...it's getting a little bit unprofessional...
The attached photo shows a view from our terrace.
Ratings are done for Presidential Penthouse, not other room categories that we do not know. Collapse

“Our best yet”

Review by GrahamAdelaide from Adelaide Australia
Mar 26, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We have stayed in a number of resorts in Asia including one other resort in Phuket. However this one tops them all. We booked on the basis of trip advisor reviews and were not dissapointed. The resort is relatively small and this promotes a personal and quiet environment. Rooms were very comfortable, pool was fantastic and staff very personal, cheerful and service oriented. We did not eat in the resort other than the fantastic breakfasts because there are numerous places at Surin Beach about five minutesaway that are much cheaper but of good quality. We did venture out to some excellent restaurants at Kamala with fantastic views and realistice prices. The resort provides free internet services which were readily available given the smaller size of the resort. We will return.

“Peaceful Haven”

Review by Carpet9 from Hampshire
Mar 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 -

We spent 6 nights here to relax after an energentic 10 days in Northern Thailand and Laos and it fitted the bill perfectly. On arrival one is impressed by the beautiful reception area, feeling of space and water features. The next surprise was to receive an upgrade to a really beautiful suite which we adored. It was large, airy and modern, beautiful bathroom/dressing room and shower area, huge living room (with nesspreso machine) and the most wonderful huge comfortable bed (and pillows) that we Read more...had met on our travels. It took us a day or two to master the controls by the bed for turning on/ off the lights from the bedside control panel!, We could not have been more comfortable, peaceful or well looked after.The staff were charming and helpful and efficient. We made one or two small requests re. timing of turndown, making up room and ice each day - only asked once and it happened. The Library staff too were most efficient and did all my on line check ins for our various flights home.

The Oriental Spoon restaurant had an excellent breakfast - wonderful fresh fruit juice, good selection of fruits, huge choice of breads and pastries (from their own bakery I believe) and endless other choices of eggs, meats, cheese etc. We had dinner there on three occasions which were good, but by the third night we found we were running out of choices. We had the barbeque too at Catch beach club which was very good indeed with wonderful seafood among all the other choices. One piece of advice here - book as early as you can for that night to get a good table, as there are many outside diners and locals who book up well ahead.

I was surprised to read a previous review which called Surin Beach "secluded". It was packed with loungers/sunshades - although Catch does space them further apart from those each side where they are packed in,. The small road behind the beach is a hive of activity with masses of small restaurants (good value), massage enterprises and all the hurly burly you find in a busy seaside resort - anything but secluded!

Having found the beach too crowded for our liking, and as it was extremely hot during our stay, shade was a problem with only one sunshade, we spent most of our daytime by the pool which was heaven, and in the main quiet. BUT on the Saturday of our visit, there was an expat British wedding taking place. This had little effect on us although Catch was closed to residents from lunchtime. However at 2.30 am we had a visit from a very drunken guest who had obviously been unable to find his room - he got short shift! The next morning around 11 am "wedding guests" started to appear by the pool. By lunchtime they had colonised one end of the pool by the steps in, sitting in the water, smoking and drinking and becoming louder as the day wore on. There were bottles all along the edge of the pool, which the staff had to wade in to get. To cut a long story short this went on throughout the day, and on our return from dinner at 10.30 we wallked into reception to find a girl wrapped in a towel asking for more drink to be sent to the pool. They were still there when we went to bed around midnight. Although they were not making a lot of noise, the whole thing was rather unpleasant, and I feel the hotel should have stepped in and asked them to leave the pool. This could also be avoided by closing the pool at a certain hour each day.

This was one small negative on what was a really lovely stay at a first rate hotel. Collapse
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10...      Next Page