Twinpalms Resort - Phuket Phuket Resort

PHUKET‘S MOST EXCITING & STYLISH CONTEMPORARY RESORT

Overall Rating: 4.6 out of 5  |  Write your own review.

“Einfach traumhaft”

Review by Jochen Bollmann from Haltern am See/Deutschland
Dec 16, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

ich war in der Zeit vom 30.11.2010 bis zum 07.12.2010 als Gast im Twinpalms. In dieser Zeit war wirklich alles perfekt arrangiert, vom Empfang bis zum Checkout. Besonders hervorzuheben sind die freundlichen Mitarbeiter, welche einem jeden Wunsch von den Lippen ablesen, der exzellente Service im Restaurant, und vor allem die Mitarbeiter des Catchclubs.
Ich habe diese Woche sehr genossen, und konnte mal wieder etwas auftanken...sehr zu empfehlen.
Liebe Grüße aus dem kalten Deutschland

“THE most amazing hotel & staff, can not wait to go back”

Review by Antbeck from Leeds Alabama
Dec 16, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Can not recommend this hotel too highly. The staff are so gracious & welcoming, the rooms superb,we had a deluxe palm room which was 'standard' Wow, the most comfy bed we have ever slept in, fabulous shower, beautiful decor, loved it!!!. We attended a friends wedding whilst there and I have to say the hotels attention to detail was astounding as was the food!. Taxi ride into Patong which has to be seen!!!. Do try the restaurants on the beach front, two mins walk from Twin Palms, they are excellent & so cheap.
If you ever get the chance GO, you will not regret it

“Almost perfect!”

Review by Condolla from Washington DC
Nov 30, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

My husband and I stayed at the Twin Palms for the first leg of our Thailand honeymoon. Largely, we really enjoyed the hotel and its property, but we did have a few issues.

Let me start with the good:
-The hotel is gorgeous - it's very open, minimalist, and just beautifully put together. We got really excited when we drove up to the hotel and saw it for the first time because it's very pretty.
-We were greeted with fresh flowers and juice upon check-in (after our very long flight f Read more...rom the East Coast), and champagne and roses in our room because we were honeymooning. The check-in staff was very nice.
-Our room was clean and well kept, the bathroom had nice products. Love the lemongrass scent of their stuff!
-The breakfasts and the one dinner we ate at the hotel were delicious and plentiful - the juice at breakfast was superlative. I have seen a few reviews complain about the size of the meals, and I can't figure out why someone would complain about the meals at the Twin Palms - they are huge! And, the drinks at the bar definitely have plenty of alcohol in them (but still taste good).
-The staff was helpful in arranging a lovely tour for us to islands around Phuket, and dinner reservations.
-The beach is just amazing, the water is crystal clear and warm, and the beach club was fine (the chairs are great!). We didn't try to order any food or drinks there, so I can't comment on the prices as other reviewers have. We got exactly what we wanted out of our trip to the beach: sun and relaxation.
-The spa was nice. I used the discount the hotel offered and had a mud wrap, which was a treat. You're going to pay U.S. prices there, so it's not cheap, but it's very nice and I enjoyed my treatment.
-They have books and movies you can rent, which is great because there's virtually no nightlife near the Twin Palms. That was absolutely fine with us, though, because we were exhausted from our wedding! We enjoyed going out to dinner (hit up Taste - it's the best restaurant in that area) and then going back to our room and watching a movie.

We did have a few issues though:
-When I originally booked our trip, I booked a grand deluxe room. When we arrived, we were told none were available. So, we ended up in a deluxe room, which was fine, but not what we originally booked and smaller than what we expected. This was our splurge part of the trip, so this was a minor disappointment. I really would have liked to have had a bathtub. But, we rolled with it and just enjoyed the room we had.
-There were lots of little charges that we were told were or that were implied that they were complimentary upon check-in that ended up in our bill. For example, when we were taken to our room, we were told we could use the beach bag in the closet for the beach - there was NO mention of any charge and we didn't notice the *small* print on the paper wrapper we removed from the bag to use it. We later found out there was an over 3000 baht charge for "renting" the bag, which is a little ridiculous. Don't put a bag in the room, tell people they can use it implying it's complimentary, and then charge them for it. Either tell people up front that there's a charge, or don't provide a bag.
-They were doing small renovations to the beach club (re-staining the deck, painting, etc.), which weren't a big deal. However, there was a huge gap in the path TO the beach club that someone could have easily fallen into. We jumped over it every day. They should have put a board or something across it. Also, they should consider putting some sort of stone path in instead of the dirt path. It rained a bit at night when we were there, which left huge mud puddles in the path which we just had to walk through.
-The staff should beef up on how far places are from the Twin Palms, especially those that are well known. We booked a reservation at Mom Tri's and were told it was a half hour away when we booked dinner. When we got into our cab to go to Mom Tri's, the cab driver told us the restaurant was over an hour away. We went back to the desk and a different staff member confirmed the hour-long trip. Needless to say, we missed our reservation and weren't able to eat at Mom Tri's, which was a disappointment.
-This issue isn't necessarily the hotel's, but you should be aware that there's a cab ring across the street from the hotel. They will charge you through the nose to go anywhere. It's cheaper to walk down the street and find a cab than it is to go across the street from the hotel.

So, there's good and bad to this hotel, as there is with most hotels. Overall, we'd consider staying at the Twin Palms again. Our experience was largely pleasant and we departed completely relaxed (definitely get a massage at one of the stands on the beach - they are inexpensive and possibly the best massages we got on our trip!). But, if you are looking for flawless, look at other hotels too. The Twin Palms has a little work to do. Collapse

“Awesome”

Review by Condolla from Washington DC
Nov 30, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

It was a fantastic experience, starting in the airport pickup until the airport drop.

When we arrived, the reception was fast and diligent. Our room was already set and within 5 minutes we were in the room, the hotel upgraded from Deluxe Lagoon room to Grand Deluxe lagoon room without any further costs).

The room was huge, clean and with our private lagoon literally 3 steps from the bed.
Breakfast had a average variety of choices, but the overall quality was fantastic. I recommend the tangerine juice.

We eat at the Catch Club 3 times, 2 lunches and 1 barbecue. Again the quality was fantastic.

The beach is fantastic, we only regret that the sun didn´t show up on the 5 nights that we stay in Twinpalms.

“Absolutely perfect hotel!”

Review by FQTs from Vienna
Nov 28, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

Best hotel in Phuket. Great rooms, great beach club, great food, great spa - great everything!
We stayed in the garden pool suite and very absolutely amazed!
Only downturn: not much to do / see in Cherngtalay other than the Twin Palms Beach Club/ Hotel.

“A wonderful stay - definitely go again”

Review by Misskittywoo from London
Nov 27, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We stayed for 7 nights in a 2 room residence suite which was out of this world, two storey with huge rooms and high ceilings. Folding glass doors leading onto our private garden and pool and amazing facilities. The staff are extremely friendly and eager to please but never 'in your face', the hotel was full but there was no sense of overcrowding or noise. The extras you get in the residence suite are brilliant (including the free bar!) and the membership card is well worth the money, in addition to the 50% off the room rate we got loads of vouchers for free food, champagne etc. and money off at the spa. We loved it and would definitely go back.

“The Hidden Gem of Phuket”

Review by mike132 from Goldcoast Australia
Nov 26, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

I am a bit late in writing this review as we left Twin Palms on 15 November this year. It was our third visit in less than 18 months and for the record we have already booked our fourth trip for May 2011. As usual we stayed in the Residence but this time we occupied a Roof Top Pool Suite for 15 days. The cost to stay in such a suite is not cheap however if a well earned break is warranted and you wish to be treated as never before then this is where you should aim to stay. While every catagory o Read more...f accommodation at TPP is exceptional and worth a visit the two standards of "Residence" accommodation takes hotel luxury to another level. My wife and I live on the Gold Coast in Australia in a nice area and have a lovely home but our trips to TPP convince us that although we might think we have all we need, there is always something better.
The service from the staff and management of this hotel make most other hotels look like they are not trying and put many other big name resorts to shame. In this hotel you wont find the usual bad behaviour associated with many larger resorts in Phuket and you wont find all night booze parties. The normal guest at TPP is of a mature age with good manners and an appreciation of fine food and service from the most dedicated and contented staff that would be hard to match in any other hotel.
There are now hundreds of reviews on this forum that speak highly of TPP and I don't intend to repeat them again however what i would like to say are a few words about the staff of this wonderful hotel. Let me start with Emma, our Residence Host, who is a pleasure and delight to see everyday. This woman is always there for us from the time she personally collects us from the airport to the time she escorts us back and ensures our safe and unhindered passage through security. Her sole purpose is to do all she can for us in order to allow us to relax and enjoy our holiday at TPP. Emma is a credit to this hotel ! Pui is now the boss of all the accommodation at TPP and is one of the loveliest people you could ever meet. She is always glad to see us and we are thrilled to meet with her. She always visits us personally and spends time chatting about our country and her own, she seeks feedback about the hotel and is always eager to help in anyway she can. She is another person the hotel should be extremely proud of. There are many staff at the various bars and restaurants who excel and they are to many to personally name. A few of note are Mee, Miou, Pat, Tip and Baas. I may have the spelling wrong but if they see this they will know who they are. These young people help make our stays special and are now our friends in Phuket. The hotel should be proud of these young Thai people.
Don't bother with the odd review where people complain about this place as I would think they would complain about anywhere they visited just for the sake of complaining. Those who whinge about the breakfast and meals can know nothing about good food as won't find nicer and better quality anywhere. Yes, the prices in the main restaurant are more expensive than on the beach strip but you can be sure of silver service, wonderful staff and fresh food that wont make you ill. It is after all a five star hotel and one would expect to pay more.
Kids are becoming a minor problem for some guests as the hotel is not suitable for them and sadly the young parents do not know how to make them behave properly. This has nothing to do with the hotel and it is an intermittent problem caused by travel agents not telling the facts about a lack of kid friendly hotel facilities to the parents with young offspring. I note a few people complaining about kids but frankly where can you go these days without experiencing poorly behaved children and parents who don't know what to do or don't care what their kids do.
Finally I would make mention of the various managers who treat us like friends and in particular the TPP Food and Beverage manager who always makes time to speak with us about many subjects of great interest. His program to train young students from a local high school in the various restaurants is a credit to himself and the hotel.
It is our intention to continue to visit this place for as long as we are able and at least twice a year for a couple of weeks so that should speak for itself. Check out the website in detail and look closely at what it has to offer. I can guarantee you will not be disappointed with your stay at TPP. Collapse

“4 relaxing days at Twin Palms”

Review by newtella from Hong Kong
Nov 18, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Overall impression: beautiful, modern, sleek, understated design. Water and plants everywhere. Twin Palms boasts a huge fabulous pool plus assorted smaller plunge pools directly accessible from the garden rooms. This is one hotel that has paid the closest attention to the smallest of details and has skimped on none of them. Bravo! Expensive but worth it.

Lobby: Impressively large with lots of seating nooks.

Our room: Garden Pool 1 bedroom duplex. 190 m2 of fabulosity with our private pool Read more...and deck. Divine rain showers, enormous bathtub, spa-quality toiletries,firm bedding, Frette sheets and bathrobes, impressive bar that can’t possibly be considered a mini-bar, in-room Nespresso machine, ipod docking station, and so much more.

F&B: Buffet breakfast with good selection. Dinner menu is very good and the food is carefully prepared. The food at the Beach Club is also good.

One minor drawback: not enough lounge chairs at the Beach Club. For a hotel that breathes space, it’s unfortunate that the Beach Club puts you in close contact with your neighbors.

Chic and laid-back, this is a very nice destination for a relaxing couple’s getaway.

**Important Be careful to verify that you have booked at Twin Palms Phuket on Surin Beach when making a reservation. This is not to be confused with the sister Twin Palms Club in another part of the island.

Our stay did have some major glitches when checking-in at midnight – our reservation had been booked at the Twin Palms Club and nothing was ready for our arrival. It did take the better part of an hour to sort this out and then some over the totality of our stay. This was a definite wrinkle in our trip but the Twin Palm staff, from our personal Concierge to the Reservations Manager, were extremely accommodating, helpful, and professional to a fault. Collapse

“Sublime luxury”

Review by VivaRobVegas from Melbourne
Nov 14, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 -

We spent a night at Twin Palms and were found ourselves indulging in pure Phuket paradise. The breezy layout of the reception area was a perfect entree to a delightfully landscaped hotel where the massive central pool is surrounded by the low rise accommodation buildings. The service is immaculate, and the sublime contemporary luxury of the rooms bode for an exceptional stay. The bed in our room was absolute heaven and was adorned with both feather & microfibre pillows. The microfibre pillow Read more...s were the best I have ever slept on anywhere in the world, and thankfully were available for sale. At a mere 900 baht, I am buying four of them! The on-site day spa offers a wide range of treatments and the relaxation massage we had prior to flying home was the ideal tonic for the long flight ahead.
We didn't have breakfast, but we did experience the Beach BBQ at Catch (on the beachfront a short walk from the hotel), which was nothing short of spectacular. The ambience of the restaurant and service upheld the values of the hotel, and the wide array of menu choices to select from made for a stunning culinary experience. Oriental Spoon, the on-site restaurant, also served sensational food - the Thai spices were perfectly subtle as not to detract from the expolsion of flavour the food offered, and there is a reasonable wine list, albeit expensive (wine is rather expensive everywhere throughout Phuket). Overall, the Twin Palms was unforgettable, and I would not hesitate to return there or recommend it to the discerning traveller who wants to experience the best of Thai culture infused with western comforts. Collapse

“Wonderful”

Review by mezperth from Perth
Nov 14, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 -

Have just returned from our honeymoon at Twinpalms and it was lovely.
Check in was great, we arrived at about 11.30am and were shown straight to our room where a dozen red roses, chocolate and sparkling wine were waiting for us. Very good first impression as we did not expect to be able to acces the room until the standard 2 or 3pm!
Deluxe lagoon room was spacious, had everything you need and you could step into the lagoon pool which joins up with the main pool. Very clean, fresh ice every day Read more... without asking. Had a couple of maintenance issues which were dealt with in minutes each time. Bed very comfy!
Staff very attentive in hotel and restaurants/bars, grounds immaculate.
The hotel is not on the beach. You have to walk out of the lobby and accross the road and a park for about 200m. The path in the park gets a little muddy in the rain.They have lights in the trees so we didn't have a problem walking home at night.
Catch beach club is very cool and Surin beach is gorgeous! The staff are very attentive to help you get settled into your beach chair and they make great cocktails. You get a free cocktail every day between 6-7pm. The food/drink at the beach club and hotel restaurant is very nice although more expensive than elsewhere outside the resort we felt it was worth it the few times we ate there.
Gym is well equipped and not crowded.
Spa is divine. Well worth the price tag.
The hotel is not set up for children, but there seemed to be quite a families with kids there and we were a bit disappointed to be put in a room next to rowdy kids splashing in the pool when we wanted to relax, but no big deal.
Breakfast was great - not as much choice as we have seen in other hotels but everything was of great quality and changed slightly every day so we didn't get bored!
All in all we had a lovely relaxing time just getting away from it all! Collapse
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10...      Next Page